We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Magnificent India

The trip is advertised from the 18th of March until the 28th of March. Going to Delhi we should... read more

Reviewed April 1, 2019
Robert S
Highlights Of Quito & Galapagos Islands with Indus travel, not worth the money.

We are very unhappy and disappointed with the tour "Highlights Of Quito & Galapagos Islands" on... read more

Reviewed November 16, 2018
FrequentFlier31086
,
Toronto, Canada
Read all 10 reviews
  
Reviews (10)
Filter reviews
10 results
Traveler rating
4
0
1
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
4
0
1
1
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 10 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2018

Used Indus from a Groupon for Egypt. They changed our itinerary less than 14 days out, when they finally booked our air; citing no availability on the airlines as the reason for our paid excursions being cancelled. Still haven't seen a refund for those excursions that didn't happen. One guide we had was very good, but contracted, doesn't work for Indus directly (which explains why he was so awesome!). The others were poor at best and rushed us through sites with little explanation.

On the positive side - EGYPT is worth it!! Go, even with Indus (though I recommend taking another travel company if possible).

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Y8543HXkimberlyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2018

We are very unhappy and disappointed with the tour "Highlights Of Quito & Galapagos Islands" on October 2018

We travel 4-5 times a year and took many different tours all over the world and this tour was the worst from all.

We felt that the tour was not worth the money and the itinerary was terrible.

When we booked this trip IndusTravel charged our Credit card $2400 for the deposit, we questioned for this high amount and Indus travel never revised it, so we could not afford to cancel this trip. Our contact agent was Rachel Pader, we also asked her if we could get some promotion or some discount from Indus that we found out after we paid the deposit and the answer was no.


Summary of the trip:

From Canada we arranged our own flights Copa Airlines and booked at Hotel Mercure directly, everything was fine.

Day 1: Enjoyed City tour of Quito by ourselves

Day 2 , Starting with Indus tour, they assigned this tour to a local company "Geo Risen" Pick up at 4.45 am from hotel to the airport : Quito to Baltra (Galapagos Island)
Indus Travel suggested to book with Tame airline, it was a disaster. Prior to boarding from Quito to Baltra, Tame airline forced us to pay additional USD 720.00 yet we have a confirmed Electronic ticket that we purchased from very reputable travel agent in Canada. Their reason as a Canadian (foreigner) we have to pay more for the tickets. There's a scam going on and operated by TAME airlines when going to the Galapagos. This is the worst Airlines in the world ( we have flown over 200 Flights). The plane was very old, cramped seats, also they changed the schedule several times with very short noticed, Our flights was changed from 6.30 Am to 9.00Am. wasted another 3 hours at the airport. Avoid to use this Tame airlines at all cost.

Tour of the Highlands (private property) to see the Giant Tortoises was OK,
Visit to Charles Darwin Station was not much to see or learned everything was closed, just a long walk.
We supposed to stay at Hotel Silberstein it was changed to Isla Azul Hostel without any notice, was not to our standard, an old hotel, run down, not very good location :1.5 star hotel, the only thing good the owner was a very nice person.
We asked for some compensation or explanation for changing to this hotel, never get any reply.

Day 3, Early morning public speedboat to Isabela island, it was very rough over 2 hours journey, two persons from our group were sick and throwing up.

Visit Flamingo Lagoon was a joke, we only saw 3 flamingos from a distance on the dirty lagoon , (in Bonaire and Curacao we' seen hundreds of them)

Snorkelling in Tintoreras Islet was a disaster, it was not well organised, we are an advanced snorkeler, many people in our group were complaining, because there were no instructions they just let us jump into cold water ( luckily we brought our own wet suit) and it was very poor visibility, so basically we could not see any marine life.

Day 4. Morning: Hiking to Siera Negra Volcano, unfortunately it was a bit raining and very foggy, after over 1.5 hours hike we could not see anything because of the foggy weather, so we went back down, therefor the entire day was wasted, in the afternoon we were transfered back by speedboat to Santa Cruz. The over 2 Hours boat ride was very bad, hit by rough ocean and wet. The overall trip to Isabela island was very unpleasant and a waste of time and money.

Day 4, Transfer from hotel to Baltra airport, so much confusion, we almost missed our flight because Tame Airlines sent me an e-mail less than 18 hours before our departure that our flight was changed from 12.30pm to 10.00am, but our tour guide could not 100% reconfirmed hat the flight was rescheduled. We just followed our instinct and went to the airport with the earlier group, luckily we didn't missed our flights.

Day 5, Half day Quito City Tour was OK ,we already done it ourselves on the first day.

We have a double booking in Hotel Mercure on Oct 15-16 . I mentioned this to Indus and Geo Reisen Representative, because from Oct 15 we started our Amazon-Ecuador tour with Gate 1 and we have a room booked with Gate 1.
I checked with the Hotel Mercure, they said that we only have one room reservation with Gate 1, the other one was already cancelled if so we should get some credit from Indus or Geo Risen tour, but they said no refund.

Overall we have a very bad experience and very disappointed with this "Highlights Of Quito & Galapagos Islands" it was a waste of our time and our money.

This entire tour was a little bit disorganised with different pick up times, different tour guides, bad itinerary, the all included meals always the same menu: Chicken or fish. They never provide us bottle water on the bus/boat trip.

We felt also once you paid the invoice this Indus travel did not really care about your need and concerned, they just take your money and they give you a budget tour.

We would not recommended this tour, better look for other Tour operator to visit Galapagos Island.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank FrequentFlier31086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

I went on this trip in April 2015 & I am happy the way this was organized. The local operator was excellent and people at different location were courteous, helping and knowlegable.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank pkkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2018 via mobile

I just returned from our extended tour from Sao Paulo after an exceptional experience on the 15 day Best of Peru, Argentina, and Brazil. It was outstanding. I have been skeptical of organized tours as I have traveled independently to over 100 countries. I loved the tour! The escorts who met us in each city were amazingly organized and efficient. The hotels were far above my expectations and the local tours also exceeded my expectations. What an incredible value. My only criticism was we were constantly rushing to fly to the next destination. Three nights in each location would set an easier pace. I will definitely book a future tour with Indus Travel. Maybe India or South Africa, or Myanmar: any country where it is difficult to visit on your own.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank W2970JEmarkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2018

This is my second trip with Indus. We so enjoyed the knowledge of our guide for the Golden Triangle of India with the family and great value for the money, that we booked 9 day tour of Peru. We were again extremely pleased. We were always welcomed by an Indus rep when we arrived at each city to help us transfer in the airport or take us to our hotel. The Sonesta 4* hotel chain was an excellent choice, especially in the Sacred Valley and in downtown Lima. Every one of our local tour guides was passionate and knowledgeable about what they showed us. They all spoke excellent English. The trip was carefully planned so that we were gradually exposed to higher altitudes. We learned so much more about Peru, it’s history and its people than we would have on our own. The staff in BC quickly answered all my questions. Several of our group of 17 travelled as singles which was nice for them as we quickly became a group. I looked forward to travelling again with Indus to Dubai!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank PamVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews