We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's Fine!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Ranked #75 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It's Fine!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

I had read the largely unfavourable reviews before I arrived, having been booked in by the third party organising my trip, so was feeling a bit nervous! In fact the hotel is fine. It's a good location close to central Delhi - you can walk to Connaught Pl if you wished, 5 mins walk from a metro stop (you must try the metro) & within easy reach by taxi of the sights of South Delhi. Rooms are smallish & irregular shapes but comfortable & clean, with a good supply of hot water. Staff very friendly & helpful. Food in the restaurants good without being haute cusine, breakfast excellent & a nice buffet in the evnings if you want to eat in. It's not going to be the cheapest hotel to stay at but I was happy to extend my stay by one night & pay for myself!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clanc00per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    541
    518
    227
    211
See reviews for
339
472
193
739
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
227 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

Our Indian travel agency made the reservations here. Unfortunately I didn't read the reviews until after they made the reservations. I read the reviews and was nervous. I tried to change hotels through the agency, but they said the hotel was going to charge us for all the days of the stay, even though one of the days was a separate day a more than a week away. They assured me they would take care of us. Checking in for the first stay, they put us on a high floor, every thing was fine. Great breakfast, room while small was clean. On the return trip, they put us on the 3rd floor, which is connected to the 2nd floor through an open atrium. On the 2nd floor is the Employee room. And the door banged so loud it woke you from a sleep. At about 4am it was nearly continuous. At 6 am we gave up, and got the manager. She offered to switch our rooms, but as we were leaving in an hour for site seeing that wasn't really of value. Since we had paid with vouchers from the agency, there was nothing they could do there. However we had eaten in the restaurant, (beware the buffet is nearly $45 a person), but they said they could neither comp nor discount that bill as it was a different department. After a sleepless night, they could offer no help other than "Sorry." Upon returning home, I emailed both the hotel and the Ramada Corp. Ramada responded immediately, saying that they are no longer affiliated with that hotel. So even thought it says its a Ramada, and use the Wyndham materials, it is not. The hotel never even responded. Good location, but beware of the low floors, high priced restaurant and poor customer service in a country built on customer service

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ET-MCMLX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

We booked for three nights but when we went there nd whn we went to the room the rooms were the worst rooms moreover we requested to upgrade to the top rooms but they were even more smelly nd we checked out to nearby hotel Le Meridian moreover ramada guys charged us for their smelly rooms.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxndjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

.i had checked in at night around 10 pm ,i was given a room immediatelyi had stayed just 4 days back.service was average i had ordered room service dinner for myself and my parents who stayed in another room i told the room numbers specifically but all the food was brought to my room,room bar was not filled with anything remained empty but while checking out i was asked whether i used the facility ,they should ve filled it first i had asked for newspaper to be put ,they asked the time but till i checked out after 4 days i didnt get any paper in my room ,i had totake it from the lobby on my way up,but i was surprised to see that staff were courteous as i had read all the reviews before i went .rooms are small but cozy and i think image of hotel put on web is small looks quite huge in person .had breakfast and dinner all through my stay was good .and my parents wen i asked them said the hotel was excellent .a little bit more effort needed in service

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcmddm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

You will be mesmerized by the amazing lifelike marble statues everywhere around the hotel, and for sure, these are all carved in Italy. If you like Gothic Architecture, this hotel is a must visit in India. The rooms are compact, but has all the amenities one would like to have, so no complains. The location is extremely strategic, especially those who want to be centrally located with easy access to govt. head quarters and offices.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalashBagchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

We had two rooms as there were four of us this was supposedley a deluxe room, if this was a deluxe room I would not like to see the ordinary ones, the cupboard/wardrobe smelt of must the floors were dirty, the staff were uninterested which made me wonder if they understood english as they just smiled. Everything is highly overpriced service is rubbish, we had a drink in the bar the waiters were only interested in the escort girls as there were several being provided for guests provided by the manager, the bar only had one ice bucket for all guests, food in the restaurant was cold when we complained they did not seem to care, the only helpful staff were the staff outside of the hotel, the ac in the room is rubbish this hotel should be a one star

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 186338Lynchmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2010

The service was horrible. Staff was unfriendly and the room was filthy and dirty when we arrived.
We did not have water in the AM. We called the reception and nobody answered. We had to go downstairs and nobody would give us a sincere explanation of what was going on.
Nobody cared. Not even the supervisors. At the time of our departure, the laundry was not ready. We had to wait an extra hour therefore lost our last visit to a site and had to rush to the airport to catch our flight. When we opened the the laundry at the destination, it was wet!
We used the business center. The staff was loud and although we asked them to lower their voice because we needed to concentrate, they continued with their attitude.
I would never go back or recommend this place to anybody. This is not a 5 star hotel at all.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank infer97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#56 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,774 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
0.7 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#105 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#47 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,450 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#17 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Property: Hotel The Royal Plaza
Address: 19 Ashoka Road, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing