We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way Below Average!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Ranked #72 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Way Below Average!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My family and I travelled to several places in India for a couple of weeks. Prior to visiting Delhi, we stayed at 4 other hotels (some 4 star & some 5 star) and these hotels were excellent, we never had issues with anything. When we got to Delhi, our travel agent had already booked us into The Royal Plaza and we expected it to be as good as the rest but NOPE, not even close. We stayed here for 4 nights and it was the biggest disappointment. The front desk staff were the worst, they were slow and incompetent with their work. We asked for joint rooms and the girl at the front desk said 'ok', when we got our rooms they were not joint, they were side by side with no door in the middle. The management needs to educate their staff on this matter and teach them how to tell hotel guests that these specific rooms are unavailable. When we walked into our room, it was dusty, the bathroom tiles and fittings had big cracks and the rooms were TINY. There was no room to put our luggage bags, we had to keep them all on the floor. With just 2 luggage bags on the floor we barely had space to walk. I walk over to the pantry to make some coffee and to my horror the kettle had moss in it. There was also moss on the side of the shower door. All the tables & surfaces weren't wiped properly. All the plug points were loose so forget about charging electronics. My room had 2 cups and only one teaspoon. My parents room had only one bottle of mineral water while my room had two. Major inconsistency with housekeeping. All air conditioners were centrally set to heating when it was only 18 degrees Celsius outside so we were boiling most of the time and couldn't do anything about it. Oh and these rooms were on the club floor so we expected them to be better. The breakfast spread was good but it was exactly the SAME everyday. By our last day we could remember the entire spread in its exact order. Even the fruit juices were the same. The manager at the coffee house Mr. Navneet if I am not mistaken, was good. The front desk manager however was horrible. Didn't get his name but he was skinny, fair skinned and tall. He was so unfriendly and after all our complaints he never once checked up on us to see if everything was alright. He also said that this hotel was 5 star, which is not possible unless the management does a major revamp of all the rooms and train their staff to be more competent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    550
    527
    230
    213
See reviews for
355
477
197
774
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The foyer was beautiful with marble statues and murals on the ceiling however the room needed a makeover. We had two rooms at this hotel during our stay in India both were rather shabby with peeling paint, poorly repaired furniture and missing plugs in washbasin and bath.
The main restaurant and it's staff were excellent, good food and cheerful attentive staff.
The reception staff were dismissive and slow.
There is a Chinese restaurant in the hotel with reasonable food but very expensive wine. They listed wine prices about ten times the cost in the UK. We didn't buy any so can't comment on the quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisinaviation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

I booked here on a local's recommendation and was not disappointed. The rooms did not have quite same level of charm as the lobby but were nice enough. People were friendly, food was great, and the location ideal. I'll book again here next time I'm in Delhi

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nwoodnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
140 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

There are marble statues at several niches.Classy looks,really.
There is a nice little open garden beside their restaurant.To top it all, the hotel is bang in one of the greenest areas in the City.
The breakfast was extraordinary.The two variants of chole-steamed and cooked-were fabulous.The roasted tomatoes were excellent.The range was not very wide but yet satisfying.Dinner was good with some fine sabzis.
There is no space for keeping the luggage in the room.However,the iron was welcome.
The service was first rate too.
A fine blend of old wine and new bottles.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vish201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on arrival to Delhi at the beginning of a 3 1/2 week tour of Northern India. It was a nice place to acclimate -- not quite as fancy as most of the "western" type hotels but comfortable, and LOVED the grounds and the breakfast buffet. Nice fitness center and great location -- close to get to Connaught Place and most of the New Delhi attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisPena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have been their on our 5th Anniversary. Room and ambiance is good. Service is also good.

must try their pineapple cake ...... very yummy. Dinner (ala carte) also very delicious but the quantity was very poor for 2 person (if compared with the price).

But recommended one.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeghanaVikram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darjeeling, India
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The facade of the hotel with its Roman Royale entry etc; can make you feel grandeur for sure! I wish they had done more with the rooms than just the facade. I did read reviews earlier before I booked this hotel through and agent in Delhi. Since I was on a business visit I didn't want to make much of a fuss and was there only for 2 nights after hectic days of meetings. It is definitely not a hotel to go again! The rooms are decent enough but interiors need some re-vamp. Even the toilet tap knobs and toilet seat covers were weary, old and loose! It is deemed to be a business hotel and would expect the internet to be fairly reasonable or have free wi-fi etc. Well the charges are exorbitant to be ready to shell out a few extra dollars! The only thing impressive are the room service attendants who are polite and for those who like to indulge in a lavish breakfast might find this appealing. Overall an average experience, I would rather stay in other properties compared to the false facade this hotel projects itself.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navraj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#52 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,906 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
0.7 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#107 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,539 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#20 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Property: Hotel The Royal Plaza
Address: 19 Ashoka Road, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing