We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colonel's Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Eros Hotel(New Delhi)
$101
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$115
$109
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$148
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$137
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$128
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$174
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$101
$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Leela Palace New Delhi(New Delhi)
$211
$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$169
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (778)
Filter reviews
778 results
Traveler rating
542
182
41
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
182
41
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdefence colonybanana breadrooftop terracehomemade jamshome away from homelajpat nagarguest housequiet areacommon areashome stayliving roomplace to staybreakfast was deliciousindian breakfastrooms are comfortablebed and breakfastthird floor
Filter
Updating list...
431 - 436 of 778 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived in Delhi from Chicago at 1:30AM and were happy to get some rest at this family owned heritage hotel. There are only 6 rooms with nice common areas on each of the 3 floors. The rooms were clean with lots of hot water and good showers. We only ate breakfast at the hotel and the food was good. The hotel is located on a quiet residential street where you can go for a stroll, or check out the fruit/vegetables being sold by a friendly farmer who brings his produce in daily. It is an excellent location and close to sights and restaurants without having to venture too far into the city. We especially liked this after a long day of sight seeing. The staff are polite, trustworthy, and accommodating. We stayed here again at the end of our tour. The morning of our flight, we needed to leave for the airport at 5:00AM. The staff gave boxed breakfasts to each of us thoughtfully prepared with passing through security in mind. Nice touch and much appreciated.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Colonel's Retreat in the Defence Colony is Delhi is like a wonderful refuge from the chaos of that great city. Located in an exclusive residential neighborhood, it really does seem like a refuge. The staff is very courteous and helpful, and happily arrange everything from airport pickup in the middle of the night to simple, vegetarian meals served in the room for someone like me (I started a 40-day silent retreat while I was staying there). The oprice is quite reasonable for Delhi, and everyone who works there seems to be interested in making your stay in India as pleasant as possible. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Soi far as I know, they are all good.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Very nice place to stay, with a beautiful rooftop for meals, including complimentary breakfast and not far from the metro or other access to downtown sites not far away. I will stay here again when I am in India. They also have a place near the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for our last two nights in India and loved it. It is a haven after a hard day site seeing: spotless, great staff, delicious food and very handy for the Metro. The owner is very helpful in what to see and how to see it and there are plenty of suggestions as to where to eat. Breakfast and dinner are taken on the roof terrace which is quiet and cool. Free wi-fi which is great and unusual.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Colonel's Retreat as part of a wedding party and had booked several rooms over a one week time period. The hotel is very clean and has nice common areas to hang out in. The washrooms have running hot water (as opposed to water heaters which you have to turn on before showering) The staff is incredibly helpful, especially with booking safe and reliable cars for trips and excursions. The breakfasts are nice and the cooks can accommodate various food allergies, which was helpful. Overall, I would very much recommend Colonel's Retreat as a reasonably priced and clean B&B.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews