We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive, but know what you're getting into”
Review of Ginger New Delhi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ginger New Delhi
Ranked #76 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Inexpensive, but know what you're getting into”
Reviewed April 18, 2009

My friends and I booked a room at Ginger to save some money. It came highly recommended by my friend's coworkers in Bombay. However, we ended up not staying there. On the drive there, our driver muttered in Hindi that 'cheaters go there'. Then, as we waited to check in, the fellow customers, all men, started casually inching closer to my friends and me. We were a group of 3 20-something women, and two of us are white. While we may very well have been perfectly fine, it would have been nice to know about the area and clientele before we booked the room.

Later in the week, my friend reconnected with a friend from Delhi who told us it's located in the Red Light district. That reaffirmed our choice to return to Claridges.

Couples, men, families - I'm sure it's a great deal. Women traveling without male companions... it might be prudent to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank MeganEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    431
    252
    62
    47
See reviews for
349
187
183
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Good place for a 2-3 days leisure time. The room service was quick and the food was satisfactory. The rooms were neat & clean.
I would recommend to the viewers to stay at this place.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank moklavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

Loved my stay here.

Hotel is clean & proper. Has a good restaurant as well.

Rooms are self sufficient, though small if you are looking at spending more than 3 days here.

Staff is extremely helpful.

Located right in the Delhi Railway Station premise, so good for Train travellers. At the same time, it's away from the hustle-bustle of the train travellers at the station.

However, the entrance is a little dificult to locate the 1st time around. Entrance way is crowded as well, if coming via car.

Also, if you are a very light sleeper, then the Honking of the night train can disturb you. But less likely. I slept like a LOG !!

General store cum Medical store in Hotel complex is fully equipped, and is priced at MRP.

Overall good experience for a one-2 nite stay for work.

  • Liked — Quality BAsics at [----] Good Price
  • Disliked — The Entrance Way
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank savantafox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

Ginger was just what we needed for the final 3 nights of our 3 1/2 week stay in India.
It was basically an Indian travelodge, so don't bother staying if you want an authentic heritage experience, but the room was immaculate (by western standards rather than Indian) and complete with a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities, TV, comfy bed, AC, etc.

The location just outside New Delhi station was perfect for arriving/departing via the station, within walking distance of Paharganj and Connaught place, and a short metro ride to Old Delhi's main attractions (Red Fort, mosque, etc.)

The 24 hour restaurant came in handy for our day trip to Agra and early morning flight back to London - staff at reception were also happy to ring for a metered cab to the airport when the travel desk in the foyer tried to charge us 1200Rs to get to the airport!

At 990Rs a night, this was slightly expensive than other hotels we stayed in in India but worth every penny.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine_simpson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2009

It's an Indian TravelLodge. So excellent value for money, good clean room with a/c and good clean bathroom but basic decor and a bit echoey in the corridors. The restaurant / snack bar is good (try the plain dosa). It is a short trundle across the car park and through a little gateway from New Delhi railway station. You can't leave your luggage before / after check-in but there's a rather forbidding left luggage place in the station. The hotel has a perimeter fence and a security guard. Immediately outside, you're in a horrendous noisy tide of hand carts, jeeps, motorbikes etc - or you can hit lucky and find it pretty quiet. Getting in is OK if the taxi knows the circuitous route to the entrance. Otherwise, they'll drop you right by the building and it is quite a challenge to find the way in. Expensive internet.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobHUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2009

Very nice clean hotel with good room facilities, good location just at Ajmeri gate 100m from NDRS and metro, nice stuff - willing to fully refund one mine canceled night, but also sometimes act too bureaucratically.
Hotel restaurant is a different story. It works like fast food and they had no croissants and breakfast like food at the morning even if listed in the menu. Same with fruit salad.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
387 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 527 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2009

We stayed for two nights early March and then again a week later. Both times the rooms were immaculate, we stayed in a double room costing just 999 rupees per night, the rooms are equipped with Satellite TV, kettle, tea and coffee, fridge, celan bathroom with shower curtain, these are a rarity in India! We had a problem with our toliet on the second visit but maintenance were at the door almost as soon as we had put the phone down from calling reception, and the problem was rectified.
The hotel is a couple of minutes walk from New Delhi station which makes it perfect for early morning train journeys. We too had a problem with a taxi driver not knowing where the hotel was, but we also had a tuk-tuk driver who didn't know where Connaught Place was?!?!? The staff in the hotel are really helpful and work really hard to keep everyone happy, they even called Domino's pizza for us as we were having trouble with their pay phone.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samiloupepperell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Ginger East Delhi
#149 of 716 in New Delhi
142 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#51 of 716 in New Delhi
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wood Castle
#14 of 716 in New Delhi
1,115 reviews
bloomrooms @ Link Rd
#29 of 716 in New Delhi
972 reviews
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
#36 of 716 in New Delhi
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ginger New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ginger New Delhi

Property: Ginger New Delhi
Address: IRCTC-Rail Yatri Niwas,New Delhi Railway Station, | New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110002, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Hotel Class:3 star — Ginger New Delhi 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ginger New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ginger New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Ginger Hotel New Delhi
New Delhi Ginger Hotel
Hotel Ginger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing