We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good Hotel....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The Royal Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Ranked #73 of 703 Hotels in New Delhi
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Hotel....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed one night in the Hotel. The hotel is in Canaught place.. heart of delhi... The hotel is realy nice.. the rooms are bit small... but equipped with lots of accesaries. The staff is friendly.. Ideal but costly place..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelwithfamily79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    466
    460
    189
    166
See reviews for
241
383
168
647
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
217 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel has an opulent lobby. Stayed here on a tour, in three different rooms over a two week period. Lots of outrageous charges for extras, including $5 USD for 1/2 hour of wife, $10 for a small bottle of Kingfisher or $5 for a soda in the buffet/coffee shop restaurant. Buffet food was always lukewarm or cold unless you got there right when it opened. Restaurant service if you order off menu is painfully slow and upholstered chairs are filthy.

Normal rooms are small but club level room on 9th floor (where the business center is located ) are adequate. Club room has upgraded amenities like more toiletries, a robe and power charging strip. Luggage was handled promptly. It has a small pool but it was raining and cold, so we didn't use it.

On arrival, our luggage was lost and there were no shops on site to buy even the basics like toothpaste.

Since we were on a tour all of our hotels in India were supposed to be of a similar standard and this was by far the worst. We had an extra night after the end of the tour in Delhi and changed hotels. For a less than half the price, we got one (Bloomrooms) where we were very happy.

Room Tip: If you can pay a bit more, upgrade to club level. Others on our tour reported that rooms near eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Madrid, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the Royal Plaza in New Delhi. The lobby is beautiful and full of romance Overall the service was very good,Its more like a businesslike property. It is well situated in a safe area & the service is always exceptional. The include breakfast had a wide variety.Complimentary Sauna was great in Spa

Room Tip: Amazing Service .Hotel is worth for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raso D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

we got this hotel after bad experience in New Delhi at Connaught area ( Bright - hotel )
Price was only 20 euros more than the Connaught- one
And we got a nice hotel
Lobby is fantastic with paintings ans statues
Service is OK all people are polite and giving the best of them and smiling
BR is good and fine selections of food
Hotel has a gym-room , which I was using every morning before Br.
The safety is very good, people are checked when they come inside hotel
We used the hotel transportation to airport - and got a new Toyota-Innova car + private driver
Rooms are not so big ones, but OK
If you take this hotel, you are not doing wrong
We liked to have this hotel and we have had been in 100s of hotels

Room Tip: rooms in the top floors are all OK
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EERO42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Royal Plaza New Delhi and I thank you for your recent stay with us and your comments on Trip Advisor.
I am happy to learn that we were able to live up to your expectation, rather exceed it. Your comments and ratings really mean a lot to us and this is how we in hospitality service keep our spirits high and continuously strive to provide seamless and intuitive service.
I sincerely look forward to welcome you in near future and ensure that same level of service will be provided to you.
Should you require any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Thanks and Regards
Munassir warisi Khan
Manager Online
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral, england
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed twice during a recent tour. On arrival the lobby is magnificent, the staff friendly, and had an easy and quick check in. Our first room was very small, but clean, quiet and good aircon. The bar prices were steep, but then 45% tax was added to make the prices astronomical, with bottled beer costing more then many top UK hotels (premium lager around £9) The breakfasts were acceptable, but nothing to rave about. We used the restaurant in the evening and again found the prices exorbitant, but after hours of touring, we didnt have the energy to venture out. On our return journey, the room was again small, but this time more dated, with terrible aircon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doddypoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
I thank you for your comment of Trip Advisor. Post reading your feedback I do understand that there are various areas and opportunities to improve in terms of service and product. Be rest assured that we value voice of customer and this is how we stop and look back on our deployed process wherein we make necessary changes. We want all out patrons to be our ambassadors. Request you to take this experience in isolation. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly should you require any assistance in future booking with us. I look forward to welcome you soon.

Thanks and Regards
Munassir Warisi Khan
Manager online
email : onlineresv@hoteltheroyalplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

I happened to book this hotel for my transit stay in New delhi en route to/from Sri Lanka. Stayed two nights on the way to SL and two nights on the way out. I will never ever book or stay in this hotel and I will not recommend anyone to stay there!!! Never!!!

I booked it via www.dhr.com - a website I usually make booking for hotels when I travel. Stayed with a friend in Jan 2011. Although referred to as 5*, the Ramada Plaza was very dirty, rooms and bathrooms alike. The bed linen and towels were far from being just white, let alone the holes and grey spots on both. Someone else's hair was in the sink and the bath tub. The breakfast was very bad, too with smelly and spoiled fresh (???) juices.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayadil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights last week. Very grand lobby with a number of Rolls Royce's outside. Rooms however are very small and old fashioned. Bathroom very dated and needs a refurb. Pool looked very nice but we did not use. All in all not bad if you just need a place to stay, we didnt spent too much time in the hotel. Nice breakfast but staff in restaurant quite rude. Reception staff very friendly.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Darsh186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Royal Plaza New delhi !!
At the onset let me thank you for giving us your feedback on your recent stay with us.
I am happy to learn that we were able to live up to your expectation. I understand that you were not fully satisfied with the service at the restaurant and same has been duly discussed with the entire service team . I apologize on behalf of the team . Your ratings really mean a lot to us and this is how we in hospitality service keep our spirits high and continuously strive to provide seamless and intuitive service. I apologize on behalf of the team on not meeting the room type guarantee. We value your patronage to Royal Plaza
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I shall personally ensure that you carry back fond memories.

Thanks and Regards
Munassir Warisi Khan
Manager online
email : onlineresv@hoteltheroyalplaza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#53 of 703 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,412 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#92 of 703 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#45 of 703 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,892 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#12 of 703 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Property: Hotel The Royal Plaza
Address: 19 Ashoka Road, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 703 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing