We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The Royal Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Ranked #72 of 705 Hotels in New Delhi
Hyderabad, India
1 review
“nice experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

i traveled to delhi to attend a seminar and stayed in the hotel royal plaza in delhi. the services of the hotel is good .The staff of the hotel is pleasing and cooperating. the food is nice. the hotel has a nice and comfortable bed.

Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank shridhar k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    526
    504
    222
    207
See reviews for
325
455
187
721
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

I travelled with my family to delhi and stayed in the hotel royal plaza.The hotel is at a very good location in delhi.The rooms are good.hotel has mentained the hygienic norms. The food at the hotel fresh and nice in taste.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rk111703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

I've now stayed in this hotel three times (January, May and September 2011). On the positive side, it's efficient and clean, the rooms are large, and the price is right. Furthermore, the location on Ashoka Road is very convenient. Connaught Place is a walking distance away. On the negative side, the two restaurants (Indian and Chinese) are at best mediocre. And the decor with its faux Roman antique statues and colouful European 'style' paintings is tacky to the extreme.

Room Tip: Ask for one of their many suites, some of which are not that huge or expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuhaUitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

I recently attended a reception at the royal plaza hotel. It’s a beautiful hotel. The staff is friendly. The food is delicious and the service is quick.The hotel is good in cleanliness.I would to go there again.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sonali_8210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

I stayed here for 6 nights and had a fabulous stay. The staff was great, they never had me waiting and were very helpful. The two restaurants were absolutely delicious, I would recommend having the chicken club sandwich or a pasta. The pool area is very relaxing, enjoyed quite a few king fishers out there. Finally the spa was great, had awesome massages and the haircut was probably one of the better haircuts I've ever had. Like I said 5 stars.

Elliott T

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elliott t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

We have just been to this hotel and i must say this was a horrible experience for us. We had booked for deluxe room and on our arrival the same room was not ready the reception staff confirmed the same in front of us and with no choice left we got so called "upgraded" to club room. We did expect better in this case but as soon as we reached the room we were shocked looking at the size of the so called "upgraded club room" we had never stayed in such small club rooms ever, we couldnt believe it was an upgrade and was a club room. on the same issue we spoke to reception again asking them for a better room, but we were told the room sizes are same on every floor, asking them abt difference between deluxe and club rooms we were told rooms are same just we offer better services (15 mins massage, free internet and breakfast included - these were the services as upgrade). About food, nonveg was good but veg food was horrible even its very expensive with limited options. View from the room was good, room amenities seemed very old and not up to the mark, television set was smaller and it was really boring to even watch since we hardly had good channels as most of the channels were blank and non-operative, about location its very good, central location so convenient to go anywhere. About travel arrangement its again very very disappointing, we stayed there for 3 days and we went out most of the time as we chose to do so because of smaller rooms but whenever we asked them for a hotel car it was not available, reason : we cant provide you car before 11 in the morning as we have kept cars for passengers airport drops and pickups which was surprising for us to get such kind of response. Eventually we asked them to arrange local cabs and traveled in local cabs throughout except one day when we had a late night function and we wanted a hotel car at 8 in the evening but again we got the same reply we dont have cars we have kept for airport drops and pickups, finally we lost our cool which resulted in getting a hotel car but similarly their charges for travel are higher, otherwise driver and car was proper and very informative about the city, no complains about car and driver. At the time clearing our bills initially they had charged us for internet we used after rectifying their error they removed charges. Similarly their internet charges are also higher and connectivity is poor. Services are slower and stay was disturbing due to frequent interruption. Staff assistance was ok. In all i would not recommend this hotel as it was really disappointing for us from room sizes to traveling to food so we wont recommend this hotel for a stay and certainly we wont stay here again. They need to improve on lot of things, definitely not a 5 star hotel. Big disappointment for us. Not worth for what you are paying.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scorp19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain L, General Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Comments from management:
The Club rooms have additional amenities, the benefit of the Club Lounge (with free breakfast, all day long Coffee/Tea, cakes facilities, and free happy hours every evening) and personalized check in / check out on the floor.
Like many hotels we have some hotel cars at the disposal of our guests (normal or limousine BMW) at chargeable basis but guest need also to make proper prior bookings to make sure a vehicle is available as our car movement is always high. It is the reason we have also a fleet of taxis in our car park to serve any guest requests.
Internet is free for the Club rooms and was not charged to you. Otherwise our internet prices are in line with our hotel competitors. Nevertheless we are studying to provide free internet access to our resident guests in the public area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

This hotel was very nice from the outside, i expected exceptional service. Staff were rude. For a hotel that charges as much as it does you would expect staff to be able to understand English, not all the staff did. The rooms were tiny. Restaurants ok - though the coffee was appalling. Too many staff standing around doing very little. 5 star hotel with a 2 star service.

Room Tip: Maybe try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shopna450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alain L, General Manager at Hotel The Royal Plaza, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
We value any guest comments.
Our hotel has more than 600 staff and English is becoming the basic language in India, and I would say than Indians can speak and write better English than many others. We have our deluxe rooms a little small but again with all amenities than a guest is expected to find from a Deluxe Boutique Hotel. We are “Value for money” in regard of our location and our competitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.5 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#60 of 705 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,664 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Metropolitan Hotel & Spa New Delhi
0.9 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 705 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Hans New Delhi
The Hans New Delhi
#100 of 705 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#16 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Marina Connaught Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Royal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Royal Plaza

Property: Hotel The Royal Plaza
Address: 19 Ashoka Road, New Delhi 110001, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 705 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel The Royal Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Royal Plaza is one of the best luxury boutique hotels in delhi. Superbly located in the heart of city downtown- Connaught Place. The Hotel is minutes away from International Trade Fair Grounds, President House , India Gate, Parliament House. The Hotel is very close to New Delhi Railway Station.Its prime location in the heart of city has made it a commercial and shopping hub for both domestic and international travellers.With three restaurants , bar and night club The Royal Plaza provides excellent dining to suit any palate , in an elegant and inviting ambience.Royal Plaza also has an extensive Health Club and Spa -offering wellness menu with signature treatments and therapies to choose from and a temperature controlled & a eco friendly swimming pool ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel The Royal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing