We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“X-factor: Staff & location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hari Piorko

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hari Piorko
Ranked #39 of 695 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“X-factor: Staff & location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

There are a loads of good stuff about this hotel. To mention a few, at first the staff are real nice. I have to mention about the manager there...he is a real friendly guy. Also the location is real cool...just 5 minutes away from metro station & new delhi railway station. Along with these...there are some negative stuff also like absence of heater in rooms(a real headache in winter) & the restaurant was a real bore.
P.S.- If you'r staying as a couple, you must try the suite...it is a must! I am really impressed with the room(mirror walls, aquarium & a lot more!) & will love to be there if visiting again.

Room Tip: At the same price...you will hardly get better rooms than Hari piorko suites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arka_Biswas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    560
    171
    60
    26
See reviews for
243
390
220
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The location cannot be beat in terms of distance to the metro and feeling safe. 5-8 min walking distance between to different metro lines, which is the cheapest, easiest, most hassle free way to get around Delhi. The restaurant manager (Vicki) is incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eewright3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londres
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Other reviews are right about the beds, lovely and comfortable, but this is where the good news ends. There was NO heating in the room, the coldest month in Delhi ever and no heating. I was offered a heater for an extra charge. Did they want to suggest I pay for electricity as well? Seriously, this is a joke at Rs1800 a night heating should have been included. Phone didn't work, was expecting a call, didn't get it. The hot water which I was assured was 24hours, was not. I had to ask a few times to get this turned on!!!

The worst of all however was telling about 10 staff that I was checking out late - they have no idea how to note this information down or communicate with colleagues - come on!

DO NOT - book anything with the internal 'travel agent' - I'll use that title loosely. I booked what I thought was a Volvo government bus at an inflated price and was told they would pick me up from the hotel. Well they certainly did, by foot!!! We had to walk to the bus for about 20mins with luggage - not amused! It transpires the bus was private, not government - hence the inflated prices. And when it came to getting dropped off in the early cold dark hours of the morning the ridiculous driver and his dangerous helper were going to let me out in the middle of nowhere, with no lights, no shops, no nothing - a woman on her own! What fools.

So my advice is just don't book anything with the travel idiot who thinks he is a top salesman, he's just a liar!

And there are probably better hotels, but for the area it is certainly the best bed I've slept in.

Note to hotel: Must try harder!!!

Room Tip: room at back away from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneLondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

A pleasant place to stay if you can get a room at a good rate.

The location is handy and central and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The rooms were pleasant and clean and spacious.
We had interior rooms without any outside windows and the only window opened onto a large ventilation shaft that ran down from the roof. This meant that there was no day light to give a clue to the time of day which may be off putting for some. We were in Delhi during a very cold spell and the hotel provided us with excellent heaters - albeit at a rather steep Rs. 350 a day per room. (Other hotels that we stayed at charged about half that amount.)

The room interiors were simple but well equipped but we did find that one of our rooms had atrocious television reception and the other had no reception for the free wifi. I am sure that if this had been an issue for us, the very helpful staff would have done something about it.

The hotel restaurant is not great. The Indian dishes were passable but, after all the fabulous food that we experienced on our Indian travels, the hotel fare was surprisingly disappointing. The tomato soup had a definite ketchup flavour and the western dishes were reminiscent of the sort of 'Western' food served in India during the 1970s. There is no shortage of good restaurants in Delhi, though.

The hotel reception were extremely helpful in offering general advice and efficient at organising our early morning checkout, breakfast and transport to the airport.

So, all in all, a reasonable budget hotel that will provide a good base for exploring Delhi.

Room Tip: Some rooms have no exterior windows. If Wifi is important to you, make sure you get a room with Wif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaviCabral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Natal, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have been doing business in Delhi for the past 10 years and have stayed at the Hari Piorka Hotel on numerous occasions - in fact I dont stay anywhere else these days. the Hotel is clean, has hot water, comfortable clean beds and good service. This hotel has one of the best roof top gardens i have seen where one can just sit and chill or order meals at any time of the day or night until around 11pm. They provide a room and laundry service daily. The Hotel is situated in one of the popular markets so shopping is on the doorstep. Transport by Auto-riksha or taxi cab is arranged instantly and the underground metro is within walking distance. For the price this is good value for money!

Room Tip: if you choose a room that faces the bazaar it will be noisy - there are other rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stumbled on the Hotel Hari Piroko by accident. We had booked a room at Cottage Yes Please (in the same area of New Delhi) and it was dirty and noisy so we went walking, looking for an alternative. We were attracted by the name- it was interesting, we went in and were greeted in a friendly manner by the front desk. After seeing the rooms, we booked for two nights once we had returned from our visit to Agra. We arrived late at night from Agra and were given a quiet room that was clean, had hot water and an aquarium in the wall. Despite Delhi's cold and damp early January weather, our room was cozy. The staff were friendly and accommodating. One staff person of particular mention is Vicky- the manager of the first floor restaurant- he is a fount of information and a wonderful conversationalist. Make sure you ask him about his favourite places in New Delhi and in India. The restaurant food is really good- we loved the Momos in particular. Getting around New Delhi can be tiring- it's loud and crowded- full of activity. We had a great time but were so relieved to be able to return to the oasis of our room in the Hari Piroko (note: if you want to avoid the noise of the street, you can request a back facing room- this was what we had and it was really quiet)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BethanyJoyOsborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
66 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Overall, this hotel is what you would expect from a low cost option in Delhi. We had a quad room on the third floor with two full size beds to sleep 4. Ensuite bath with shower; soap and towels were provided (not shampoo). On the postitive side, the room was large and reasonably clean, and the staff were friendly. The location is near a metro stop and is in a busting market. On the negative side, the room was noisy and dark. The major problem was the lack of hot water for the shower: the temperature reached tepid at best, and the flow was very weak. The restaurant at the hotel is not worth the trouble. The food was poor and the wait was long. Go to Tadka down the street for some very tasy veg Indian food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyInShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#52 of 695 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Hotel Toronto
#71 of 695 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#67 of 695 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#61 of 695 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hari Piorko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hari Piorko

Property: Hotel Hari Piorko
Address: 4775 Near 6 | Pahar ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 695 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hari Piorko 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Hari Piorko is a landmark in the midst of busy market New Delhi, where hospitality stands first. Covering 5000 sq. yards space with elegant interiors & teak wood furniture designed for comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hari Piorko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing