We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising Svelte”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites
Ranked #254 of 708 Hotels in New Delhi
Kanpur
1 review
“Surprising Svelte”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

The Hotel was spotlessly clean. The suites were very well appointed & very spacious. Staff were prompt & courteous. Parking was also convenient & access to hotel was easy. The attached Select City Mall to the hotel was an added plus, allowing diversity of restauraunts & shopping.

Rooms were better than other 5 star hotels in Delhi. The hotel is pretty far away from the Connaught Place area, but if you have your own car, it should not be an issue to drive 30 minutes.

Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Meastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    114
    48
    39
    33
See reviews for
95
68
23
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2009

The approach to it isn't great and from the outside the hotel looks ordinary. Checkin/reception area isn't much to speak of but once you enter the room, it's a different story. Very impressed with the stay. In fact, i stayed in a suite since they didnt have enough single rooms and it was a 2 room, living room+kitchen area and very nicely designed. Spacious, modern, clean, enough privacy, comfortable beds, good bathrooms and accessories, room service was great, food was also fresh and hot when it was served, good business services, flat screen tv, remote controlled lighting and airconditioning, closet space was good, dining area was good and even had a decent breakfast buffet. It had a full fledged kitchen with utensils, microwave, refrigerator and pretty much a full-service apt. Definitely recommend it if ur on business or even personal trip.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — approach to hotel
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wannabrb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2009

Large rooms with everything you could want. Staff very helpful with arranging car and tours etc. Reception spent 1 hour on phone sorting out my fouled up tour accommodation. Ajoining Shopping Mall is big bonus as there are restaurants, cafes as well as shops, also plaza area where you can walk without being accosted. Mr Uniyal the Assistant Manager Front Office could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaldyMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2009

This is a modern hotel . Access is a little difficult at the moment , as there is building work going on all around. It is adjacent to a new shopping complex 'Citywalks', which has shops like Mothercare, Zara, Adidas, United Colours of Benetton etc. KFC and Pizza Hut are across the road! This is the face of the new affluent India.

The room was very spacious, with a lounge, fully equipped kitchenette and a modern and attractive bathroom. It had a flat screen television in both the lounge and the bedroom areas!

The swimming pool on the roof was fine, with comfortable seats and loungers

The breakfast was good. The dining room was sad however, at level minus one, with no windows.

There is an internet connection - 300 rupees for 30 minutes.

The service was good.

The location was fine for the airport but not for sightseeing. The centre of Delhi is well over an hour away in the car.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrusselsJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2009

When we got into our room we were amazed at how big it was, you walk first into a lounge area and then there's an adjoining corridor into where the bed area is. Bathroom is nice, there are two widescreen TVs in both the lounge and bedroom areas, as well as a little kitchen area with microwave, hobs, pots and pans and cutlery! In the room there was also a torch provided, dressing gowns and slippers as well as other amenities you'd expect to find in a hotel like this. The hotel service was very good, all the staff spoke very good English and very friendly and polite and remembered us when we came back to stay at the end of our holiday, although in this kind of posh hotel in India they'll try and do everything for you and then expect a tip of about 100 rupees for it, eg. holding your shopping bags for you and taking them to the room, and serving your food onto your plate at your table in the restaurant.

The worst thing about the hotel though is probably its location in South Delhi. It's next to a shopping mall which is good if you want food such as KFC or Pizza Hut, but apart from the music shops the prices are the same as in the UK. Also, in the Delhi rush hour traffic it takes about TWO HOURS to reach places in central Delhi like India Gate or Connaught Place by car, there's no Metro connection here as far as I know. So the location wasn't great. Also DO NOT use their taxi for an airport transfer, it costs 27 QUID as opposed to probably 500 rupees for a prepaid taxi!

So overall this hotel has big rooms which are going to be good for entertaining business guests because of the separate lounge area when entering the room, the staff's English is very good, but the price is high and location within Delhi itself is not great,

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbs1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2009

Just right for a one night stay - calm, clean and quietly efficient. I returned a month later on a business trip - as a single woman it was a good choice. A relief to move about without hassle in the Mall. Dinner in the Spaghetti Kitchen in the Mall was A1.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug57UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2009

Stayed for two nights on a business trip in a two bedroom suite with a colleague, great rooms. Very clean and well maintained. Room package included breakfast and hotel transfers to and from aiport. Location next to a very big and very western style mall is good although the entrance to the hotel is somewhat a bit of a suprise with the road to access it still being built and entry is from the back of the mall.

Very good service from staff overall. Was somewhat miffed that internet while payable in the room was on a per computer basis and not a per room basis! We had two laptops.

When we asked about taxis out of the hotel as the hotel entrance had no taxi stand, they of course suggested that we use their services, which were 4 x that of a metered taxi. We took it for one morning as we were running late for a meeting, and then were able to get the green, yellow and black metered taxis back each night and also asked the same taxi come get us the next morning. Assume you could probably get a metered taxi from the taxi stands at the shopping mall?

We also returned after a day trip to Agra and booked a single room for 1/2 day use. Hotel allowed us to use our return airport transfer fromour earlier stay in the week during this stay, which was good. Although when we did check back in asked about the transfer they said yes, it was available on a chargeable basis. We had to tell them that we had already confirmed on checking out previously that it wouldn't be chargeable. They had to check and got back to us to say we were right.

One other thing that was a bit of a dampener was that as we checked out on this second stay they had someone check the mini bar while we were checking out and said that we had taken a soda out of the mini bar when we hadn't. There were a few phone calls going back and forth, and am sure they told the person checking the room to check the bins in the room to see if there was any signs of the empty soda can/bottle. They didn't charge us for it - but requested that I write on the bill that I was not taking anything from the mini bar out of the hotel. Wasn't very impressed with that at all.

Apart from that mishap at the end, I would still come back and stay again as it is definitely good value for money compared to other 4 & 5 star hotels in New Delhi which are exhorbitantly over-priced.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vannah76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Fraser Suites New Delhi
#155 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton New Delhi
#17 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Mahipal Pur
The Grand New Delhi
The Grand New Delhi
#67 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
The Visaya
#116 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites

Property: Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites
Address: A-3, District Centre, Select Citywalk | Saket, New Delhi 110002, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svelte Hotel And Personal New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing