We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary”
Review of The Lodhi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lodhi
Ranked #7 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Contemporary”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The last stop of our India trip was Delhi.

Aman New Delhi is of contemporary design where modern art is used as decoration.

The room is very spacious and comfortable, a large terrace with sitting area and daybed. The plunge pool is one of its signatures, but the weather was too cold for us to enjoy a dip.

We took 2 tours, tuk tuk tour to New Delhi and a half day tour to Old Delhi. The tour to Old Delhi is a must. The staff are very friendly and professional and will show you all must-see places in Old Delhi as it is not so easy to do it by yourself.

Special thumbs up to Saurabh as he gave us a lot of good suggestions on tours and restaurants, and a special thanks to our tour guide Rakesh.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London-Lourson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    84
    25
    11
    11
See reviews for
105
205
38
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
roseburg, oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

I have stayed at high-end luxury resorts all over the world, and this one is the best of the best. I have never before encountered such service and genuine interest in the happiness of its guests. Every staff member we met was genuinely friendly and trying to knock our socks off with unbelievable acts of hospitality. This hotel is rare in that it does not nickel-and-dime you. Wi-fi anywhere in the hotel is free, as were numerous services such as airport and train station transfers. When we asked the front desk for detailed instructions on how to find the right train platform and car, they decided to send a person with us who took us to the platform, waited for the train with us, and then carried our luggage into the car and put it onto the overhead rack (free of charge!). We returned to the hotel after traveling around India and stayed the night before we flew home. The next day when we checked out at the 4pm check-out time, we mentioned that our flight was not until 2am. Much to our incredible and extremely grateful surprise, they told us we were welcome to stay (free of charge) until we were to leave at 10:30pm. This made a huge difference to us and we will from now on look for Aman hotels wherever we travel. The food and beverage quality is excellent, including one of the best cups of coffee (with cream--next to impossible to come by in India) I've ever had. The modern art exhibitions scattered throughout the property add an extra element of fun. We both had massages at the spa twice and we highly recommend it. The Aman New Delhi has succeeded in making modern, clean-lined decor warm and comfortable. For the price paid, this hotel is a very good value. Our room had a private plunge pool, outdoor lounge bed, indoor oversized soaking bathtub, large shower, large sitting area, and a really large balcony (guessing about 20 x 8 feet). See Delhi with one of their guides and car/driver--they are outstanding. The general managers greet each guest personally. Any staff member whom you have encountered will remember you the next time you walk by. In summary, this is a gorgeous hotel that exudes luxury and true hospitality from every square inch. I felt so completely taken care of that I was able to truly relax on my vacation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marinbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Aman New Delhi was designed by architect Kerry Hill. This accomplished architect has an extensive portfolio of exquisitely designed hotels - and it is clear why Aman (under Zecher?) chose this design studio for their flagship Indian hotel.

Unfortunately, I must agree with @Meraoz with regard to the "artwork" littered all over the lobby and into the adjoining public spaces. Stuff everywhere. It is an assault on the senses, the interior ambiance and the architecture.

Loved the journey from the elevators to the guest room - along the lodhi screened corridors with views to Delhi. Luckily the art detritus had not creeped up to the guest room levels of the hotel - yet!

The rooms are very spacious and well furnished. The lap pool and screened terraces provide a lovely transition and outlook to the room and bathroom - a unique feel to a tower city hotel. We didn't use the pool but still loved the ambience it created in the room.

Building in India is a challenge and unfortunately there are signs of this in the room - such as "construction" scratches to the large glazed panel between the bathroom and the pool. We stayed on two separate occasions and noticed the same issues.

Figuring out the light switching was not easy - we never did find the light for the walk in wardrobe - making it very difficult to use. As a warning we recommend each guest locate the small torch in the box in the wardrobe - you might well need it. We missed not having a hand shower. Could have done without the TV in the room - as per other Aman resorts. However, can understand the requirement in a city hotel.

The staff were very welcoming and accommodating.

Breakfast and the Indian food that we enjoyed, in the "all day dining" section of the restaurant, was very good. We noticed another very dramatic F & B venue at the entry of the hotel, however, we were told that it was closed for "rectification works". Hopefully, Kerry Hill has a handle on this....

The spa treatment was excellent.

We would definitely return to Aman next time we're in Delhi. Fingers crossed the tacky art installations and jumble sale will be banished back to the local gallery/s that they came from - and we can then reward this hotel the five stars that it deserves.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I usually never write reviews but when deciding upon which place to stay in Delhi I doubted if I should spend the money on Aman after some mixed reviews on this site.

I am extremely happy I chose Aman as the place is fantastic in every sense. Staff are great, food is fantastic and facilities are top notch and well maintained. Other guests who complained about Aman standards not being fulfilled, well to be honest I don't know what they are talking about.

It was my girlfriends birthday and all staff knew this and congratulated her. She got birthday cake and small gift from managers. The two co-managers are very friendly and helpful. We had a yoga class in Lodhi Gardens which was very nice. Afterwards we had an Indian cooking class all arranged by hotel and very entertaining. In the restaurant I ate very good Indian food with my favourite being some kind of "yoghurt" cakes which were super yummy

Highly recommended and although price is high, the experience is worth it

Top Notch!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
264 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I am not sure why some people are rating this hotel 1-star based on the fact that there is some questionable artwork on display or that there aren't enough dining options... This is a great hotel and probably the best in New Delhi..

Arrival/Departure: We were picked up in an Ambassador (the hotel has a high end silver ambassador). The car is very elegant and classy, but the trunk barely fits 2 full size suitcases and passenger seating is slightly tight. On the way back to the airport we were driven in the Audi Q7. Less fun but more comfortable.

Services: The hotel has a TukTuk (with seatbelts) that can drop people. We used it to visit Humayun's Tomb (about a 3-4 minute TukTuk drive down the road).

Fitness/Spa/Pool: The Fitness center is well equipped (about 6 Tedmills, 10+ Technogym Machines...). Actually, it is probably one of the better hotel Fitness Center I have seen. The Spa area has nice lockers and the massage was what one should expect. The swimming pool is very long, good for swimming lengths...

Rooms: Rooms ar extremely large. Each room ha a large terraacewith a 4m * 4m plunge pool.. The weather was pretty cold so we didn't use the pool, t I can see how this would be a welcome comfort after a long day in Delhi during hot weather. One grief I have is about the light switches as we had a hard time figuring out where the master switch near the bed was.. The one near the door was easy to find, but before going to bed, I had to roam around the room to make sure all lights were off.. The room is also equipped with a Bose iPod dock, and universal outlets that work with European and US plugs.

Bathroom: The bathroom was again what one would expect (the bathtub did have 2 stains that it seems could not be removed - I hope this will be fixed)... The shower worked well and amenities were what one would expect. The heardryer was a high quality hair dryer (much better than those found in most other 5* hotels)

Closet: The closet is verylaarge and has a large enough platform to lay 2 full-size suitcases.. However, hanger space, drawers and shelves are very limited considering the size of the room and closet..

Room Service: Food was good and delivered promptly. They have a wide selection of food availbl 24hrs (european and Indian)

Dining: The restaurant food was very good and not overpriced... Service was good. Nothing to comlain about. Perhaps the restaurants is not a standout place in its own (it was a great place to dine on our last night before leaving early morning the next day)...

Location: The hotel is abut 4-5minutes away from Humayun's Tomb and probably a 5-10 minutes ride away from Connaught Place... There immediate surroundings however are not really pedestrian friendly.. The hotel is on a large avenue with no shops or cafes anywhere around.

Public Areas: everything from the main entance to the reception/hallways/rooms floors.... was simply beautiful and felt precious. During our stay, there was a ongoing retrospective exhibit on an Indian designer along with some Absolut Vodka themed artwork. these were displayed throughou the hotel and did not take anything away from the beauty of the premises.

Room Tip: High Room gives more privavcy as the terrace of lower rooms can be seen from those above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

great service and lots of nice little extra touches, including a list of restaurants and shops drawn up for a friends specific tastes- the hotel is very different in design to your usual, the plunge pool is a great feature- unfortunately was there in cold december but this will definitely be appreciated in delhi and l will certainly make use of it on my next visit in april

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graeme p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

I had been warned and a reviewer on Trip Advisor described it perfectly ... 'on the road to hell'.

Where do I start - I know this is a 'city hotel' and a departure from the essence of Aman but previously the brand held up in the city setting. Now it is a joke. The original feel of elegance and understatement has gone. You don't notice the beautiful stonework or long views through corridors and lodhi screens because someone has dumped a large paper mache head or a paper mache cow in the way. Who thought it would be a good idea to have that cow drinking out of the pond of flowers? Everywhere you look someone has crammed a 'work of art'. It looks like the circus has folded and the props are being stored before being taken to the tip!
What happened to the Tapas bar? Closed and the walkway is barricaded by a large silver ball thingy. A look through the window in that direction shows that the beautiful mirror pond, once a feature, has been filled with boulders and a pavilion built in the middle of it. Madness!!
The public area on the ground floor near the restaurant and bar has tables littered everywhere with laminated signs proclaiming their sale price! Lurking in the corner of the restaurant is a statue of a man in red grass....how is that relevant?
The whole thing is in poor taste and has ruined the look and feel of the property.
If you love Aman, as I do, STAY AWAY this isn't really Aman..

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank meraoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
3.0 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,765 reviews
4.1 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 716 in New Delhi
2,706 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,005 reviews
2.4 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#23 of 716 in New Delhi
2,664 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 716 in New Delhi
3,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodhi

Property: The Lodhi
Address: Lodhi Road, New Delhi 110003, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in New Delhi
#4 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#9 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#11 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#22 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lodhi 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Previously the Aman New Delhi, The Lodhi opened 1 February 2013 as a boutique city property reflecting all the values of an Aman resort with a dynamic, new interpretation of simple and easy luxury. Centrally located on nearly seven acres on the "green" edge of Lutyens or Imperial Delhi and across the road from the Delhi Golf Course, The Lodhi offers a dynamic and vibrant atmosphere in the restaurants, courtyards and public areas but also the seclusion, peace and club- like atmosphere of the seven floors of guest accommodation. Located close to the Lodhi Gardens with old trees and beautifully designed and built tombs dating from the Lodhi era (1451 to 1526), The Lodhi is 10 minutes from the center of New Delhi (Connaught Place), some 40 minutes from the International Airport and close to many neighborhood shopping precincts. There are several food and beverage outlets in The Lodhi. All rooms and suites were extensively renovated in 2012. All rooms and suites have their own private plunge pool and secluded balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aman New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Aman Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing