We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay for a one night stop over in Delhi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites
Ranked #286 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great place to stay for a one night stop over in Delhi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

This hotel is a great place to stay for a one night stop over in Delhi. We arrived late at night and the very kind concierge took us into the attached closed shopping mall and pushed past the security guard so that I could use the ATM. The suite itself was large and in great condition, with a very comfy bed. The swimming pool on the roof is excellent though a little on the small side. The attached mall is good, if expensive though you can view the local upmarket delhites. This hotel was perfect for us as it was near to the airport, though I doubt it would be good for an extended sight seeing tour of the city. We shall return if we need a crash pad for one night again in Delhi.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derbyshirenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    112
    47
    39
    33
See reviews for
95
67
22
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and there were some plusses and minuses. Firstly, the room was not super clean when we arrived.

There were 2 dirty dishes that had not been washed properly and there was hair on the floor in the bathroom.

Additinally, you spend $400 USD a night and you have to pay for the Internet! And on a per computer basis, not just by room. What age are these people living in?

On the plus side, the service was good, the location next to Select CityWalk mall is great and then people were friendly.

But for that much money, you might be better off at another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akishore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

South Delhi is very upmarket and Svelte Suites are part of a huge complex of fancy shops, cinemas and other hotels. What an oasis in the chaos of Delhi.

The suites have everything to cook your own meals, except a chef..., the best bed and pillows I slept on in all of India. I was so comfortable here, I thought ... yes I could live in Delhi if I lived here. In fact Svelte is probably one of the most comfortable places I have ever stayed. The suites are spacious and top quality fit out, but as in most of India, the climate plays havoc and mold creeps in here and there. not a big deal though

The front desk staff were wonderful, overly bureaucratic as is the Indian way, but friendly and helpful. The breakfast room had a good variety on offer, especially considering how few people are accommodated in the hotel. The dinners we had there were also very good, not imaginative, but well prepared.

Room Tip: I think the higher the floor level, the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rubybellissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

We enjoyed our time at the Svelte. The entrance road is not brilliant - but that is not the fault of the hotel. Once in though it is peaceful, well appointed and very comfortable.

The room we had (610) was one of their 'basic' rooms but still had large lounge area and kitchen which we never used. Bathroom was spacious, spotless and well appointed. Bed was extremely comfortable - in fact one of the best hotel beds ever and certainly a bonus given the normally hard Indian mattresses elsewhere.

Staff were all courteous. Breakfast was good, with a nice mix of western and Indian dishes.

I did not like the shopping centre attached - it was very very expensive and catered only for a tiny part of Indians.

It was easy to get to the Metro - Autorickshaw should cost no more than 30 Rupees and never had a problem getting one back to the hotel. You need to ask the right desk in the Metro for a tourist day ticket - they may try and sell you a more expensive option.

If driving or being driven in to the centre of town allow at least an hour during working week - but a bit better for weekends. Great for transport to the airport - less than 30 minutes in the morning to get in to the terminal.

We visited the roof pool. it was not great, and appeared to be home for the local pidgeons.

I enjoyed the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

I really enjoyed having all the space of the suite. The rooms and the bathroom were sufficiently large. There was plenty of kitchen space if you needed it, and I was surprised to see a full-size refrigerator. Being adjacent to a large mall was a plus, since there were plenty of eating places, and shops if you needed any last minutes items.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiaOra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

Stay in this hotel was superb, it has convinience of shopping, cos it is in the center of 3 shopping malls.It also has various restaurants & theaters nearby & the courtesy of all staff over here was too good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajesh1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2011

I am a frequent traveler to Delhi and thought I'd try the Suites instead of one of the more traditional Delhi hotels. That was a mistake.

The entrance to the Suites is revealing. The road to the front door still has not been paved and trash was strewn everywhere. Less than "impressive" from the start.

The room was fine--they're new, after all, but the finishes are tacky--the "leather" couch and chair in the sitting area are like something from a really bad department store and feel like cheap vinyl.

The Suites are adjacent to a big mall, so if that's your pleasure, then you'll be happy. But it was noisy, crowded and not really conducive to relaxation after a long day of meetings and moving around Delhi.

The Suites cost INR 9,000. But 24 hours of wi-fi are another INR 800. For a little more than that, you can stay at the Shangri-La or another high-end hotel that has much better amenities and even rooms for that matter. This was my first and last stay at the Suites.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Fraser Suites New Delhi
#137 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton New Delhi
#16 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
The Visaya
#119 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Mahipal Pur
The Grand New Delhi
The Grand New Delhi
#67 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites

Property: Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites
Address: A-3, District Centre, Select Citywalk | Saket, New Delhi 110002, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Svelte Hotel And Personal New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing