We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled by the opulence in the ground floor areas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Ranked #74 of 717 Hotels in New Delhi
South West England
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled by the opulence in the ground floor areas”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Ground floor areas are very opulent and glamorous, but the bedrooms don't match up to the same standards. We had no hot water and the rooms are in need of updating. Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice and good omelette station.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    559
    534
    241
    221
See reviews for
373
486
214
803
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We entered this hotel with the hope that it would be a real class hotel in the assumption that it is located in a posh locality beside the big guns in the hotel industry, but we were more than dissappointed when we saw the rooms. On entering the room, it was poorly lit and extremely small, so we called the front desk and asked for a change in room so they took us to the Suites which were the same size with equally small adjoining room. We moved from room to room hoping that there would be something that we would like but all the rooms were the same size just with different room colors nothing more. The overall ambience of the hotel was off, it was poorly lit with cheap decors, some of the halls leading to the rooms had dirty carpets that have not been cleaned. The toilets in the room were untidy with wash basins chipped off.
If you are planning to stay at a low cost place then this is the place to be but if you have plans on having great accommodation then i suggest you look elsewhere. After going through all the rooms we decided to check out and we moved to the Le Meridian which is a whole class apart and no words to describe the pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

manama
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2013

good hotel located in heart of newdelhi closeby for market and chain of restarents.

hotel is good looking. clean and neat. swimming pool is quite good with ample space with guards and pool staff.

good looking bar. hotel is attached with good restaurents. one of the restaurent with chinese food is excellent. even the quality and varieties of food available in other restaurent also good.


staffs are co-opertive and well behaved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abdulkhadermanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We spent one night here at the end of our travels in India. It is absolutely fine for the price and is quite grand, the rooms are fine and the service is good. Swimming pool is nice and the staff are attentive. The buffet for dinner was varied and tasty.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazduppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here for three nights at the end of October 2013. Location is good and the external presentation and lobby are impressive.

Check in is unbeleiveably slow, even with a guide doing the check in for us. 30 mins before you can get in your room? Not good. Staff were well presented, friendly and helpful.

The beds were clean but the rooms and bathrooms are old, tired and dated. And very small and, seemingly, get smaller the higher up you go. A shoe box springs to mind. A shoe box with miniature beds: I'm 5'4" and my feet touched the bottom of a bed so narrow that I nearly fell out of it! Mini-bar is locked but get them to unlock it so you can chill your own beer to avoid paying the extortionate bar prices (see below.)

The food is pretty good, both buffet and a la carte but, man, is it expensive? You need plenty of rupees to eat here! 1500 before taxes fro the buffet and individual a la carte dishes starting at around 600. They then add insult to injury by offering a derisory exchange rate in the hotel. Want a beer? 500 (before taxes) for a 330mm bottle that you could buy for less than 100 inclusive from a liquor store. You gotta be joking. Hope you aren't thirsty!

Want to surf the 'net whilst you're sipping your beer? More wonga again and it's not cheap.

Dont get gouged by the exchange rate by getting your cash from the ATM at the ShangriLa Hotel, just to the left of this one as you exit - it's only about 100m away but is tucked away behind the hotel to the left hand side (no need to go into the lobby.)

So in summary; it's clean and functional, extortionately expensive (gouging at every opportunity) with small, dated rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

As I said this is my permanent hotel in Delhi, cheap and best,and centrally located at Connaught place. Recently I stayed at couple of other 5* hotel the breakfast is best.
Excellent service except room looks little old but value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Subhashagarwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed for two nights and although the room is small, it was clean and the bathroom was equipped with the necessary amenities. The restaurant garden is perfect for chill out. Teh breakfast buffet was satisfactory. Location is very central. The reception staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denichka1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#62 of 717 in New Delhi
2,908 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
0.7 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#109 of 717 in New Delhi
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#41 of 717 in New Delhi
3,752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 717 in New Delhi
2,722 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Property: Hotel The Royal Plaza
Address: 19 Ashoka Road, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 717 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing