We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Hotel Anand

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Anand
Ranked #414 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
HYD
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed May 20, 2010

Best place to stay if one is going to New Delhi. Nice ambience and hospitality and food. One can go for shopping as it is near to Karol bagh.
Rooms are well furnished with good room services.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advisor_1hyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    24
    10
    10
    13
See reviews for
11
18
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

The Ananda became our base while we were traveling around India.

Upon arrival I have to admit I was disappointed, but with everything in India first glances can be deceiving.

When our driver pulled up we thought he was asking someone for directions, but alas there was our hotel among the various car part shops on the dusty road. When we entered it smelled heavily of polish, but then we were escorted to our room, which was luxurious when considering the surrounds.

It was clean, had functioning AC - a total necessity in India, and free internet that was relatively fast. For approximately $40US / night, it was very inexpensive. We were taking a trip around the world, so budgeting was very important to us.

The staff was reasonably helpful and also was able to exchange money for us at a fair rate.

Looking out the window I truly felt like this was India. We had a small, but colorful Hindu temple in front of the hotel and there was a fair amount of street noise, which added to the ambiance.

The hotel food was quite good and the included room service breakfast was very generous in portion and options.

The Karol Bagh neighborhood is bustling and it's easy to walk to pick up bottles of water or other snacks. There is a very nice grocery in the area (turn down the side road to the right of the hotel and walk towards the 'monkey temple'). It was nice to see what local prices were and pick up some interesting foods.

On our last stay they told us someone would be picking us up at the airport and unfortunately we had to wait for over an hour. Evidently the man picking us up went to the domestic airport, while we were waiting at the international airport. Make sure you re-confirm!

All in all I think this hotel sums up India very well... lots of colorful characters, a bit of disfunction, great food, and overall an interesting experience.

The hotel also offers tours to the Taj Mahal for only 12€. We already had plans with a guide, so we did not go through the hotel, but they do have tour options as well.

If you want luxury I'd go elsewhere, but if you simply want a safe place with good food, free internet, and air conditioning this is a good choice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duellema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paxos, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

We arrived at this hotel at 5am after a long flight from Athens. Our room on arrival was the worst room I have ever slept in in 40yrs! It was damp, dirty sheets & water was running out of the walls. In fairness to the management they did give us a better room in the morning once we'd tried to get some sleep. Staff were very friendly & did their best.

Location as with most hotels we saw in Delhi was an experience, there were one or two car repair places outside & early morning ranting & raving was the norm.

I probably wouldn't stay here again if we went to Delhi, but they did try their best. I just hope for your sake that you dont get the first same room as we did on arrival.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paxosconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Cochin
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

one of the travel agent booked this hotel promising me of the best service and best value for money. But after checking in the hotel i was shocked 2 find the rooms are very congested (hardly u get some place 2 walk around your bed).Restaurant was so small that u have 2 go in batches 2 have ur meal wen u r in a bigger group. Compared to the facilities n other hotels this hotel is charging exorbitant rates. My sincere advice is 2 stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CochinNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2010

its very good hotel in all aspects.very good location.rooms were neat n clean.good.staff was very co-oprative.

  • Liked — Room Service
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank parvezsyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We read the promising reviews on TripAdvisor and booked Ananda. Despite re-confirming the airport pickup 3 days prior to our trip, nobody showed up at the airport. Multiple phone calls to the hotel and 45 minutes of waiting around later - a driver shows up in the most beat up, dirty car ever - to take us to Ananda.
The location of Ananda is pretty uninspiring to begin with. The room was AWFUL. No natural light or ventilation - quite dingy. The bathroom was NASTY - there were hundreds of ants crawling around the floor and the bath tub hadn't been cleaned in ages. There was no hot water (only available in the mornings) so if you were considering having a hot shower after a long international flight - forget about it. The staff although friendly, says yes to everything, without doing anything that you request (unless you ask 3 times).
We cancelled our stay there for our return in Delhi. Don't stay here!

PS: the management has recently changed, which may explain how recent experiences are so different from those of earlier visitors.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sna517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2009

If you are expecting just a night's sleep and a breakfast along with some handy services for travel arrangement etc., I would suggest this. The staff was good and helping. However, room sizes are small and no ventilation. Besides the location of hotel is in business area, so you may feel out of place for a while if you are used to residential like feeling however, Karolbagh metro station is very nearby to connect you to the rest of Delhi which is a plus point. Bathrooms are not done properly and water clogging is usual problem and we changed rooms for this. A lot of scope of small improvements if one wants to do. Breakfast was good and small but nice dining area at ground floor. A lot from a budget hotel.

They also helped me arranging a taxi for my Agra and Jaipur trip cost-effectively which was very comfortable indeed.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TasneemPune_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Good Palace
#237 of 716 in New Delhi
155 reviews
Delhi Bed and Breakfast
#33 of 1,086 in New Delhi
371 reviews
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#50 of 716 in New Delhi
1,696 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#26 of 716 in New Delhi
696 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 716 in New Delhi
3,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anand

Property: Hotel Anand
Address: 8/41 Wea Abdul Azeez Road | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Biden Pura
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #414 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Anand 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly Built Anand hotel offers great-value rates in New Delhi, just 5 minutes’ walk from Karol Bagh Metro Station and Asia’s biggest Market Karol Bagh, an ideal place to experience the capital of India. Today’s traveler quite rightly expects the highest standards of quality, comfort and value, and at the Anand Hotel, you are unlikely to be disappointed. The hotel is located in Heart of Central Delhi, with Market on its doorstep, and many theatres, restaurants, shops and cinemas nearby. The great location also offers easy access to all of the capital’s major tourist attractions, such as Connaught Place, India Gate, Laxmi Narain Temple, Red Fort, Raj Ghat & Jamia Mosque. Anand Hotel offers a unique blend of Indian hospitality, warmth and impeccable service and is designed with the international budget business traveller in mind. Our passion for excellence encourages us to, not only satisfy, but surpass the needs of our discerning global clientele. Anand Hotel has well appointed Standard, Deluxe, Classic Deluxe and Suite Rooms that are equipped with all of the comforts you have come to expect to deliver a memorable stay. Whether you are travelling for business or pleasure, the hotel offers a superb combination of comfortable accommodation, great value rates, versatile amenities and an excellent central location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Anand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ananda Hotels
Anada Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing