We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Varq

Varq
Ranked #37 of 12,530 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Amazing food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

The restaurant is a "fusion" type of Indian food. It is expensive. The food is very , very nice. The service is as you expect , good. The menu is not your normal UK fare but ask your server and they will explain and help you choose a most delicious meal. The hotel is located within the Taj Mahal Hotel but is well worth the effort to go to.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charleso3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    88
    31
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Barq Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

While staying at Taj Mansing, had a quiet dinner at Barq. Immaculately decorated, reflecting the glorious past of the Raj. Staffs are well groomed and highly professional. We opted for Chef's choice, and I must admit, we have done the right thing. The food was just great.And the presentation, decor was unparallel. While in Delhi, if you are up for Indian food, dont miss Varq. A real value for money for sure.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank asifuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“visually pleasing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I've always been vary of fusion food, and wouldn't think of blowing up my hard earned money on it, since i feel its only meant for rich foreigners, but i changed my opinion after visiting Varq. Its worth a visit esp on a special occasion.
The appetizers seemed rather reasonably prized till the waiter informed us it was only for one person! The appetizers were picture perfect . The chicken trio was superb, the prawn dish excellent, The crab appetizer was a fusion dish with south Indian flavor which tasted terrible. the vegetarin gucchi was good, samosa was stuffed with mozzarella cheese-passable
The appetizers were much better than the mains ,infact one should stop at that. The potli kabab was tasteless and bland. The nan were mini nans. Martban gosht was like a homecooked dish. the makhani chicken without gravy.
The desserts again were an interesting fusion as well as being delectable. So i suggest one sticks to the appetizers and desserts !
The service is very attentive without being obtrusive. Good dining experience, amazingly the fusion dishes tasted better than ones which had not been tinkered with! Not to forget the works- a frozen sorbet palate cleanser with fumes coming out all around - liquid nitrogen - wow!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DrSeemaTyagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best of the best..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

It was suggested by one of my friend Priya Kapoor that varq is serving a Thali that includes choice of the signatures,
I loved it...
Varqi Thali was just amazing..
Try it once

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Prxxvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
273 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Still awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I saved my return my visit to the last night of my stay this year in order to treat myself and was not disappointed. The service was very slow to start with but picked up and was incredibly attentive once they got there mojo going. Food is sensational packed full of flavour. Service brilliant once they got in gear, well informed and attentive. If you are in the Taj Mahal hotel come here if you are not come here anyway it is worth the trip. Superb flavours!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CraigwsEr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Varq also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Varq? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing