We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax--It's Not So Bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Ranked #75 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed March 12, 2011

After reading all the horrific reviews, I assumed this place would be a total dive and therefore set very low expectations. In fact, it wasn't that bad. Yes, some of the staff were a bit aloof; the room was a bit dirty in places; and--worst of all--the internet service was EXTREMELY expensive (one shouldn't have to pay USD 18 per day for Internet use at a 4-star hotel). Otherwise, though, all was fine--the staff were great, the food was fine, the guestroom was generally clean and quiet, and the location can't be beat. My best advice is to get a room on a higher floor, which is quieter than down below. Also, if you're travelling for leisure and have no intense need for internet, then don't use it (I think you can use the internet at the business center for free). Also, it's true the hotel tries to rip you off in different ways (internet, buffet dinner), so be careful. But if you keep your expectations relatively low, you shouldn't be too disappointed. I'll always have very pleasant memories of the kind waiters in Luyten's restaurant, the doormen, and the very lovely pool/garden.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank satisfiedverymuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,424)
There are newer reviews for Hotel The Royal Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,086 - 2,092 of 2,424 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2011

Four star my foot! Rooms tiny, staff rude and unhelpful and restaurant staff unable to provide the correct bill. After being told we could exchange some money after 12 noon when we arrived at 6pm they informed us they had stopped exchanging money for the day, what a circus! The restaurant couldn't remember who had ordered what and therefore couldn't provide a bill for our drinks, hey ho, their loss. When we arrived we were told the 2 twin rooms we had booked were unavailable and we would have to have 2 King size beds. Not appropriate as we were 4 ladies traveling together. Amazingly after complaing they found us 2 twin rooms. Would never stay ther again. What a shambles.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hungry29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

My mother and I won a trip to India and stayed at the Ramada, to begin with...it was not a 4 star hotel at all. Myabe a 3 if they're lucky.

The staff were lovely and the brownies were great but the room was very small and there were a few issues, it didn't have a shower curtain so everytime we have a shower the whole bathroom flood got wet and the drain was all mouldy.

There were many items on the on the mini bar list but barely anything in the actual fridge. We didn't get charged thank god.

At one point all the owners or high up managers where there and they were scaring the staff and you could I see it. I felt sorry for them. As for the men, I gave a tip to a girl and she was scared to put it in her pocket and kept looking at this man that was near us watching. He then walked over and said if there's anything wrong and I said no. He was probably angry because I gave her the tip and not him.

The foyer was lovely and the pool looked nice and at night the lights were very pretty.

The food wasn't that good. We have a better curry shop near where I live in Australia.

Overall, I'm glad we experienced what we did but we wouldn't stay at the Ramada again. We're just glad we didn't have to pay for it.

Oh and one last thing...for a 4 star hotel you would think the wi-fi would be free.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_RBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

The hotel was nice, very similar to what one would see in style to the US and size Western Europe. Our stay was brief but enjoyable. The breakfast spread was vast and varied-- each dish was delicious. The staff were very attentive and happy to address any issues that arose.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mfmonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2011

The lobby and pool area were fine but the room was disappointing, small, not attractive. At the buffet breakfast you could get eggs cooked to order. We did not use the business center as it was expensive. The national museum is a few blocks away - we found it worthwhile. We stayed here as part of a package. Otherwise there are probably better places to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

not value for money, rooms are too small, the room given to me was not cleaned properly

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank nilIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Rooms are comfortable though really quite small, I was unable to use a yoga mat. This being said, the rate is reasonable price for the location.
Very good room service. Very limited breakfast choice, especially Indian options.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonsoonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#64 of 713 in New Delhi
2,987 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#117 of 713 in New Delhi
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 713 in New Delhi
2,842 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#38 of 713 in New Delhi
3,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Address: 19, Ashok Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: $74 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing