We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too much noise from disco and events!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Ranked #78 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Ok Hotel with lovely lobby and breakfast restaurant.
Desk Staff mediocre attitude. Not really friendly. Promised a lot in rectifying issues with rooms and noise but failed miserably.
Located well. Would not stay at this hotel again. We were a group of 11 people. Manged to stay but cant say it was pleasant.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room well away from anywhere near the night club or you will not sleep! This me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,062 - 2,068 of 2,469 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2011

The hotel has a good location in New Delhi. If one doesn't mind being constantly bothered by ricksaw drivers, Connaught Place is within walking distance.

Rooms are very small and cannot be recommended for a longer stay. Bathroom okay but never enough toilet paper and not getting more despite asking. Every day we had to go to the lobby toilet to get toilet paper.

Breakfast was good.

Reception staff mixed us with other customers. This ended up in confusion with the room bill. Luckily the other customers were honest and paid the services they had used despite that they were put on our bill.

The real problem is the dishonesty of the staff.

My expensive LED Lenser flashlight was stolen during the day when we had a very long day trip. I had kept it on the bed side table never guessing that hotel staff steals expensve flashlights. We returned at midnight and left early following morning. I immediately noticed that the flashlight was missing and kept looking for it in case the cleaning staff had removed it. No, it had dissappeared.

Early in the morning when we were leaving, a staff member came in for the minibar. Seeing two bills of money on the table he asked about it and was told it is was for cleaning staff, not for him. Despite this he took the money. He probably goes around all the rooms when customers are leaving and takes the money left for cleaning stafff and they get nothing.

After the trip I contacted the hotel and reported the incidents expecting a mail of apology. I never heard back from them. Not only is the staff dishonest, it also lacks any courtesy towards customers.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2011

We had a really bad experience at this hotel. The staff is rude and really don't care about the guest. No matter what we asked for we were always refused! From the minute we checked in the receptionist set the ball rolling for what turned out to be our worst holiday ever! Our 'Deluxe' room was so small I felt like Harry Potter, living in a cupboard under the stairs! Tiny, tiny rooms, which are nothing more than pigeon holes. We were shown the 'Club Room', which was a joke, because it was right below our given room and space wise had not an inch more!!
Our travel agent belatedly told us that this hotel has only two room sizes - small which we had booked and then the suite!! Their def of Standard, Deluxe, Club is like trying to call a Granny Smith Apple - Nana Smith, Grandma Smith and Granny Smith- All the same product...
This is not a 4*! We had just returned form a stay with the Taj In Agra and the difference in Service and Etiquette was very apparent. No one greeted us - ever! This inspite us having a small baby w us. I had to open the entrance door, baby and bags in tow, not once but always!
It was a cold stay, room was horribly small. I had to call for a baby cot as our bed was tiny, in keeping w the room. Even then, they hummed and hawed about,'we might have to charge you', although the folder in the room said, 'baby cot complimentary'.
Uff, never ever will I stay here, nor do i recommend this hotel to anyone travelling w a baby. How sad that our entire trip was ruined because of this pigeon hole... don't underestimate well trained staff and room size- It matters. To us it made all the difference.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KiaraMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

The hotel is ideally located in the heart of New Delhi. Patel Chowk metro station is at walking distance. And metro is a good medium to roam around Delhi.

Rooms have sufficient space, and are clean. However, bed length may be short for a person just taller than average.

Bathroom is fine. I would have liked them to provide shaving kit, though.

Food is tasty, and they offer quite a large variety. Again, table seems smaller. Not a big problem though.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parag S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

The Royal Plaza is new and pretty nice, clean and spacious. They have nice swimming pool and descent breakfast. Location may be inconvenient - hotel is located in residential area of New Delhi with nothing to do/wander around. Wi-fi is a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaja C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Stayed two nights here in Nov/Dec 2011, arranged for us by our travel agent because it is located quite close to the train station. Upon entering the hotel you are greeted by a massive, fake-classical and extremely ornate lobby, replete with crystal chandeliers, gold trim, statues, marble floors, mirrors and uniformed footmen! Disappointingly, our so-called "double superior" room was extremely small and the carpet was downright filthy. Service was OK and food in the 24/7 restaurant good. Bed linens were crisp and white; no problem there.
Record-keeping is poor at this hotel. Our personal details (home address, phone number etc) were all mixed up with those of our travelling companions, resulting in each couple getting the other's bill. We were billed for "breakfast" when breakfast was actually included in our room rate. It turned out to have been a charge for coffee on the terrace, but was billed as "breakfast". Go figure. I used Wifi internet three times during our stay but was billed for 5 times - an overcharge of 900 rupees - roughly $20 Canadian. The clerk checked into it, called it "a mistake" and simply printed out a new, amended bill.

Room Tip: If you rent a "double superior" room, ask for one of the larger ones. Some of them are abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KittyVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Amazing staff especially Om braish and receptionist Ashwinder Kaur.its a 4* Hotel but looks like a 5* with all facilities.Relaxing swimming pool and best service.

Room Tip: Take suits if u want larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibrahim757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#62 of 715 in New Delhi
3,014 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#109 of 715 in New Delhi
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#18 of 715 in New Delhi
2,877 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#42 of 715 in New Delhi
3,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Address: 19, Ashok Road | Connaught Place, New Delhi 110001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: $96 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing