We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very pleasant 1-month stay”
Review of Colonel's Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colonel's Retreat
Ranked #3 of 1,076 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a very pleasant 1-month stay”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I and two colleagues stayed here one month while working in Delhi and I have to say a big thank you to all the lovely staff at the Colonel's Retreat. They could not have been more helpful, smiling and friendly. It's true the more junior staff don't speak much English but the senior staff do. They all made our stay there extremely pleasant. I particularly appreciated their help when I got a spot of Delhi belly from a dodgy restaurant in town - they called out a local doctor, picked up my prescription themselves, and cooked bland food for me on request while I was ill.

The room was very comfortable too, good air-conditioning, comfortable bed and clean modern bathroom. My only small complaint is that the safe provided was not attached to anything, it would have been more secure if it was fixed into the wardrobe. Some safes are attached, so I recommend specifying this when you book.

The breakfast provided was excellent, the laundry service was speedy (although specify ironing if you want this), and the meals we ordered in the evening were delicious.

They also organised a car to drive us to Agra and take us back the next day, for a good price too! We were very pleased with our driver who drove excellently and looked after us well. All in all we felt very well looked after.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newbieinDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    159
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
138
250
67
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jaipur, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

We have stayed at Colonel's Retreat on multiple occasions. The staff is extremely friendly, the breakfast good and location is very convenient. Couldn't have asked for more from a BnB in New Delhi.

Simple advice, this place is in huge demand and please pre book before travelling. Mr. Arun has been kind enough to accommodate us most of the times even on last minute notices though. Absolutely love this place and has become our favorite whenever travelling to Delhi.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAFARIntl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

We booked an entire floor of this place for my husband's family visiting India for the first time. It was reasonable value at $100 a night for each room (4 rooms in total) and the apartment was pretty large, with balconies and en suite bathrooms for each room, and we needed a comfy place to stay in Delhi for a week; until...

On the fourth or fifth day of our stay my mother-in-law walked into one of the other bedrooms and found a cleaning guy using her daughter's toothbrush. They only told me on the flight out -- or I would have created a huge drama. Anyway, this is something so unbelievable that I would never stay or recommend this place again ever.

Communication is a bit hard too as not many of the staff speak enough English for a foreigner. I was the only Hindi-speaking member and so I had to find someone to serve breakfast every morning, talk to the security, find them to clean the rooms etc. Don't rely on the owner, he's not there all the time.

Room Tip: Lock up your personal products, or don't let them alone in your room to clean. Ask for a balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NextStopHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghori90, Owner at Colonel's Retreat, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
I as the owner deeply regret this incident. My only lament is it has been brought to my notice over 3 months after you stayed with us. This kind of incident is best dealt with on the spot. I also find this very hard to understand because dental and hygiene kits are provided free of charge for the staff and its sort of unbelievable any one of our well paid staff would use someones Tooth Brush !!.

If this was an expensive perfume or cream , i could understand the temptation but to use someones tooth brush -ugh ! If true - i regret this deeply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

The street Colonel's Retreat is situated on is very nice, in a beautiful residential area of Delhi, full of nice houses and gardens and quiet. Near Khan Market, Defense Colony's Market and other nice markets in Delhi. And my husband and I felt very safe.
Service and breakfast have room for improvement though.
Otherwise room is quite nice, they provide good heater and the shower is wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EliseDeGrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
328 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We recently used the Colonel's Retreat as our home base for several two days trips outside of Delhi. They actually own a couple of properties in the Defence Colony area of Delhi. Of the 5 nights that we stayed there, we spend two nights in a very small room and one night in a room that had one bed and a cot (we specifically asked for two beds). Some of the breakfasts were great with excellent service, some days were chaotic. The dinners, which we had twice, were very good. We also did not have maid service the first day we were there, so returned from a long day of touring Delhi to damp, dirty towels that we had left for them to clean.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that is next to the kitchen- it is the largest and also has a spacious bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rubybouvier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We arrived to find our taxi awaiting us at Delhi airport. This easy, convenient and comfortable start underlines our whole experience at the colonels retreat.

The rooms are private, well sized, clean and secure..... With hot water! We felt at home immediately and were made cups of tea and given banana bread (which was delicious) to welcome us.

Staff went out of their way to help facilitate our stay, helping to organise a visit to Agra and also a tour of Delhi by car. This was great as our time was limited.

Arriving back at 1am from Agra was not a problem for the staff and dinner was soon produced. This was well received after an 18 hour day and not a lot of food in between!

Arun, the owner, is a friendly gentlemen and he should be congratulated on his successful residence.

Location is safe and it is slightly out of the hustle and bustle which suited us just fine! There is a metro nearby and taxis are cheap and easily organised.

I could not recommend Colonels retreat more and is a definite should we return to delhi in the future.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holibobs1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

In lovely part of Defence Colony with wide clean streets and old fashioned big colonial style homes. Entering at street level almost directly into an elevator, we went past a couple of other similar floors. We opened onto an open shared living space equipped with free internet, TV, mags, newspapers, books and such. At the communal table at the end is served a terrific breakfast and great Indian food, if pre-ordered for dinner. staff were extremely keen to be helpful. I think there were two rooms. Ours was very large with a tea service and a big comfy bed with good night lights. Bath was smallish but modern. We would have happily stayed here several days, but sadly were just passing through.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurelady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
2.7 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,766 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,888 reviews
9.1 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 716 in New Delhi
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#35 of 716 in New Delhi
1,993 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tatvamasi Homestay
Tatvamasi Homestay
#1 of 1,076 in New Delhi
278 reviews
3.7 mi away
Saket Bed and Breakfast
Saket Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 1,076 in New Delhi
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonel's Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonel's Retreat

Property: Colonel's Retreat
Address: D - 418, New Delhi 110024, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,076 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Colonel's Retreat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A great favorite with business travelers and overseas tourists alike, offering a truly comfortable, elegant place to stay. Colonel's Retreat has been lovingly created by people who are frequent global travelers themselves and who take pride in maintaining the highest world-class standards of hospitality. All rooms are air-conditioned rooms with cable TV, refrigerator, free wi-fi, electronic safe. Attached baths, with hot and cold running water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonel's Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonel`s Retreat Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing