We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & Quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Ranked #78 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed in the Club Floor . The short stay of 2 N was very comfortable and staff extremely cooperative and supportive. Since most of the time I was away at Business Meetings, I did not get enough of all the restaurants. However felt that the Hotel does offer varieties. Being about 15 mins away to a Metro station offers you the much needed flexibility of commute. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Naveen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for appreciating Hotel The Royal Plaza New Delhi . It is the motivation and generous appreciation by guests such as yourself that align and engage the hotel's team to excel in offering outstanding guest experience to our guests.

I look ahead to your next visit.

Thanks and regards

Munassir warisi Khan
Manager Online

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,820 - 1,826 of 2,469 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

During our recent visit to India, I booked this hotel as the secret super saver 5 star deal from makemytrip.com - and upon receipt of the voucher, was immediately infuriated to see Royal Plaza as the offered property. No other travel site, or agent claims this to be a 5 Star property but MMT and the hotel staff had just the attitude of the Delhi Auto drivers with regards to their conviction about that.

Needless to say, the 3 days before check-in were spent fighting with the MMT call center staff, and the 3 days stay was spent trying to swallow this cheating by the two companies.

Hotel staff has the attitude of the government officials which is inherited from the days while this used to be Ashoka Yatri Nivas and the property is well past its time. The carpets in the lobbies stink, and the rooms which are for some reason called 'suites' are low-ceilinged tiny cubbyholes.

We were welcomed with a shot of nimbu-paani (sweet lime juice) and with a basket of 2 overripe bananas and 1 tired orange. Very 5-star, I must say. Even more 5-star was the condom wrapper found in our bed - really set the mood for a family vacation.

Positives - Location of course! Views over President's Palace, spoiled by the real 5 star Meridien mocking at me. Also, the metro station is 5 mins walk.

(During my stay, the hotel manager on duty was unable to produce a certificate for their 5 stars and suggested that I check out the next day if I don't like the place, but I had to continue knowing MMT's reputation for refunds)

Room Tip: Don't! But if you have then ask for a room with the city view, and higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinsofdubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Guest ,
Thank you for taking out the time to give us your valuable feedback. I am distressed to know that you were not satisfied with your stay experience with us .
We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. Hotel The Royal Plaza thrives to provide an unique guest experience and has always ensured to provide the utmost comfort to their customers .Your comments will be duly shared with all Team Members as part of their ongoing commitment to training and development. In addition, we are re-evaluating our quality assurance processes to ensure these types of issues do not occur in the future
My Operations team responsible has been spoken to and appropriate corrective measures have been taken .We take your feedback as a concern area and we shall definitely see to it that we could avoid these one off incidences too.
Thanks and regards
Munassir warisi Khan
Manager Online

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Food, drink and massages very overpriced. I stayed here for 3 nights and it is better to eat anywhere else then at the hotel. Rooms are very tiny and could do with a coat of paint. Staff were friendly though. Only upside.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vishaansingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Warm Greetings from Hotel the Royal Plaza New Delhi. Thank you fro valued feedback
While we are happy to know that you liked the service extended by our staff , we are extremely concerned that the pricing of food , drink and massages and overall quality of accommodation did not meet upto your expectations . Your concerns have been duly noted and highlighted to the management .
Do allow us another opportunity to serve you

Thanks and Regards

Munassir warisi Khan

Manager Online

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We, self & wife stayed for 3 days. Both of us are senior citizens and having completed our responsibilities, only now could get time of our own. Came to Delhi to meet couple of old friends. Basically we wanted to get out of Mumbai routine, at least for few days. The rooms are spacious, well maintained. Food was excellent and room service was also good. Over all our stay was enjoyable.

Room Tip: All are rooms perhaps are well maintained but high floor are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest

Warm Greetings from Royal Plaza New Delhi ! Thank you for your kind feedback. We are happy that we were your preferred choice of stay during your visits to Delhi and like the food , quality of accommodation we offer and the service extended by our staff.

We once again thank you for your wonderful feedback and truly look forward to welcome you again at Hotel the Royal Plaza

Thanks and Regards

Munassir warisi Khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Te restaurant prices beat New York city. These are simply outrageous and try to avoid if you don't want to burn a hole in your pocket book. The hotel location is perfect being in the walking distance of Parliament and India gate. The streets have clean sidewalks and morning traffic is manageable. The hotel itself is very elegant and provides 4 star service compared to International hotels. The included breakfast is lavish and freshly cooked Indian delicacies can be had for the asking. Besides they have plenty of international fare for breakfast. Rooms are small but well maintained. They should replace their towels which are old and rough.Public areas are elegant but watch your wallet if you consume tea or wine or snacks?

Room Tip: Be careful when ordering from restaurant or drinks/snacks in the public areas, these are very expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pevandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Warm Greetings from Royal Plaza New Delhi. Thank you for valued feedback
We are extremely delighted that you liked our hotel, the breakfast, quality of accommodation and the close proximity of our hotel to City Centre
Your concerns regarding the restaurant pricing have been duly noted and highlighted to the management
With reference to your insights about the towels, I assure you that the corrective measures have been taken up and we look forward to welcome you soon to New Delhi for a renewing experience.

Thanks and Regards

Munassir warisi Khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The two reasons most travelers consider this hotel are - Location & Price.

There is no doubt it is centrally located and the base rooms are priced competitively in it's category.

Now for the unseen factors that swing the deal against this one:

1. Room Size - The rooms are sized at par with a budget hotel. They are small and so are the bathrooms.

2. Upkeep - The water stagnated in the bathroom shower section and there was a bit of smell as well

3. Food costs - although the basic hotel rooms are is priced competitively, the bar especially is expensive and ends up pushing the overall cost.

The nudist frescoes and sculptures all over the lobby and entrance do try to give the place a connoisseur run franchise look, and it does catch some eyeballs since it has a unique & interesting interior.

Unless proximity to the city center is your key concern, there are similar priced hotels that would give you rooms much more spacious than this one ( Lebua, Radisson Blu).

The breakfast is great though and so are the views of central Delhi from the top floor windows.

Room Tip: The rooms on floor 8 and above tend to be smaller but offer better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhereIsPrateekToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Warm Greetings from Royal Plaza New Delhi! Thank you for your valued feedback. While we are glad that you liked the close proximity of our hotel to the city centre , quality of breakfast and hotel
Your concerns for pricing of bar have been duly noted and highlighted to the management
With reference to your insights about bath shower section , I assure you that the corrective measures have been taken up and we look forward to welcome you soon to New delhi for a renewing experience.

Thanks and Regards

Munassir warisi Khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Location wise hotel is at good location. Good room service and also you will found good food.

Overall good experiance. Only the wifi service is too costly and too slow. If you are using two device you have to pay for two device.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kp4434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Warm Greetings from Royal Plaza New Delhi.
Thank you for appreciating the hotel product and services.
We remain committed to deliver an exceptional service and serve patrons like you in future.
Your suggestion regarding wifi pricing and speed has been noted.
Look forward to welcome you back soon.
Thanks and Regards

Munassir warisi Khan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#62 of 715 in New Delhi
3,014 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#109 of 715 in New Delhi
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 715 in New Delhi
2,876 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#42 of 715 in New Delhi
3,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Address: 19, Ashok Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: $96 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing