We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!”
Review of BnB Chrysalis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BnB Chrysalis
Ranked #9 of 1,076 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived at midnight and were welcomed by Swapan. Next day we had wonderful breakfast and on our way to Jaipur. Mony and we were in touch by e-mails for several months before we arrived. He is an excellent host and make sure all his guests are ok. All the rooms are comfortable and clean with hot water and showers and if any problems, Swapan was there to help and solve them. Free wi-fi was great and helpful.. We had no problems Mony went out of his way to keep our luggages while we visited several cities in India which was a great help. He reccommened a car service company and that was exceellent and with a very good driver. BNB beats sheraton which is right across from bed and breakfast. There is a nice mall with restaurants and food courts within 5 minutes walking distance. You can exchange money there. We have nothing but praises to Mony and his Bed and Breakfast and Swapan and his wife Kusum. We will stay there again if we ever return to Delhi. Thank you all. Chris& viji

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winefrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    24
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
84
63
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I arranged to start and finish our 12 day India adventure at the B&B Chrysalis. This decision was a very very wise one.

Like many other USA travelers we arrived in the wee hours of the morning and were greeted with a smile and the kind care of Sapan. After a good rest, a generous and extraordinary breakfast and a full day of Delhi touring we did enjoy a delightfully fun evening with drinks and dinner (complimentary!) with owner Mony and a delightful group of Swedish students.

At the conclusion of our travels around the Golden Triangle and Rajasthan we returned happy and tired to the hospitality of Kusum and Sapan who completely refreshed us before our long flight home. Mony insisted that we enjoy dinner once again as his guests which we did gratefully. We were also encouraged to keep our room until the next evening (no charge!) since we had a late night flight. Mony made time to have a leisurely coffee and a visit with us that last morning on his was to work. It was clear to us that we were spending time with a new friend.

[If you arrive after 11pm be sure to call your driver's attention to the fact that a different approach to the B&B is required . The main M Block entrance is locked at 11pm. A slightly modified late night approach to B&B Chrysalis is clearly explained in your confirmation email.]

The experience at B&B Chrysalis is unique. It is far more than the warmth of the greeting to tired travelers, the comfort of the spacious and immaculate rooms and the excellent Indian meals. Staying here is an experience of kindness, friendship and generosity that makes our big world seem just a bit smaller.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hovancsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived at Indira Ghandi airport in the wee hours but so did many others. The slow crawl through customs and immigration meant we didn't have our bags until 4:30am, 90 minutes later than expected. However the pick up driver arranged by BnB Chrysalis had waited patiently. Soon afterward, we crawled into bed, tired and jetlagged after a long flight from New York City. We emerged hours after breakfast time but the table was set and a meal was presented by our hosts.

That was a good beginning to a fine stay. Everything needed or desired was quickly provided, including advice on what was to found in the immediate neighbourhood. We were invited to sit in the comfortable lounge where books, travel guides, television and a stereo music system are provided. The rooms are clean and well sized with private toilet and shower facility. Wireless internet worked without fault and a computer and printer was provided for people travelling without their own electronic gear.

While the resident host couple were attentive and friendly, Mony, the owner, is a special and elelegant gentleman: friendly, knowledgable and determined to make every visitor's stay a worthwhile experience. Recreational travel is, afterall, an experience about meeting people and sharing their culture. That's why my wife and I choose bed and breakfast stays much of the time. We get engaged hosts who build their businesses by word of mouth recommendations and through sites like Tripadvisor. I suspect Mony runs this business to enjoy the pleasure he provides his guests.

We recommend BnB Chrsalis without reservation. Another bonus is that it's very good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breese, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Swappan and his family were outstanding!! They were very gracious and accommodating and always with a smile! Mony provided us with a delicious dinner one evening with all his guests and great stories about Dehli, India, and himself.
Also he allowed his BnB to be our 'home base', where we could store our luggage between our three seperate stays during our travels in India. What a marvelous benefit that was to us. I loved experiencing this stay and hospitality shown to all of us. I highly recommend this BnB to any and everyone planning a stay in Dehli.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marne7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Mony is an incredible host from the beginning to the end, before even arriving and still after having left.
Rooms are ultra spacious, spotless, comfortable, beautiful... You have air conditioning AND heater... Hot shower... Its a relief to get to a place like this after a long trip... Or after the chaos of the city...
Amazing breakfast, AND dinner! We really advise eating dinner there. Really, Everything you can ask for, cant get any better than this. Location is great also.
We had a great sleep, great meals and it was a pleasure to meet such a special person as Mony; indeed one of our highlights. He is not only the best host you ll ever have, but hes now our friend, our family in india.
Dont miss staying at this wonderful bnb!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauritabernalv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2013

One can only say great things about this BnB and Suppon and his family. We arrived late but were greeted with a smile, the next morning Mony made a point to visit us before we took on the Golden Triangle. While visiting the GT Suppon and Mony stored our luggage. When we returned we had a delightful Indian meal with Mony. Stayed two more night to take in the sites of Delhi and off to Mumbai and Goa, again luggage stored for us. On our return, a few of us had clean clothes before the long flight home. The accommodation were nice with each room having its own bathroom. Food was Indian or western, hand squeezed orange juice, tea and coffee. Access to the compute-wonderful experience and would recommend to anyone traveling to India.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soxnpencils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at BnB Chrysalis for 4 nights and have never seen such hospitality. After a harrowing early morning taxi drive from the airport, where we were ripped off by the police at the state-run prepaid taxi stand and our taxi driver got lost and ran out of gas, Sapan greeted and calmed us. Our room had been reserved for us the night before (at no extra charge) because they knew our flight was arriving at 4am. I personally had never heard of this without paying for an extra night.

Mony (the owner) had been in email contact preparing us for our trip to India and informed us that we were arriving the same night as a group of 6 travelers from the UK and S. Africa. So he hosted a dinner for all the new arrivals (and it was also free of charge). What a great way to meet fellow travelers and enjoy great Indian food on our first day in India!

If that was not enough, I had emailed Mony prior to our arrival to ask if the B&B also provided laundry service (we had been traveling a week in Europe before going to India) and he arranged to have our laundry done on our arrival. Again there was no charge.

Frankly, in all my years of traveling I have never seen this level of service provided gratis.

The B&B itself was quite comfortable and clean. We had the room with its own computer and internet access. Another big plus for us is that the B&B is a short walk to one of the biggest malls in New Delhi. It's behind the Sheraton. You do have to cross a very busy street and crossing any busy street in Delhi is a challenge. The mall was great for us because they had a lot of Western food and a grocery store where we could load up on water and snacks. The contrast of the Western style mall and the streets of Delhi is striking.

Overall, BnB Chrysalis was outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Sheraton New Delhi
#26 of 716 in New Delhi
1,470 reviews
Tree Of Life
#5 of 1,076 in New Delhi
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saket Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 1,076 in New Delhi
375 reviews
Colonel's Retreat
#3 of 1,076 in New Delhi
689 reviews
Hauz Khas
Haveli Hauz Khas
Haveli Hauz Khas
#7 of 1,076 in New Delhi
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BnB Chrysalis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BnB Chrysalis

Property: BnB Chrysalis
Address: M-6 Saket, New Delhi 110017, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 1,076 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BnB Chrysalis 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a home - not just a room. BnB Chrysalis started in 2008 and is looking to people from different parts of the world - wanting to explore India and stay in a comfortable/homely affordable and clean place when in Delhi. Each of the four air-conditioned bedrooms has an attached bathroom and is equipped with Broad-band & Wi-fi Internet connection, Telephone, Colour LCD TV, Electronic safe, Refrigerator. Breakfast is provided, for other meals you can order delivery food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your BnB Chrysalis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing