We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good joint but the one in CP is better !”
Review of Route 4

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Route 4
Ranked #2,027 of 12,574 Restaurants in New Delhi
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Bar, American, Indian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Reservations, Serves Alcohol
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good joint but the one in CP is better !”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

i have been going to route 04 khan market for a while and its a good joint though the smoking areas can get quite stuffy and crowded, i prefer to sit downstairs in the non smoking area.

the main attraction for me is the hoegarden beer pitchers. this place has happy hours so that you get one pitcher free with the one you buy. They have stella and hoegarden on tap. The pitchers though are not too big and will generate you 3.5 glasses at max but the 1+1 offer works well.

As usual like any other place in delhi they put hoards of taxes on the final bill but look at it this way- would you rather drink bad beer at another delhi joint and pay a similar bill or would you rather have quality beer here ? The food at this place is also good though i would stay away from spare ribs as they were too rubbery and hard to chew. Most else that i ordered (kebabs, nachos etc) was good.

Now, these people also have a branch in CP in the bylane opp regal cinema. it's 100 time. It's mroe spacious, looks slick and has all the same offers. Both the branches function in a similar manner except the one in CP is newer and hence better.

If you wanna while away precious time drinking beer then this is the place. If you like rock n roll then this is the place, heck the DJ played the 25 min. Dream Theater epic Change of season on one of my visits.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank somedevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    15
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
delhi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A welcome respite for those looking to drink on a budget”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

For those of you who live in Delhi, there's something i would like to say upfront. We Delhiites pay more for booze than Americans, Europeans, Southeast Asians, Canadians and almost anyone else. We go to a place and look at a menu which says Rs. 200 for a beer. We order the beer and get a bill for almost Rs. 350. Why? Same reason why we pay more for cars than anyone else to drive them on crappier roads than anywhere else. TAX!! And this is a problem we face when we order Indian Alcohol. Dont even get me started on the imported stuff.

So when i walked into route 4 on a friend's recommendation and was told that there were happy hours on Hoegarden and even Bailey's (which my wife loves), and that too in a place as expensive as Khan Market, i couldn't believe my luck. For those of you who are not well versed with Delhi, Khan Market is one of the most expensive markets in Delhi. Food and booze is insanely expensive and the places that give happy hours only include cheap indian booze in the package. So Route 4 is an exception to the norm.

Dont ask me about the food here because honestly, i dont care. The place has sheesha on the top floor which i've heard is good. All the teenage crowd has moved next door to a place called boom box which is full of sheesha smoke and noisy kids. So the after work professional crowd ends up coming here a lot, which is great.

The music is awesome. Good ol fashioned classic rock. No punjabi, no bollywood, just good classic rock.

Long story short, i really liked the place and will keep going. As far as price goes, we ordered a 500ml of hoegarden on tap, one large bailey's and one potato skins. We got an additional beer and baileys free on happy hours. The bill came to approx Rs. 1600 which is very cheap by Delhi standards. 4 Large drinks anywhere else would cost atleast Rs. 2500-3000.

2 big thumbs up. I just hope they dont cave in and start limiting the happy hours.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShivaTheDestroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Budget Drinking Option”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Decent place, but great for happy hours, for which it stays pretty packed and full of the younger crowd. Good stop to throw a couple back in Khan Market. The place is two stories and they don't seem to mind if you smoke upstairs. Have a small patio on the first floor for smoking as well. Open Kitchen

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1ThrillSeeker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Khan markets best bet any time of the day”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

This place has everything going for it.. Great comfy ambience, good music, prompt service and simply great food. The best part is that u can go any time of the day and still find something suitable on the menu to eat.. My personal favs are the poutine, ham steak with scrambled eggs and the hot wings. My orange juice blend is always fresh and the bill is light on the pocket

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodie-sonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Route 4 also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Route 4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing