We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a shot in the dark!”
Review of Hotel Aura

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Aura
Ranked #506 of 717 Hotels in New Delhi
Tokyo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not a shot in the dark!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A lot of Indian people log on these websites and write negative reviews for surrounding hotels, making it impossible for travelers to find an honest answer... Hotel Aura is actually a great hotel! Whatever percentage of "negative" reviews there are... the positives completely outweigh the negatives... The staff is very kind and helpful and will do anything to ensure you have a nice stay. Besides that, if something bad does happen, they will do everything to fix it. While we were there, it was very cold... however, the staff went out of their way to acquire small space heaters for all the rooms. However, one night, they didn't have enough to stock all the rooms, so they told us TRUTHFULLY and then supplied us with extra blankets. Above all else, the staff of Aura is HONEST, if they can't fix something right away, they will try their best to rectify the situation as best they can. Honesty is hard to come by in India and this trait was appreciated most. After staying Delhi, we moved onward for about 2 weeks with another 1 day stay in Delhi before boarding out plane later that night, (we arrived early in the morning from Jaisalmer)... We had acquired a ton of gifts/things on our trip and wanted to grab a few more souvenirs from one of the markets. With nowhere to put our bags, we were worried about lugging them around all day. We decided to go back to Aura and ask if we could put them there. Do you want to know what they did? Besides letting us keep our bags there, in a secure/honest environment, they let us have a room for 2 hours so we could take showers before we got on our 12 hour flight! This hotel is staffed by great management and people and above all else they will be HONEST with you. They will do everything they can to help you and ensure your stay is great. I would highly recommend this place and even go back again! In fact I'm already planning my trip for next year!
Thanks Aura Hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
5 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    143
    80
    45
    39
See reviews for
50
130
59
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

we stayed for a night before moving on to Agra, the neighborhood though looked crowded and messy. However that is good given New Delhi's security scenario. There was a power cut and the generator did not work for 2 hours, keeping our room in complete darkness, the cable never worked, we only asked to fix it once, but wasnt fixed. Since we did not watch TV so it was ok. Avoid the travel desk, they tried to push us a houseboat booking in Kashmir in advance which we declined, and also wanted to make us rent a car to agra, which would be awfully expensive. We later found out an easy solution as we bought train ticket from an agent outside the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avimanyu R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STORM LAKE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hotel is affordable and clean. I stayed for a week and I was well served. Although I could hear constant noise, had to ask to fix something, had to ask/wait several times, but it is a part of experience in India. Bring your ear plugs and get used to it. Staff are polite, helpful, and attentive. The booking manager Anuj and the room manager Kapil (they are brothers) are very nice. Whenever I encountered minor problems, they tried to do their best. Kapil checked on me every day to ask if everything was OK.
For breakfast, you can ask black coffee (Nescafe, though), eggs for any style, and plain toast. If you are an exercise fanatic, there is a fitness room in the basement. A space heater and hair dryer are available upon your request.
You can walk to three Metro Stations: New Delhi (Yellow Line), Rajiv Chowk (Connaught Place: Yellow and Blue Lines), and RK Ashram Marg (through the Main Bazaar: Blue Line). I am a walker but if you are not, you can take an auto rickshaw.
If you need a clean place with affordable price, this is the one. I recommend to check in around noon so that you have more choices for a room. See some rooms, check in details, and choose a room you like (even if you arrive in odd time, just ask alternatives).

Room Tip: For quiet night, choose a room without window. Each room is slightly different. If you get there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIYUKIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Makkah, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We booked with this hotel a month before traveling to India and were arriving in Delhi and checking straight into this hotel (or we thought we were!!!). We took a taxi (a lovely, friendly man) to the area where the hotel was and couldn't find it. Turns out the road had been closed off because of a festival and the hotel had neglected to inform us that because of this, all bookings were cancelled and that we now had nowhere to stay. We were stranded in Delhi with nowhere to stay and therefore had to pay a HUGE amount to get a driver to take us last minute to Agra. Not impressed and not happy at all!! We had already paid for the hotel in full as well and therefore had to fight to be refunded in cash before we left Delhi. I hope none of you have similar experiences.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sales_aurahotel, General Manager at Hotel Aura, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to inform you that this is a case of NO SHOW and would like to inform you that we are no where for your problem. You mentioned that you took a taxi to reach our hotel and you could not found our hotel. Who told you that road is closed due to festival. Please give name whom you talk to our hotel. You dialed our number yourself ?

NO.NO. NO. You did not dial our number. It seems you allowed taxi man to dial our number, he did not dial our number, it was his friends number from where they told you that road is closed and booking is cancelled.

Everyday we are receiving this kind of complaints. We would like to inform you that whom you said " LOVELY , Friendly men in your review , he was the cheater, who misguided you and stopped you to reach our hotel and took you to another hotel where you paid huge amount and he took you to Agra.

All that he did for his benefit, commission. You must lodge a complaint against that person if you have any contact detail and also should lodge a complaint against that hotel where he took you to stay and paid a huge amount.

Hotel aura is no where responsible for for this incidents.

Hotel Aura Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Good hotel, close to the train station, connaught place, backpacker area, friendly and helpful staff.

Down sides, food is expensive (especially the toast). Shop around if want a taxi

Overall would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhoCoulditBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

I choose this hotel and It was recommended to me by my friend, First of all there was no bell boy who can take my luggage to my room, then they provide me room on the 1st floor and there is no Mobile network available in that room so my phone was out of reach in the room and this is really very pathetic. Everytime I have to make a call I have to come into the lobby or reception.

Although the room and bathroom were clean, but the food quality was not good. They could have serve the food in better way and also they have to check the quality of the food and room service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Arpit_Jaipur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Based on the price we paid, the hotel was great. The staff were incredibly friendly and will do anything for you. At first the location seemed a bit strange, but after exploring the area we discovered we were right near tourist markets and right in the middle of Delhi. The rooms are nice and beds are comfortably, our room didn't have a window, BUT as it turns out this is a good thing due to high levels of street noise all night. This isn't some 5 star hotel with immaculate service and stunning rooms, but for the low cost it is such great value for money.

Room Tip: Take booking confirmation
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melbourne1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel The Pearl
#463 of 717 in New Delhi
144 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#75 of 717 in New Delhi
763 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#54 of 717 in New Delhi
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#50 of 717 in New Delhi
1,696 reviews
Hotel Krishna
#583 of 717 in New Delhi
410 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#61 of 717 in New Delhi
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aura

Property: Hotel Aura
Address: 31 Arakashan Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110002, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #506 of 717 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aura 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Facilities and ambiance of Hotel Aura enchants the business and the leisure traveler alike the luxurious lifestyle experiences for you. Hotel Offers facilities like laundry services, doctor on call, fax, e-mail & Wi-Fi Internet facilities, elevator facilities, money changer, mini-bar in rooms, travel desk and uninterrupted power supply. Besides these hotel is also facilitated with Gym, Massage Services and Spa, Steam & Sauna Bath , Parking Facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Aura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing