We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Royal Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Ranked #89 of 695 Hotels in New Delhi
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We spent one night here at the end of our travels in India. It is absolutely fine for the price and is quite grand, the rooms are fine and the service is good. Swimming pool is nice and the staff are attentive. The buffet for dinner was varied and tasty.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hazduppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    427
    431
    170
    152
See reviews for
206
340
144
572
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here for three nights at the end of October 2013. Location is good and the external presentation and lobby are impressive.

Check in is unbeleiveably slow, even with a guide doing the check in for us. 30 mins before you can get in your room? Not good. Staff were well presented, friendly and helpful.

The beds were clean but the rooms and bathrooms are old, tired and dated. And very small and, seemingly, get smaller the higher up you go. A shoe box springs to mind. A shoe box with miniature beds: I'm 5'4" and my feet touched the bottom of a bed so narrow that I nearly fell out of it! Mini-bar is locked but get them to unlock it so you can chill your own beer to avoid paying the extortionate bar prices (see below.)

The food is pretty good, both buffet and a la carte but, man, is it expensive? You need plenty of rupees to eat here! 1500 before taxes fro the buffet and individual a la carte dishes starting at around 600. They then add insult to injury by offering a derisory exchange rate in the hotel. Want a beer? 500 (before taxes) for a 330mm bottle that you could buy for less than 100 inclusive from a liquor store. You gotta be joking. Hope you aren't thirsty!

Want to surf the 'net whilst you're sipping your beer? More wonga again and it's not cheap.

Dont get gouged by the exchange rate by getting your cash from the ATM at the ShangriLa Hotel, just to the left of this one as you exit - it's only about 100m away but is tucked away behind the hotel to the left hand side (no need to go into the lobby.)

So in summary; it's clean and functional, extortionately expensive (gouging at every opportunity) with small, dated rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Level Contributor
177 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

As I said this is my permanent hotel in Delhi, cheap and best,and centrally located at Connaught place. Recently I stayed at couple of other 5* hotel the breakfast is best.
Excellent service except room looks little old but value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Subhashagarwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed for two nights and although the room is small, it was clean and the bathroom was equipped with the necessary amenities. The restaurant garden is perfect for chill out. Teh breakfast buffet was satisfactory. Location is very central. The reception staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denichka1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Reasonably priced, good location, clean rooms, great little lobby for coffee or drinks. Fabulous pool to refresh. Stayed here with a group of women ... we were on a tour of India. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We started our tour of India at this hotel. Loved the pool after a day of sightseeing. As with all hotels in India, the wifi was extremely expensive. Breakfast adequate, rooms clean and good location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PowerPasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here twice, once solo and the other time with family. I enjoyed my stay when I travelled alone . I think it is better to have bigger rooms when traveling with family. Most of the rooms are small yet comfortable. The view is great from most rooms. I would recommend this to anyone. its worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayfaisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for choosing Hotel The Royal Plaza New Delhi among luxury hotels in new delhi. I am pleased at your appreciation for our hospitality and product on offer and look forward to welcome you on next visit .

Thanks and Regards
Munassir Warisi Khan
Manager Online
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#50 of 695 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 2,261 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
0.7 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#86 of 695 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 695 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 2,663 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#27 of 695 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Property: Hotel The Royal Plaza
Address: 19 Ashoka Road, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 695 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 445
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, Otel, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing