We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Overpriced stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The Royal Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Ranked #72 of 704 Hotels in New Delhi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Food, drink and massages very overpriced. I stayed here for 3 nights and it is better to eat anywhere else then at the hotel. Rooms are very tiny and could do with a coat of paint. Staff were friendly though. Only upside.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishaansingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Warm Greetings from Hotel the Royal Plaza New Delhi. Thank you fro valued feedback
While we are happy to know that you liked the service extended by our staff , we are extremely concerned that the pricing of food , drink and massages and overall quality of accommodation did not meet upto your expectations . Your concerns have been duly noted and highlighted to the management .
Do allow us another opportunity to serve you

Thanks and Regards

Munassir warisi Khan

Manager Online
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    470
    463
    190
    168
See reviews for
245
386
170
654
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We, self & wife stayed for 3 days. Both of us are senior citizens and having completed our responsibilities, only now could get time of our own. Came to Delhi to meet couple of old friends. Basically we wanted to get out of Mumbai routine, at least for few days. The rooms are spacious, well maintained. Food was excellent and room service was also good. Over all our stay was enjoyable.

Room Tip: All are rooms perhaps are well maintained but high floor are the quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Warm Greetings from Royal Plaza New Delhi ! Thank you for your kind feedback. We are happy that we were your preferred choice of stay during your visits to Delhi and like the food , quality of accommodation we offer and the service extended by our staff.

We once again thank you for your wonderful feedback and truly look forward to welcome you again at Hotel the Royal Plaza

Thanks and Regards

Munassir warisi Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Te restaurant prices beat New York city. These are simply outrageous and try to avoid if you don't want to burn a hole in your pocket book. The hotel location is perfect being in the walking distance of Parliament and India gate. The streets have clean sidewalks and morning traffic is manageable. The hotel itself is very elegant and provides 4 star service compared to International hotels. The included breakfast is lavish and freshly cooked Indian delicacies can be had for the asking. Besides they have plenty of international fare for breakfast. Rooms are small but well maintained. They should replace their towels which are old and rough.Public areas are elegant but watch your wallet if you consume tea or wine or snacks?

Room Tip: Be careful when ordering from restaurant or drinks/snacks in the public areas, these are very expens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pevandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Warm Greetings from Royal Plaza New Delhi. Thank you for valued feedback
We are extremely delighted that you liked our hotel, the breakfast, quality of accommodation and the close proximity of our hotel to City Centre
Your concerns regarding the restaurant pricing have been duly noted and highlighted to the management
With reference to your insights about the towels, I assure you that the corrective measures have been taken up and we look forward to welcome you soon to New Delhi for a renewing experience.

Thanks and Regards

Munassir warisi Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The two reasons most travelers consider this hotel are - Location & Price.

There is no doubt it is centrally located and the base rooms are priced competitively in it's category.

Now for the unseen factors that swing the deal against this one:

1. Room Size - The rooms are sized at par with a budget hotel. They are small and so are the bathrooms.

2. Upkeep - The water stagnated in the bathroom shower section and there was a bit of smell as well

3. Food costs - although the basic hotel rooms are is priced competitively, the bar especially is expensive and ends up pushing the overall cost.

The nudist frescoes and sculptures all over the lobby and entrance do try to give the place a connoisseur run franchise look, and it does catch some eyeballs since it has a unique & interesting interior.

Unless proximity to the city center is your key concern, there are similar priced hotels that would give you rooms much more spacious than this one ( Lebua, Radisson Blu).

The breakfast is great though and so are the views of central Delhi from the top floor windows.

Room Tip: The rooms on floor 8 and above tend to be smaller but offer better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhereIsPrateekToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Warm Greetings from Royal Plaza New Delhi! Thank you for your valued feedback. While we are glad that you liked the close proximity of our hotel to the city centre , quality of breakfast and hotel
Your concerns for pricing of bar have been duly noted and highlighted to the management
With reference to your insights about bath shower section , I assure you that the corrective measures have been taken up and we look forward to welcome you soon to New delhi for a renewing experience.

Thanks and Regards

Munassir warisi Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Location wise hotel is at good location. Good room service and also you will found good food.

Overall good experiance. Only the wifi service is too costly and too slow. If you are using two device you have to pay for two device.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kp4434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Warm Greetings from Royal Plaza New Delhi.
Thank you for appreciating the hotel product and services.
We remain committed to deliver an exceptional service and serve patrons like you in future.
Your suggestion regarding wifi pricing and speed has been noted.
Look forward to welcome you back soon.
Thanks and Regards

Munassir warisi Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chieri, Italy
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is all dining Restaurant of the The Royal Plaza Hotel, New Delhi with a dull ambience due to:
- Buffet quality equivalent to a 2 star Hotel and the high charges are no value for money.
- During lunch time at 12.45 noon the plates are missing and when asked the waiters they just point you towards an area with only 1 cold plate lying.
- When we ordered the tandoori chicken it was served (with bone), when questioned! the waiter answer was “well we thought you know what is tandoori chicken with bone or boneless”, so I wonder a 5 star hotel staff what are they doing apart from simple serving? No one interact with the guests, no one suggest, they are just walking around in a dream land plus the attitude is as if they are doing favour to a guest in this hotel and treat him/her as fool.

Our travel agent booked this Hotel and while checking out we found a good amount only for Wi Fi, so the question is that in today’s business world everyone use the devices with internet and why a Hotel of such calibre do not offer it as package with the room, when down the street a 3 star hotel is smart enough to offer this service in room rate.

The guest relation manager Ms. Preeti was intelligent to recognise the need and our grievance on these charges, but unfortunately she is part of a system where she had no right to make a decision accept the General Manager Mr. O D Sharma, so we leave him to make his mind up?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMSLifeStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to share an honest review of the hotel.

It is our endeavor to ensure that every guest leaves our hotel as an ambassador of our product and services. In your case, we have clearly failed to do so. We appreciate your feedback in the true spirit of constructive assessment and effectively utilize them to reiterate our commitment towards maintaining high quality service deliverables.

I fully understand what you would have gone through and it is not acceptable, as these are very basic expectations from a guest.
My Operations team responsible has been spoken too and appropriate corrective measures have been taken.

I urge you to please treat this experience as an aberration to our normal standards and give us another opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Thanks and Regards
Munassir warisi Khan
Manager Online
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Very clean hotel, public areas in particular. Room was small but clean, with a huge bed. Buffet breakfast was included and very good, with a wide choice of European and Indian to choose from. Restaurant staff not very attentive, and if you arrived after the first sitting, you had to source your own cutlery from other tables. We found the cost of a one course evening meal to be high (£40), with the price of a small Kingfisher at 400 rupees + 30% hotel tax costing approx £7. We ate out at approx 1/4 the price after this first experience. Shame, because this tainted an otherwise good impression of the hotel.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Warm Greetings from Royal Plaza New Delhi. Thank you for valued feedback
We are extremely delighted that you liked our hotel, breakfast, and quality of accommodation
I apologize for issues you faced during your stay at the hotel. We have made a note of the same and necessary training has been imparted to team members to ensure that we exceed your levels of expectation.
Your concerns regarding pricing in restaurant have been duly noted and highlighted to the management

Thanks and Regards
Munassir warisi Khan
Manager Online
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#52 of 704 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#99 of 704 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#46 of 704 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,917 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#14 of 704 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Property: Hotel The Royal Plaza
Address: 19 Ashoka Road, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 704 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing