We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home Close to Our Hearts”
Review of Megha Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Megha Homestay
Ranked #90 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Megha home stay made a fantastic start for our 23 days trip throughout India.

We were a group of 14 young travelers, traveling in India during March-Apr 2012. Prior to our trip, we started looking for Home Stays in Delhi where we could enjoy a sense of Indian home and feel at home. Of all the Home Stays we found in Delhi, Megha was the only who facilitated our stay with our limited budget and offered us the luxury of a nice stay with a very reasonable price. Upon our arrival in Delhi, we were impressed by Aman’s generous attitude and hospitality in fulfilling our each and every query, from getting SIM Cards for us, sending his drivers to transfer our payments for other hotels in other cities, exchanging money and providing assistance in organizing our 20-day trip to North India and Rajasthan.

Megha homestay is a family in one of the best localities of New Delhi, close to sight seeing areas such as Humayun Tomb and Nizamuddin Dargah and just few minutes distance from Lajpath Nagar where you may end up shopping great deal of stuffs. If you wish to hire cabs Aman has the best drivers to offer you and if you wish to commute via Metro, you may simply walk for 10 min to reach the closest underground station. It is not just a guest house or hotel, but an Indian home in a beautiful, serene and green locality. If you want to experience the real Indian warmth and compassion, this is where to go.

Thanks is a small word to express our appreciation for the genuine hospitality of Aman, his lovely Family, and the employees there. I would never hesitate to say, wasn’t it for Aman’s thoughtfulness and caring recommendations, our trip wouldn’t have been the same.

Thank you Aman, Sonia, Megha, Sandeep, Ram Singh and Vikram and the other nice people in Megha Home Stay who made our stay more than memorable! Though Delhi has great variety of accommodation to stay, Megha Home Stay shall remain our first choice if we ever get the chance of revisiting Delhi and we would certainly recommend it to all our friends.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
4  Thank Azadeh926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Megha Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 219 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2012

The hotel was fantastic! The only downside was that it wasn’t walking distance from anything so we had to take cabs all the time. That wasn’t too bad, but it’s in a residential area so when we were returning the drivers often had trouble finding it. But the location also meant it was quiet, and it certainly felt more secure. Everything else about the hostel was superb and the rooms were far nicer than I’d expected. Everything was clean and well maintained. Breakfast is tasty but takes a while to prepare so order early or eat elsewhere.

Best of all were the owners. They were remarkably helpful with hiring cars and giving us directions and recommendations. They really care about your stay and will bend over backwards to help. Later in our trip we arrived in Goa at 1:00 in the morning to find the hotel we had booked had given away our rooms. After a night of going through hell we called Aman to see if he knew any hotels in Goa that wouldn’t scam us. He went even further and made some calls and ended up getting us a 50% discount at a nicer hotel (which worked out to be cheaper than the one we’d originally booked)! It can be hard to tell who’s being genuine, especially in a foreign country, but these people really do want you to enjoy your time in India.

If you don’t mind being a bit out of the way I highly recommend Megha Home Stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fuzzycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

My husband and I are in our mid 60s. It was our first trip to India and having back packed all over the place we thought this trip would be similar. We chose Megha Homestay from the good reviews on TA. On our arrival at Delhi we were picked up straight away and driven to the homestay.

We thought a homestay would be staying with a family. After what felt like a long drive we arrived in a gated area which was nothing like we expected and was just down market housing. A gentleman came out and told the driver to take us around the corner as we were to stay in another of his houses. We were then taken to our room which had a huge bed, was freezing cold (it was january) no blankets on the bed, no water left for us and nothing to eat and no windows. We were tired after a night flight we were cold, hungry and thirsty. We were told to wait. We waited and no one came. We were in a kind of apartement block with different rooms certainly not a home. We found someone who didn't speak English and they gave us the owners telephone number. After talking to him he said he would be with us in an hour!

We were a little frightened being in an Indian area with no one around cold and thristy, after three hours we decided to leave as no one had come, but we were scared of leaving as we had no idea where we were. We plucked up the courage and left some money on the table and walked out of the building. We were stared at and walked through the secure gates and out onto the road where we caught a tut tut to the centre of Delhi.

We are seasoned travellers but this experience wasn't good. Maybe if the owner had arrived and made us welcome and comfortable instead of just dumping us we would have enjoyed the place but as it is I would not recommend this place unless maybe you have been before. A great shame the owner couldn't care for his clients. A bad into to India.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
7  Thank winged1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

My husband and 3 of his family spent a lovely few days in Megha. Aman made my mother in law feel at home and was very helpful in terms of assisting with our onward travel plans and transport. He has some fantastic drivers, especially Ram who is a star and a brilliant driver. The property is in a nice quiet part of town and we were also able to use the metro which is really nearby. Rooms are lovely and clean and the staff do all they can to make you feel like one of the family. Recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vereeniging1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The Megha Homestay was our first port of call in India. Having never been to India before, we weren't sure what a homestay might be like. It's only after staying in others that we realised the it wasn't quite as welcoming as you might like. Aman is a nice man who is very helpful but is often not there. The food in the evenings however was delicious and the rooms clean. It's in a nice neighbourhood but just lacking that warmth and open armed welcome of other Indian homestays. A satisfactory stay nonetheless.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lakygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Had a great stay in Megha in december last year.
Aman is a very helpful man, and he knows many good ways to form a personal tour with private guide if nessary.
And don´t forget to eat at Megha. Great kitchen!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo
4  Thank Stefan0wich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I stayed for a couple of days in December 2011 and January 2012; it is situated in a nice and quiet neighborhood across the street of a park. The owner and the staff are very helpful and will do everything they can to make you feel at home. The rooms (I had three) are nice and clean and the food is good. I had to ask for a cover sheet which they provided me promptly. Morning breakfast conversation with other guests at the dining table was quit enjoyable; I met nice people from all over the world including my own country, Canada. Last but not least, Aman, the owner, helped me planned my entire trip to India since I did not have time before leaving; he made all the arrangements for the hotels and the transportation.

Perfection does not exist in our world but overall, I had a very pleasant stay.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
3  Thank CharlesSTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Batra Holiday Home
#327 of 713 in New Delhi
5 reviews
bloomrooms @ Link Rd
#30 of 713 in New Delhi
990 reviews
Nizamuddin
Pulse Impulse
Pulse Impulse
#290 of 713 in New Delhi
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Defence Colony
OYO Premium South Delhi
OYO Premium South Delhi
#314 of 713 in New Delhi
4 reviews
Satwah Home Stay
#392 of 713 in New Delhi
3 reviews
Sagar Residency
#451 of 713 in New Delhi
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Megha Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Megha Homestay

Address: K-50 Jangpura Extension Extention, New Delhi 110014, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: $30 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Megha Homestay 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Megha Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing