We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool place to stay”
Review of The Lodhi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodhi
Ranked #5 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“cool place to stay”
Reviewed January 22, 2010

it was just a wonderful experience to be here n i just loved this place....must go guys.....just loved it....delhi is such a lovely place basking in its glory n this hotel adds to its elegance very much...check it out...!!!

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onkar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    86
    26
    13
    11
See reviews for
108
216
40
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

How could it be possible to translate the individual attention to detail, perfection of service, natural beauty and unique touches of 'an Aman' and applythem to a city as frenetic and relentless at New Delhi?
Not only does the Aman New Delhi deliver on every level, but it manages to increase the group's own standards of matchless personal service and deliver them in a place so cool and peaceful you have to constantly sit and admire the photogenic lines of architectural and interior designed perfection. This is understatement and quality on the most beautiful scale.
We were not business visitors to Delhi and needed to feel cocooned, welcome and special in a city of millions of souls. We chose the Aman because we have stayed in many other of their resorts around the world, marvelling at a knack to bring style, service and local flavour to a competitive world of top-end accommodation; we were intrigued to see if there would be compromise when the brand turned its attention to a proper, full-on city hotel. If anything this was better than its much smaller cousines. The rooms are beautiful (don't be tempted to scroll down the website to the 'bigger' rooms. Stick to the wonderfully apportioned and beautifully appointed 'Aman Suite'. You will be thrilled with the size, style and ambience of the room, with its own pool, outside terrace and peerless butler service).
Enjoy breakfast (and lunch and dinner) in the restauarants, visit the Spa and just soak up the feel of this amazing, stylish home-from-home.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neiltaylor2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

The staff to begin with at the Aman were extremely helpful and nice. The rooms are undoubtedly the best in the city. Grandly done, the rooms offer a lot of area right in the heart of the city. The room and the linen were absolutely clean. What was disappointing for me were 2 things. First, the food was really bad. They need to improve their menus, even for breakfast. Second, I stayed at the Aman cause I wanted to enjoy the plunge pool within the room. This was particularly disappointing since the water temperature in the pool could not be increased a great deal. I stayed in late November, and Delhi at the time is pretty cold. The water just wasn't warm enough for us to enter the pool. This was despite me being assured that the temperature in the pool can be made quite comfortable before booking.
All in all its an excellent hotel, located right in the heart of Delhi. Although I do recommend staying here in the summers if you intend on using the plunge pool.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sidzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed in a gorgeous one-bedroom Lodhi suite in this hotel. The room was extremely spacious with a seating + desk area as well as a large balcony and a heated plunge pool. We ate in both restaurants (tapas bar and multi-ethnic cuisine) and the food was excellent. I highly recommend the enormous spa, that includes a hair salon as well as a large gym and rooms for yoga, pilates and gyrotonics. The weather was quite cool when we were in Delhi but the general pool area would be a very appealing option during the hotter months.

This is a much more exclusive, luxurious option compared to the Imperial. We liked that there were no tour groups and the hotel was extremely tranquil. It is a great option for a quiet escape from touring in hectic Delhi.

A couple minor criticisms: the bathroom was beautiful but the water pressure/temperature was inconsistent. Given the size of our suite, we wished there was more closet room. It would have been nice to have a larger gift shop. Also, the guides provided for touring Delhi were extremely nice but not as knowledgeable as we would have liked. None of these things however diminished a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hb7176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2009

it is a good place to stay and is a good place,wondering aman name goes with the hotel,lol.Contact them,tough to book them,not many places listed.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank vicky09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rajanever
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

I was a great fan of the erstwhile Lodhi Hotel on whose site hotel Aman now stands. Located in one of the best locations of the city on Lodhi Road, Aman is another name for luxury.

Right from their branded luxurious Ambassidor taxis to private pools in every suite they have it all. I stayed in a 2 bedroom suite for two nights on the 4th floor with my family and we were treated like royals. Every small bit was taken care of. The staff was helpful to the core. Unlike other hotels the uniform of the staff was ethnic Indian and really smart.

One of the unique thing about Aman is the "jharokhas", in the corridors which allowed partial light to pass in making very beautiful and unique atmosphere. Well worth a visit if one can afford.

  • Liked — Pools in every room
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rajanever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveling
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

From the view of a 13 year old.
The Aman New Delhi was the most amazing hotel I have ever stayed in! I am 1 of 4 children in my family. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite on the 7th floor of the building. We had a huge balcony, a private plunge pool and three plasma screen TV’s. We got two rollaways in the room making it big enough to sleep all of us. We only stayed for one night then caught a midnight flight to Hong Kong the next day. The parents went out during the day to do some shopping while we chilled at the hotel swimming in the pool, playing squash in the air conditioned courts, playing on one of the 3 tennis courts, exercising in the gym etc. They got back at 4:00 and we chilled some more. Then we got room service for dinner (which was very special because our dad does not like room service) and packed up for the airport. We were driven there in the specially made luxury made Aman ambassadors. The Aman New Delhi was awesome!!

[--]

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank packerfan490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.0 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,798 reviews
4.1 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#7 of 716 in New Delhi
2,745 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,038 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 716 in New Delhi
2,726 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 716 in New Delhi
3,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodhi

Property: The Lodhi
Address: Lodhi Road, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodhi 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Previously the Aman New Delhi, The Lodhi opened 1 February 2013 as a boutique city property reflecting all the values of an Aman resort with a dynamic, new interpretation of simple and easy luxury. Centrally located on nearly seven acres on the "green" edge of Lutyens or Imperial Delhi and across the road from the Delhi Golf Course, The Lodhi offers a dynamic and vibrant atmosphere in the restaurants, courtyards and public areas but also the seclusion, peace and club- like atmosphere of the seven floors of guest accommodation. Located close to the Lodhi Gardens with old trees and beautifully designed and built tombs dating from the Lodhi era (1451 to 1526), The Lodhi is 10 minutes from the center of New Delhi (Connaught Place), some 40 minutes from the International Airport and close to many neighborhood shopping precincts. There are several food and beverage outlets in The Lodhi. All rooms and suites were extensively renovated in 2012. All rooms and suites have their own private plunge pool and secluded balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aman New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Aman Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing