We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colonel's Retreat
Nearby Hotels
$137
$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$148
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$119
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ITC Maurya, New Delhi(New Delhi)
$177
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Eros Hotel(New Delhi)
$101
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$181
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$174
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Leela Palace New Delhi(New Delhi)
$211
$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$99
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$169
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (778)
Filter reviews
778 results
Traveler rating
542
182
41
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
182
41
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdefence colonybanana breadrooftop terracehomemade jamshome away from homelajpat nagarguest housequiet areacommon areashome stayliving roomplace to staybreakfast was deliciousindian breakfastrooms are comfortablebed and breakfastthird floor
Filter
Updating list...
400 - 405 of 778 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This clean as a whistle guesthouse in Delhi was a delight to stay in. The decor was really easy on the eye too. Nice touches like a selection of books to read in the drawing room...
Food was really tasty and served with affection. The set up is suited for tourists (on a more leisurely pace) rather than biz travellers. So, check out is a bit slow and unprofessional. Otherwise, all-round lovely stay.
The owner is a nice gent who makes his own banana bread. :) Luckily they even had a small park next door if you like morning walks. But there was a major sewage problem (neglect by Municipal authorities?) around there, which made walking an olfactory challenge. Not in anyway related to Colonel's Nest's high standard of cleanliness.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenbarbette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghori90, Owner at Colonel's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

I am glad you liked some of our original art.

I think the problem you speak about was exacerbated by the monsoon and has been fixed since.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Comfortable, homely, clean-with all the facilities and a wonderful staff, we had a very pleasant stay at Colonel's Retreat, Def Col, New Delhi on our way back home to Toronto from Delhi. The place tucked away in a quiet peaceful locality in the heart of Delhi was an added bonus. The lunch served to order was delicious and homely, in fact the entire stay had a homely touch to it with a very helpful staff. We would definitely get back here whenever we touch India and Delhi and will ask our friends and family to check in here whenever in Delhi for a clean, homely and warm stay in Delhi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We took our first trip to India in January and were very fortunate to have booked our stay in Delhi the the Colonel's retreat. The staff and the owner's were attentive, helpful and helped us make the most of the time we had in the capital. We were also provided with a packed lunch for our drive to Jaipur. We will absolutely stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

After a poor experience on our first night in Delhi, we changed our last nights to the C.R. and what a godsend that turned out to be !
Firstly the place. Good rooms comfortable in a quiet location and a good place for first/last nights in Delhi. The breakfast on the roof top was good with Banana bread and pretty well what you wanted. Service was excellent.
On our last morning just before departing for the flight home my wife was taken very ill and needed to see a doctor. The staff were absolutely great, arranging taxis, doctors appointments etc. taking messages from our Insurers, faxing, printing etc. When we had obviously missed our flight they put us into another room, made food, drinks etc. and as we were allowed to fly they arranged taxi to airport. Most of this was done without question of charge and from a very sympathetic point of view . We cannot speak highly enough of the staff particularly the lady who helped. When the worst happens you can only hope that someone will help - they can and did - a massive thanks and we WILL see you again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edwin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a beautiful experience at the Colonel's Retreat, the location is perfect for visiting the most interesting points in New Delhi, people are very gentle, the rooms are very clean, breakfast is delicious and we'll come back absolutely next time we'll go to New Delhi. If you need to stay in Delhi then look no further than the Colonel's Retreat. Diego

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diego_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews