We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Korean Food... Yumm” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gung The Palace

Gung The Palace
Ranked #2,395 of 12,530 Restaurants in New Delhi
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Asian, Korean, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Korean Food... Yumm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Authentic Korean food in India. Amazing service and ambiance. Has kept the tradition alive. A must visit!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pri_26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    26
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Verdict - A safe introduction to Korean food or if you are missing it in New Delhi andnwould recommend you try it. But it is a one-time experiment for me, unfortunately.

Summary - Not having ever been to Korea, I cannot judge how authentic this place is. My benchmarks stem from Korean food sampled in Singapore, Hong Kong and Japan, London. I was disappointed that it was nothing like what I had had previously. Either Gung was too authentic or the versions I had tried were homogenised and changed to suit all palates. Or possibly Gung is from a particular region and I am used to something else ( analogy being, North Indian and South Indian food?)

The greatest disappointment was the bibimbab, which was more like regular fried rice and didn't come in one of those super hot, almost molten sizzling stone bowls where a raw egg is cracked on the top....

Vegetarians or chicken lovers should prepare to starve. Beef and pork mainly, which is fine. But if you are either an observant Hindu, Muslim or Jew, or simply dont enjoy red meat, then the Indian staff look at you with a mixture of contempt and impatience, if you have the temerity to ask for chicken, or heaven forbid, vegetarian substitutes! The Korean staff on the hand were more than happy to accommodate, and very culturally sensitive.

Finally, the service. We booked in advance and were told that there were no "booths" available, though there was a table available. How bad could a table be? Unfortunately, it was on the top floor, pushed against a wall, near the service entrance. It was in a no-man's land and the service seemed equally indifferent - till we kicked up a fuss. In typically Delhi fashion, we got exemplary service but only after blowing a gasket.

The manager, who was Korean was hugely apologetic and bent over backwards to make us feel welcome. I am hugely grateful to him for that.

I know Gung has earned plaudits and awards and there are always outliers, in terms of customers. I was possibly that outlier, so I would discount my own review, if was reading all the reviews in their totality !

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank slagathor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Authentic korean restaurant in Delhi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is one place to go for Korean cuisine and fresh food. One can expect good steamboat, fresh meat, good service, and affordable price. Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samksh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A MUST FOR ALL FOODIES.............”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

An entirely amazing and different experience of Korean food and drinks.

Variety,quantity and quality - all was perfect.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rashmigupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Different food nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is my third visit ( 16th sep)
The restaurant is very cosy, thr interiors reminds me of small chinese restaurants in tangra Kolkata. Food is good, portions are huge. Initially we were not aware of thr generous portions... thr soup bowl is huge good enough for 3 people. Dunno where to start , staff is very courteous ... Try thr Korean barbecue and sea food broth or soup (my favourite)
there are good and large varieties of side dishes which is all complimentary ... Thr sea weed (nori) broth is my fav ! And do try thr SAKI (Korean wine) crowd is very decent.
My husband is still developing his taste for Korean food as he is so use to our indianized version of Chinese food and not very experimental. But this is value for money. Prices are decent for the portions they give. If you ask for normal water they give you herbal water which is detoxifying (brown in color) .... Ok For sweet tooth.. This place do not serve dessert.. They serve complimentary fresh fruits with the cheque. Which is so not bad.. Almost 25% of the food we ate was complimentary .. Thr name plate is not that visible, it's small with small letters. Do look for chand begum and it is right thr. Be patient with the staff while talking some of them are Koreans and have issues with thr accent, they try hard to please you :) .... Once I received a freebie from them - Korean table organiser/calendar. To summerize this is not for faint hearted people, thr cliental includes few elites... which is quite visible. I love this place and will surely come back

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Livelyspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gung The Palace also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Gung The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing