We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Plaza Hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The Royal Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Ranked #72 of 705 Hotels in New Delhi
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Royal Plaza Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Royal Plaza Hotel – Initial impression was of grandeur on a small scale, but that is only in the lobby. The rooms are all a bit tired and not exactly well maintained. Room 1018 was a supposed “Club Room” but was at best a bit tired and at worst just neglected form simple maintenance. The A/C was not working and even thought it was cool outside there was no way to cool the room down as no windows would open so we elected to leave the room door open for short periods to get the chilling effect from the A/C in the corridor. Bathroom was grubby with bits of rust on some of the sanitary fittings, bit of paint flaking all over the room, just small areas but still annoying. No plug in the sink and generally not in pristine condition. Overall rooms were not large and of poor quality for a supposed good hotel. Public areas all looked good and the staff were helpful but could be abrupt when asked or told about anything that was wrong with the room. As an example we simply asked for another pair of slippers for the room but it was obvious from the way the receptionist dealt with it that we were never going to get another pair. The hotel dressing gowns were certainly NOT brilliant white but more or of a well washed grey and for us definitely not to be used and there was only one. Buffet in the hotel was acceptable with a reasonable choice of food on offer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    526
    504
    222
    208
See reviews for
325
455
187
722
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Good location not far from Conneaught Place. Very fancy ambience and interior especially in public areas as lobby and garden. Rooms are also spacious, big enough when extra bed is needed and still enough space. The service is nice and friendly in reception and lobby area, not so good during the breakfast (at least the morning we were there), I think the breakfast staff did not understand English very well and were afraid of clients approaching them. The main reproach though is that you have to pay for the internet. The rate to pay is high enough to cover the cost..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeAnni196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting New Delhi in Dec 2013. Great hotel. Good restaurant. Did not use any other facility and the service is okay at best. The reception was good when we checked in at 5am but then the check out at 8am, two days later was a little slow. No eye contact and very abrupt in their responses. Need training! In fact, I saw an argument between a resident and the receptionist while standing in line to check out.
The rooms are okay, little small for our liking. TV did not work as there was a syncing problem between set top box and TV...the bathroom was not kept up. Bad finish on the tub and tile. The tub did not drain at all...
Restaurant was great with food from all part s of India. Mostly buffet. Have a great garden to sit and get served.

Room Tip: Make sure tubs drain!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank racquetman_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

My family and I travelled to several places in India for a couple of weeks. Prior to visiting Delhi, we stayed at 4 other hotels (some 4 star & some 5 star) and these hotels were excellent, we never had issues with anything. When we got to Delhi, our travel agent had already booked us into The Royal Plaza and we expected it to be as good as the rest but NOPE, not even close. We stayed here for 4 nights and it was the biggest disappointment. The front desk staff were the worst, they were slow and incompetent with their work. We asked for joint rooms and the girl at the front desk said 'ok', when we got our rooms they were not joint, they were side by side with no door in the middle. The management needs to educate their staff on this matter and teach them how to tell hotel guests that these specific rooms are unavailable. When we walked into our room, it was dusty, the bathroom tiles and fittings had big cracks and the rooms were TINY. There was no room to put our luggage bags, we had to keep them all on the floor. With just 2 luggage bags on the floor we barely had space to walk. I walk over to the pantry to make some coffee and to my horror the kettle had moss in it. There was also moss on the side of the shower door. All the tables & surfaces weren't wiped properly. All the plug points were loose so forget about charging electronics. My room had 2 cups and only one teaspoon. My parents room had only one bottle of mineral water while my room had two. Major inconsistency with housekeeping. All air conditioners were centrally set to heating when it was only 18 degrees Celsius outside so we were boiling most of the time and couldn't do anything about it. Oh and these rooms were on the club floor so we expected them to be better. The breakfast spread was good but it was exactly the SAME everyday. By our last day we could remember the entire spread in its exact order. Even the fruit juices were the same. The manager at the coffee house Mr. Navneet if I am not mistaken, was good. The front desk manager however was horrible. Didn't get his name but he was skinny, fair skinned and tall. He was so unfriendly and after all our complaints he never once checked up on us to see if everything was alright. He also said that this hotel was 5 star, which is not possible unless the management does a major revamp of all the rooms and train their staff to be more competent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

The foyer was beautiful with marble statues and murals on the ceiling however the room needed a makeover. We had two rooms at this hotel during our stay in India both were rather shabby with peeling paint, poorly repaired furniture and missing plugs in washbasin and bath.
The main restaurant and it's staff were excellent, good food and cheerful attentive staff.
The reception staff were dismissive and slow.
There is a Chinese restaurant in the hotel with reasonable food but very expensive wine. They listed wine prices about ten times the cost in the UK. We didn't buy any so can't comment on the quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisinaviation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I booked here on a local's recommendation and was not disappointed. The rooms did not have quite same level of charm as the lobby but were nice enough. People were friendly, food was great, and the location ideal. I'll book again here next time I'm in Delhi

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nwoodnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
140 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

There are marble statues at several niches.Classy looks,really.
There is a nice little open garden beside their restaurant.To top it all, the hotel is bang in one of the greenest areas in the City.
The breakfast was extraordinary.The two variants of chole-steamed and cooked-were fabulous.The roasted tomatoes were excellent.The range was not very wide but yet satisfying.Dinner was good with some fine sabzis.
There is no space for keeping the luggage in the room.However,the iron was welcome.
The service was first rate too.
A fine blend of old wine and new bottles.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vish201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#60 of 705 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 705 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#100 of 705 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#16 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,540 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Property: Hotel The Royal Plaza
Address: 19 Ashoka Road, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 705 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing