We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Colonel's Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colonel's Retreat
Ranked #2 of 1,097 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in early November. Fantastic value for money. Very clean and well located. It's not the Ritz, but if that is what you are expecting, pay tripple and go elsewhere.
The owners are fabulous hosts and make you feel very comfortable and at 'home'. Delhi can be quite confronting for a first-time visitor and having the owners on hand to provide advice and tips was wonderful. They really make every effort to assist guests and provide information on the city, places to eat, shop etc. There is also a lot of information provided in the lounge areas, listing restaurants, shopping districts and information on transport.
The breakfast is simple but lovely and I can confirm that the previous reviews about the banana bread are completely spot on. I''m not normally a fan of the stuff but I found myself happily munching away on it every morning.
My only complaint would be that the beds are pretty hard and somewhat uncomfortable and narrow (we stayed in a room with twin beds).
In truth, I am loathed to leave a review about the Colonel's Retreat because I would like to keep this little gem to myself!'
Also thanks to all of the staff they were all lovely and very welcoming.
Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indigo1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
There are newer reviews for Colonel's Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 699 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our family of five adults stayed at this guest house in October 2012. We cannot recommend it highly enough. The rooms were clean and pleasant, the quality of towels and bedding good and there is plenty of hot water. All the drinking water in the property is filtered by reverse osmosis, so no worries there.We received a warm welcome and the offer of a meal on arrival, which we really appreciated after a long flight The house has a lovely roof terrace where you are served a delicious breakfast, and home cooked dinner is available if you want it. It is great to sit up there on hot evenings listening to the noise of Delhi while being slightly removed from it, again very welcome after exhausting days. A great place to sit with a cold beer. You get a good view of firework displays from there too. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. Treatments such as massages and facials are available in the basement area. The host is is on hand and happy to help with local information and suggestions of places to visit. It is conveniently located near the metro, which is a great way to get around Delhi as traffic is chaotic and slow. The metro is cheap, clean and easy to use. Remember that the first carriage on any train is ladies only. Wish we had that in London!There is a local extremely good and extremely cheap dosai restaurant nearby. If I ever go back to Delhi, The Colonels Retreat is the first place I would choose to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here three times during our holiday in India. It felt like we were coming back home each time. We really appreciated the warmth and friendliness of the owners and of the staff. We would always return and highly recommend to others,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suedun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Look no further for a home away from home in Delhi. Great service, the rooms were excellent and very safe location. Close to very good restraunts in the defence colony market. Only a 5 min walk from the very cheep metro!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lottiep71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Colonel's Retreat for two nights in October 2012.
Room and bath room were nice and in excellent condition. Everything was nicely decorated.
The location is very good, it's located in an upscale, quiet neighbourhood called Defence Colony close to the Metro - it was probably the quietest place we stayed at in India.
Breakfast is served on the nice rooftop terrace. Food is very good, they serve what you like. They have freshly brewed organic coffee, which was excellent.
One night we had dinner on their terrace, food was also very good and the athmosphere was nice.
The staff and especially the owners are very friendly and helpful and turned our stay in Delhi into a relaxed and wonderful start of our trip throughout India.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. It was a very nice place to start our tour of India. The owners were very helpful and nice always at hand at meal times to have a little chat and helpful advice to give.
Breakfast and dinner were both very nice. The location is very good near Defence colony with nice restaurants .
I found the room to be nice the bathroom was good too but may be a little updating needed but plenty of hot water and good pressure which one needs. Also nice touches like large shaving. make up mirror and hair dryer and safe.
All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boyracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is a great place to start your trip to India, and we stayed for four nights. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the dinner in the evenings was one of the best we had in India. It is located in a quite area, so you are sure of a peaceful nights sleep. It is a short walk (around 5-10minutes) from the metro, which wisks you into the centre in 20minutes, and is very handy for visting other sites. All in all, good value for money and a relaxing start to the holiday.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Harringt0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
2.7 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 713 in New Delhi
2,866 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#38 of 713 in New Delhi
3,897 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#36 of 713 in New Delhi
2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 713 in New Delhi
2,839 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tatvamasi Homestay
Tatvamasi Homestay
#1 of 1,097 in New Delhi
291 reviews
3.7 mi away
Saket Bed and Breakfast
Saket Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 1,097 in New Delhi
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonel's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonel's Retreat

Address: D - 418, New Delhi 110024, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 1,097 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range: $41 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colonel's Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great favorite with business travelers and overseas tourists alike, offering a truly comfortable, elegant place to stay. Colonel's Retreat has been lovingly created by people who are frequent global travelers themselves and who take pride in maintaining the highest world-class standards of hospitality. All rooms are air-conditioned rooms with cable TV, refrigerator, free wi-fi, electronic safe. Attached baths, with hot and cold running water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonel's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonel`s Retreat Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing