We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ostentation, but I think that's the point” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The Royal Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Ranked #72 of 704 Hotels in New Delhi
Topanga, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Ostentation, but I think that's the point”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We chose The Royal Plaza because it was our first few days in India and we wanted an easy and comfortable adjustment period with minimal immediate culture shock. For this the Royal Plaza is fine.

The rooms were comfortable and clean, although tiny. The wifi was expensive and not very fast. There were few places that you could walk to except for other very large expensive western style hotels. The breakfast buffet wasn't great. Paying twice what you would in the United States for a soda turned me off. I understand that there is a huge gap in price between western hotels and Indian hotels, but I didn't think it was worth it.

If you are there for business and your company is paying the 50 rupee per page they charge to print something out, the 12USD per day to use the marginal internet and covering your minibar it's perfect. If you are a tourist or with your family and want to get comfort there are better choices.

Room Tip: The upper floors have some nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schweee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    470
    463
    190
    168
See reviews for
245
386
170
654
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

recently stayed in royal plaza during the christmas: one must say a beautiful property. Lobby gives a look of roman empire. Staff was polite. Buffet breakfast was widespread. Pool is beautiful in the evening.would certainly come back soon

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urs455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
383 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Gaarish lounge and rooms are neither furnished old fashioned or contemperory. Location is good near Paalika bazzar and Connnaught place. Resturant and the food quality is horrible and we could almost smell the kicthen and fumes from the resturant. Food nothing to talk about and prices are unrelated to the quality. Room service ok.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yesarar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

First impressions of the hotel were great, lobby, restaurant and suite rooms were well appointed... but sheets we not clean.

Our party booked 2 suites and were there over the Xmas break, 2 members of our party fell ill after the Xmas buffet which is disappointed to say the least.

What is it with service in India? They were a cut above the standard hotel but again it's a clumsy service level verging on the frustrating at the best of times.

Also what is it with charging for wifi when the rack rate is very high to start with?!? Lift your ga

Overall not a terrible hotel but could benifit from customer service training to allow the staff to work more efficiently as a team.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavski78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

chennai
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

.And the Royal Plaza hotel has lived up to this attitude through the
excellent bunch of employees working there! We had an outstandingly
good service both, before and during our stay!! A totally remarkable
experience and hats off to the friendly,enthusiastic and co-operative
service delivered by the hotel management staff!! The room of course
was very clean and neat as well the hotel appearance!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sameerbehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Cristianos, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

A beautifully esthetic creation of people who know what quality of living is all about, we had a wonderful experience with the staff, rooms and great indian and chinese food. The master chef created menus to suit our tastes with the indian flavor, compliments to the wonderful team. we will patronize this centrally located and vibrant hotel, which makes us

Room Tip: City view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Khan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

First impressions- the lobby. Wow. On a par with the Taj Mahal....ok not quite. But it is still spectacular, with over the top oppulant decor. They have spent a fortune on the lobby, which lures you into believing the rest of the hotel is just as good. It's not. The rooms aren't anything special. It seems all their money is spent on the ground floor and every other floor is ignored.

Every single day out key lard would stop working, so we would have to go all the way back to the lobby to get it sorted...every day. The wifi was ridiculously expensive. At the price paid for a room, it should've been complimentary.

Also the food here gave me food poisoning and really bad diahreoa for 2 weeks after my stay here.

Not worth the price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshyoowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munassir, Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly I appreciate you choosing to stay at The Royal Plaza and taking time to share an honest review.
I apologize for issues you faced during your stay at the hotel. We have made a note of the same and necessary training has been imparted to team members to ensure that we exceed your levels of expectation.As far as food poisoning is concerned I would like to bring to your knowledge that food testing is done on regular basis to ensure that the food is prepared and served under best hygienic conditions .
We do take a lot of effort and pride in training our associates to be professional and I do hope you treat this matter as an aberration and allow us another opportunity to be of service and enjoy the true Royal hospitality that we are committed to offer to all our guests.

Thanks and Regards
Munassir warisi Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#52 of 704 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#99 of 704 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#46 of 704 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,917 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#14 of 704 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Property: Hotel The Royal Plaza
Address: 19 Ashoka Road, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 704 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing