We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Immersing in the Kinnauri Life in Rakchham

Stumbled upon Rural Odyssey during my googling for a more sustainable way to travel as preparation... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
yenk2d
,
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ladakh in all its splendor

Life is short and the world is wide. I was looking for a chance to explore Ladakh and I couldn't... read more

Reviewed July 11, 2019
nhkmr11
Read all 20 reviews
  
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveler rating
18
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
18
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pangong lake responsible tourism high passes ajay sharma sand dunes local guide homestays kush ladakh monasteries nagaland turtuk stream field landscape immersive organisers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 20 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2018 via mobile

There is no place like Ladakh, and I would not have experienced this feeling had it not been for Rural Odyssey . Wary of travelling in groups in organised tours (and this was my life's first organised group tour), something resonated in the first look at their FB page, right from the sepia coloured logo... something very genuine...and then rest was a very very pleasant and memorable experience, right from the first interaction with Kush Sharma on phone till the last goodbyes from Ajay Sharma at the airport.

My daughter (13) and me experienced the real Ladakh, away from the regular touristy crowded places (even on Pangong lake, we stayed far from the tents, in a village homestay).

The highlight of our Ladakh travel with RO was the homestay experience..what a rich experience that was, each and every homestay, the warmth, eating simple fresh food made with love, in the beautiful kitchens of the locals...food which I will never heard about and which we would definitely not have tasted in hotels and restaurants.

Turtuk was a little paradise, photo opportunities at every corner...

Kush's sensitivity towards the environment was apparent by the Life Straw bottles he sent each one of us before the trip. This also added to to wonderful little stops at the streams on the way to fill up drinking water!

The guides Padma and Namgyal were the most amazing and loving people. Each one of the team members made us feel like family. The tour coordinator, Ajay was very sensitive and flexible. Also, the group size was limited to 10 (in our case 7, even better)

Thank you for an experience like no other!

I recommend Rural Odyssey with complete conviction and am looking forward to more travel experiences by them...

Lastly Kudos to Kush Sharma, for doing such a wonderful work and facilitating such beautiful travel memories for people. Am amazed at how very young people are doing such commendable work...

See you soon again, Rural Odessey :)

I recommend Rural Odyssey with

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank sejalkothari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharmaKush, Owner at Rural Odyssey, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2018

Thank you very much Sejal! Glad that we could make this a memorable experience for you and Tanvi. Look forward to seeing you in North East India soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Chasing mountains and crossing high passes in Ladakh with a beautiful group of people has been one of my best travel experience so far. A diverse group of people a mother- daughter duo, a couple from Chennai and a group of friends from Delhi came together for this journey. Each one showed utmost care and affection for each other. The trip had a natural flow to it and no attempt was made to rush things up. Local guide Namgyal and Padma Otsal are enriched with tribal wisdom and monastic history of Ladakh. Their stories never stops to amaze you.
There was good level of energy and excitement throughout the journey that turned into into travel toles..
Look forward to more immersive journeys with Rural Odyssey soon.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Departure821873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharmaKush, Owner at Rural Odyssey, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Thank you Ajay for the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Overview
Had an incredible experience with Rural Odyssey. They took us to both mainstream places off the beaten track. What I loved the most is that we had a legit Ladakhi experience, interacting with locals, relishing local food, soaking in the local flavour. Hats off to Kush and Ajay for organising what is easily among the top trips I've ever been on. They were really professional and there was not a single glitch in the planning.

Guides and places
Our guide Padma Otsal, a Ladakhi local, was extremely friendly, knowledgeable and had an answer to all of our questions, be it about the monasteries or about Ladakhi customs. Co-organiser Ajay Sharma, who works extensively with rural populations across India, also educated us on several things we experienced.

Accommodation/food
We stayed at ten different hotels, guesthouses and homestays and got the true taste of Ladakhi hospitality (not to mention the authentic food!). We savoured local delicacies like mokmoks (momos), chhutagi (pasta) and kambhir (bread). Hosts were really sweet and went out of their way to help us.The dry toilets we used at all the homestays were very hygienic and it was good to know that we were generating manure for the fields ;-) There was hot water at every place thanks to the widespread use of solar heaters.

Transport
We were comfortable on our trusty Tempo and our reliable driver Jimmy. Perfect driving and he even woke up at 6 a.m. to take us to the sand dunes one morning!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Varun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharmaKush, Owner at Rural Odyssey, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Thank you Varun for the lovely detailed review. We loved having you on this Odyssey and we are so happy that you had a great time. Experiences like yours keep us motivated to curate new experiences and help more and more local communities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2018

Travelling with Rural Odyssey was a great mix of getting to visit offbeat places, staying with locals, sampling some great food, seeing some beautiful architecture, and trying to open your mind about the way you travel. I usually avoid organised tours, but this tour was the best of both- all your arrangements are taken care of and curated to really see some great parts of a region you don't know much about, at the same time there is no rush and hurry and no feeling of being a passive part of the trip where you just click rapid photos without experiencing the place.
A group of 10 was also an ideal number for this trip, where you are not crowding the place and each person's preferences could also be taken into account. The organisers, right from the founder Kush, our tour head Ajay, and the local support from Otsal and Namgail, really went out of the way to make sure we were ok in case of any altitude issues, and they genuinely wanted us to have a great time and not just rush through an itinerary. All of them are also highly sensitive to the environment, and were really conscious to help us avoid any plastic in the trip and minimise our waste.

There were absolutely no flaws to point out and hope to travel with them again. Highly recommended for travelling to Ladakh to experience the best hospitality and food in the village homestays, and change your very thoughts about how to travel in this region.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank ArchitaSury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharmaKush, Owner at Rural Odyssey, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Thanks for the beautiful review Archita and giving us an opportunity to immerse you in Ladakh and its culture. We look forward to seeing you again on another Odyssey!

Thanks,
Kush

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

As a Travel Photographer, though it was our third trip to this land of Lama- Ladakh, but courtesy Rural Odyssey this time experienced a totally different Ladakh.

Whether living with locals and learning their custom or cultures or trekking to their field and plucking fresh apricots or visiting the thousand years old monasteries and understanding the tantric Buddhism, the complete tour was so beautifully designed and organised that even traveller like us were mesmerized and learned a lot from this trip.
In real way Rural Odyssey is fulfilling the essence of its name.

For any Art & Culture loving people,if wanna to experience any cultural heritage of India from the ground level, one and only Rural Odyssey is there for you.

Gargi Manish (दो-घुमक्कड़)
Travel Photographer

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 2ghumakkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SharmaKush, Owner at Rural Odyssey, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2018

Thank you Gargi Manish for the kind and beautiful words. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews