We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE LODHI: THE CHICEST HOTEL IN DELHI FOR DESIGN LOVERS”
Review of The Lodhi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodhi
Ranked #12 of 736 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I've just returned from a stay at The Lodhi in Delhi. I hope to return soon. The hotel-- 85 rooms and suites, most with a private en-suite plunge pool-- has been a very insider secret hotel until recently, I was told by Indian friends of mine, Now it seems to be becoming more and more discovered by international guests and Indians who appear to enjoy the art galleries. It's like a private hotel…with a feeling of intimacy you don't often find in noisy and thronging India. There was a feeling of buzz earlier this week…lots of interesting people, including a sighting of the author William Dalrymple, who is admired for his books on India.
I got a sense that The Lodhi is something different when I drove up. The exterior is ivory-colored marble--the same kind used for the Taj Mahal. It's modern.Not expected…where most hotels fall into the Colonial style.That's great, and I love history, but this is refreshing.
I was guided straight to my suite--no waiting in the lobby here. That's a relief, especially after a very long flight.
Staff is dressed in custom-tailored uniforms that change with the season, I was told by a receptionist. In winter for women it's chic persimmon-colored embroidered cashmere. For men it's tweed jackets. Natty.
What's great:
After a day of shopping (Khan Market and SunderNagar market are great) it's refreshing to take a swim in the suite's private pool.The suite pools--one of the top attractions for me--are sandstone, and open to a terrace and leafy Delhi views, which include Humayan's Tomb, one of the city's top attractions.
Decor: light, fresh, understated. Nothing overly fussy or glitzy. Lots of modern art from the Sharan Gallery. I would be of special interest to architects and designers.
Menus are Modern Indian, as well as Continental, and American favorites, all fresh and seasonal. You can eat salads here. I met friends one evening in the bar and later had lunch outdoors on the terrace. Breakfast menu is international. You can dine on your own terrace. I love the new bagel with smoked salmon, recently introduced.
Staff are incredibly warm and helpful. Hotel drivers are like personal chauffeurs, which is a relief in Delhi's totally crazy traffic. They'll wait while you shop.
The management at the hotel are incredibly helpful. They provided an airport co-ordinator to greet and help through the airport maze…and on departure the co-ordinator/ host was there to handle everything. It's such a relief.
Robyn Bickford and her husband Manav Garewal are the co-managers. Robyn if you are lucky, you will meet her) is a former diplomat, and is especially good at connecting you with the right places (Delhi is vast) and talented people. She told me about an event that I would never have known about, and has up-to-date shopping suggestions.This is unusual for an Indian luxury hotel.
Highest recommendation.

Room Tip: Room 801 for a honeymoon. (I over heard a newlywed couple thanking the staff for filling their room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank STUDYTRAVEL2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 662 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

Felt at home as soon as we arrived...who wouldn't? a huge room with its own heated plunge pool and double daybed. Not many hotels can boast that. Towels were thick and lush and the toiletries were large bottles and had heavenly fragrances. There is a deep bath, separate shower, separate his/hers sinks and the toilet is in a separate cubicle which is very civilised. It is an independently owned hotel and on our first morning the owner sort us out at breakfast, knew we had just arrived and where we had come from. That was a personal start to a wonderful 3 day stay. We had our first lunch at Lodhi on The Water their multicuisine restaurant and must confess we didn't eat anywhere else because it was soooo good. We had been to Delhi before and had eaten at other restaurants but this is definitely our favourite. Because the hotel has its own grounds it was extremely quiet. The public areas of the hotel are a little shabby in parts and the building itself is monochromatic but once inside the rooms are beautiful. Oh have I mentioned the excellent spa, huge curated art collection, cigar room, tasteful gift shop, a library and a no tipping policy that in no way affected the service...I think you get the idea...we loved it

Room Tip: Rooms on 5th floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindylou55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night after my wedding, the hotel upgraded me- two bedroom villa .... One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in, had room service and that was also top notch ! Is this delhi best hotel? I think so!

Rooms was huge, good was great, staff who I came across were friendly , didn't really see that many to comment due to short stay

Wife used salon and it was very nice would love to come back to use the spa!

See you real soon


Waterfront restaurant is very cool and good place for great food in a wow scenery

Stayed: February 2014
Thank naveen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobynBickford, General Manager at The Lodhi, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to stay at The Lodhi for your honeymoon and thank you for your wonderful comments. We do hope to see you with us again for your first anniversary and for many years to follow.

We wish you every happiness for your future together from all of us at The Lodhi.

Sincerely, Robyn Bickford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The Lodhi is a well located hotel near Humayun Tomb and others touristic sites with great and refined decoration. We stayed on second floor with garden view. The room is very comfortable with a private swimming pool. There are 2 good restaurants. There were two things that we did not like, one of them was the air conditioner. It was very hot and the air conditioner was poor although we claimed several times to the reception desk. The other was the employees staying around us to receive tips. It was so constraining. I think that the hotel tip politics shall be more polite, like leaving the tip in an envelope at the end of the stay.

Room Tip: Top level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobynBickford, General Manager at The Lodhi, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear Guest
I do apologise that your stay with us at The Lodhi was marred by a fault in the air conditioning and by some staff members seeming to expect tipping. I am most concerned about the tipping as we have a very strict policy, as outlined on the tentcard on your desk, in that all staff members are expected to politely refuse any offers of tips. While a central pool is maintained for tips at reception , we do actively discourage the practice.

Yours sincerely, Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The best hotel I have ever stayed in! Nothing else to say. But trip advisor wants 200 characters. The bed was amazingly comfy, the room was the biggest I've ever seen, and the cocktails (yes a little pricy) were gorgeous. Nothing was a bother for the staff either. Please stay here

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spanna_is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stayed for one night in late January. The room is out of this world amazing. The room is so big it is like an apartment. The staff upon arrival greeted me by name and checked us in in the room. The room decor is subtle modern and finished to the highest standard. The private plunge pool is big enough to swim small laps! The in room dining was first class. The staff were amazing, arranging drivers for us in and around the city, to the extent where they showed us to our seat on our train out of Delhi.

We also stayed at the Leela palace during the same visit to Delhi, I must say the Lodhi was far superior in personal experience, service, room size and comfort.

I am worried that the Lodhi is so good that I will never stay in an equally good hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewJR81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

In short; The bedrooms are huge and comfortable, the staff is attentive and charming, the food (at OTW) is one of our best food experiences ever, and they clean you room the minute you leave it! We are coming back, no doubt about it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikErik19876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 736 in New Delhi
2,993 reviews
Taj Mahal Hotel
#10 of 736 in New Delhi
2,161 reviews
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 736 in New Delhi
2,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#30 of 736 in New Delhi
2,882 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#34 of 736 in New Delhi
4,139 reviews
Chanakyapuri/Lutyens' Delhi
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodhi

Address: Lodhi Road, New Delhi 110003, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#10 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#15 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $337 - $745 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodhi 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Previously the Aman New Delhi, The Lodhi opened 1 February 2013 as a boutique city property reflecting all the values of an Aman resort with a dynamic, new interpretation of simple and easy luxury. Centrally located on nearly seven acres on the "green" edge of Lutyens or Imperial Delhi and across the road from the Delhi Golf Course, The Lodhi offers a dynamic and vibrant atmosphere in the restaurants, courtyards and public areas but also the seclusion, peace and club- like atmosphere of the seven floors of guest accommodation. Located close to the Lodhi Gardens with old trees and beautifully designed and built tombs dating from the Lodhi era (1451 to 1526), The Lodhi is 10 minutes from the center of New Delhi (Connaught Place), some 40 minutes from the International Airport and close to many neighborhood shopping precincts. There are several food and beverage outlets in The Lodhi. All rooms and suites were extensively renovated in 2012. All rooms and suites have their own private plunge pool and secluded balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Lodhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aman New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Aman Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing