We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Classy Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Ranked #77 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My first trip to Dehil was accommodated at this classy Itialian themed hotel.
The reception itself looked a bit congested with the marble statues and huge pillars.
I booked a suite room, but it was smaller than a normal deluxe room. Staffs were helpful, especially at the time of check out. I stayed for two days and the buffet breakfast had exactly the same menu for both the days but to compliment it, the food was tasty though. Overall, the stay was good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anniekutty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,781 - 1,787 of 2,470 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel is well located, within 15 minute’s walk of Connaught Place. The room was clean and air-conditioned, although relatively small. There is a decent oriental restaurant in the lobby and a coffee shop we didn’t use. The hotel is decorated with a Mediterranean theme and there are Roman statues everywhere. The Lobby is pretty, but the opulence does not carry through to the rooms. There is a nice pool area and towels are provided. The service in the hotel was acceptable, but not amazing and varied from person to person. The porters were very attentive as were the serving staff in the restaurants. The desk staff in the main just did their jobs. You have to make a point of asking for a non-smoking room.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucile_park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My first time in India so i really didn't know what to expect so as soon as i arrived it caused me a little bit confusion as the entrance present a metal detection to enter the main door and an x ray for lugagge and bags so it scare at first cause you feel like in customs again but then you feel safe. After that someone receive you with a bless dot in your face and a fresh drink so it makes you feel very welcome.
the hotel instalations are more that enough specially if you think that in my kind of trip i just spent 1 or 2 nights in each hotel, so i was very pleased with the service at the restaurant when we took our includded breakfast buffet where we had a lot of nice indian boys explaining us the food we were looking to pick what to have for breakfast, the explained us the way we supose to eat them and were teaching us some hindi difficult words to say thank you, good mornig or good night instead of just Namaste !!
Beside if you have a fesh day and you like to walk it is pretty near Indian door,parlament and Iron doors; so you can have a very nice experience trying to cross the crazy traffic streets by yourself between cars, tuc tuc, vans, bicicles, horses and i had the experience even elephant, watchng the eagles fliying around the area a lot of tuc tuc drivers following you to offer ride for 40 rupies or less so for my first day at New Delhi was full of amaizing experience and hotel was just the plus, so for me it is very good hotel.

Room Tip: up 9 floor left site cause you will have the view of parlament since there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank il0ve2trave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The room was nice, but be prepared for noisy private parties from the pool area. We arrived expecting a relaxing stay, but found the pool area with a huge noisy private party with loud (bad) DJ music. To their credit we got a room upgrade after complaining. I must also make mention of the 60rs beer which costs 500rs to drink here. Can't help feeling people who stay here have more money than sense. Regretted leaving the basic, but friendly, suncourt yatri hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melbourneVEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The beautiful outer facade and a lovely lobby lined with highly artistic statues in Italian marble are but a mirage.The first big disappointment comes as u check-in.The person behind the check-in desk asks you to deposit Rs.5000 as security for the expenses u might incur during ur stay.How insulting to the guest-this may be apt in a dharamshala but is certainly not on in a 5 star hotel.As if this were not enough as u reach ur room u find that the mini-bar is locked.How insulting again for the guest-as if the guest would whisk away goodies from the mini-bar without paying for them.A locked mini-bar also denies u the use of the refrigerator within.What can be the use of staying in a hotel where the mini-bar is opened only if a guest demands.Obviously to the hotel management a guest is most unwelcome.Even the rooms and the lighting is well below standard.In earlier days this used to be a . YATRI NIWAS.It seems the hotel is preserving the culture of a YATRI NIWAS meant for poor travellers.And yet even a guest of moderate means needs to have his dignity preserved.The bath-rooms too are in bad shape with overflowing drains.I have a feeling the management hasnt imbibed the basics of good hospitality.I asked the concierge if I could have the HINDU newspaper next morning.Without batting an eyelid he said that the hotel did not get THE HINDU.Its very easy to say no but thats not good hoteliering.The least he cd have said is that he wd try.I was not asking for the moon and strictly speaking the hotel shd have,as a good hotelier,gone to lenghths to fulfill such a petty demand.But where there is no culture of hospitality its difficult to find ur demands being met with a smile.All in all a most forgettable experience

Room Tip: none-avoid the sambhar-its sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank punit1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Guest,
I thank you for taking the time to share an honest review of the hotel.
It is our endeavor to ensure that every guest leaves our hotel as an ambassador of our product and services. In your case, we have clearly failed to do so.
We appreciate your feedback in the true spirit of constructive assessment and effectively utilize them to reiterate our commitment towards maintaining high quality service deliverables.
I fully understand what you would have gone through and it is not acceptable, as these are very basic expectations from a corporate traveler.
My Operations team responsible has been spoken to and appropriate corrective measures have been taken.
I urge you to please treat this experience as an aberration to our normal standards and give us another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Thanks and Regards
Munassir Warisi Khan
Manager Online

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were visiting India for the time and had booked at the Royal Plaza for 1 week while staying in Delhi. The staff was super friendly and very helpful at all times. The rooms were nice and cleaned very well. Breakfast was amazing in the morning and we had supper at the indian restaurants quite often and i must say the buffet was just to die for! I will definitely stay at this hotel again if i were to visit Delhi again. Thank you Royal Plaza!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sourayya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

It is indeed a pleasure to know you have such high regards towards Hotel The Royal Plaza hospitality and product on offer which brings you back to stay with the hotel on your visit to new delhi.

Thank you for appreciating breakfast and indian cuisine and service.

We look forward to your future visits.

Thanks and Regards
Muanssir warisi Khan
Manager Online

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

As you enter the reception the get to see a grand reception. The staff is good. The hotel is small. The rooms like the suites are preferably very spacious and very French. The entire atmosphere makes you feel like a king and queen. Best thingis the resturant as the food is good and value for money. USP is only the look of the hotel.
For the foreign guest it is a nice property as it is in the central Delhi and its approachable. You may not find beach outside the hotel or a shopping market but still you can have a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Please select the suite as it is very cosy warm and extremely royal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travellers30986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear Guest ,
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor.
I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and that service rendered by my team contributed to the memories. Your appreciation motivates us in our endeavor to create delight for all our guests and your kind words instill further confidence in our product and services we offer to our guests.

You can rest be assured that my team and I will continue to strive hard to achieve customer satisfaction to the fullest and endeavor to pursue quality with commitment.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Thanks and Regards
Munassir warisi Khan
Manager Online

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#62 of 715 in New Delhi
3,014 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#109 of 715 in New Delhi
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,876 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#42 of 715 in New Delhi
3,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Address: 19, Ashok Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: $96 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing