We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable accomodation for a reasonable fee”
Review of Hotel Shelton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Shelton
Ranked #94 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Reasonable accomodation for a reasonable fee”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Our room was clean and tidy.
The complimentary drinks were a nice touch.
Working air con and a fan was nice.
The staff were friendly.
The bed was comfortable

My only complaint would be to do with the airport pickup.

I missed my original flight and upon my arrival at Delhi airport I managed to locate a phone to arrange another pickup. The hotel was not keen to pick me up however, because I had missed my original booking.
What bothered me was that no-one contacted me to check where I was, or that I was ok.
I had made a booking and prepaid for my room, so surely if I didnt turn up somebody should look into it?

Otherwise totally acceptable. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms that are not roadside - the hotel is on a busy street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear guest

Thanks for your feedback, We are glad to hear that you have had wonderful time while staying with us. We would like to inform you that we request all the guest to contact us 24 hours prior to the arrival time so that we can make sure that the transfer happens on time. however when some one call from the airport some times our Hotel Vehicles are already in use so it becomes very hard to execute transfer with in the last minute.

Thanking you
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    151
    55
    29
    21
See reviews for
72
109
82
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Good staff and friendly manager. The elderly person at the reception was kind and friendly. I had a comfortable stay at the hotel. The rooms were clean and the hotel is a perfect value for money. It is just about 500m from a metro station. so the location of the hotel is good too. But, the area around the hotel is a little messy, I think that is beyond the control of the management.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vibudh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear guest

Thanks for your feedback, We are glad to hear that you have had wonderful time while staying with us and found our staff helpful. We look forward for your next memorable stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in a backpack
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We chose A non air con room which at this time of year was not a smart move as it is very very hot and we have a baby! After a sleepless night we asked to change room. The day manager was very helpful and tried his hardest to acommodate us. We also had a pipe that broke in our bathroom and the manager had a plumber in to fix it within the hour. The rooms were very clean and very modern with flat screen tv and cable as well. Super comfy beds with lots of cushions! The roof top restaurant has a great view of the market below but was in the middle of being renovated so was slightly noisy. The food was good ( we had the butter chicken and a chicken Korma but they both tasted the same and were very salty). We felt that this hotel was a great place to explore the market and surrounding areas while having a very nice place to relax during the hottest part of the day. We will definitely stay here again. An excellent, clean, comfortable, not-so-noisy place in paharganj and suitable for a baby as well.
And I dont know what the reviewer below is talking about because it is not down a dark alley... It's on the main road!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rohandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear guest

Thanks for your feedback, We are glad to hear that you have had wonderful time while staying with us. It feels heartwarming to know that you found the services, location and restaurant upto the mark. We look forward for your next memorable stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palestine
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Hotel Shelton is located in the main bazaar. Our room was spacious and included 1 double bed and 1 single, but it was rather run down. The beds were extremely comfortable, the sheets white and clean, but the bathroom and toilette weren't clean and some of the hotel's rooms were under construction, so it was pretty noisy. We paid 3000 rupees, which is kinda high in this area.

Room Tip: Make sure they're done with the construction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear guest

Thanks for your feedback, We are glad to hear that you have had overall satisfactory time with us. During your stay we were going through some renovation work We offer our tender apologies for the inconveniences you face. We look forward for your next memorable stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This is esentially a budget hotel, (no star rating), ideal for backpackers and for those having an early morning train to catch.

Location is not bad, its just 5 minutes walking to the new delhi railway station.
And close to Karol Bagh Market and Connaught Place Market.

Cant expect more for the price......................................

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milescollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dearest guest

Thanks for your feedback, However i cant understand why you have given us average rathing although it seems from your own words that you have had a satisfactory staywith us. We never claim that our hotel is a Luxury property it is neat and clean property in the heart of New Delhi. We look forward for your next memorable stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Shelton for 10 days, I selected this Hotel based on the recommendations and it stayed up to the promise. The Hotel is located right in the center of Main Bazar, Walking distance from the New Delhi railway station, Connaught place and other Metro station. I was given the room facing the Main Bazar street which in night can get noisy so i asked for the room not facing the street which was a relief. Rooms are neat and clean with good bathroom and enough toiletries, which is rare in main Bazar.

The front office desk is quite helpful especially Abhishek who greets with smile to every one. They have solution for almost everything you ask for.

However the rooftop restaurant is under renovation. My advise is to look for other dining options if you dont want to get disturbed by the ongoing work.

Highly recommended for seeing the real Delhi

Room Tip: If you are light sleeper skip the rooms facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1stlightflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear guest

Thanks for your feedback, We are glad to hear that you have had wonderful time while staying with us and you have found our staff courteous and helpful. We look forward for your next memorable stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights. The location is great if you arrive by train or have an early train to catch. Staff were helpful and everything was expected according to my my booking. The rooms have nice features, good pillows but a little grimy in places. We left our bags overnight whilst we visited Agra and they were locked up securely with no problems.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrNJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear guest

Thanks for your feedback, We are glad to hear that you have had wonderful time while staying with us. It is pleasure to know that people appreciate our staff which goes out of way to helpful Guests aWe look forward for your next memorable stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel All Iz Well
Hotel All Iz Well
#92 of 716 in New Delhi
223 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Aman Continental
Hotel Aman Continental
#102 of 716 in New Delhi
208 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#55 of 716 in New Delhi
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Arjun
Hotel Arjun
#117 of 716 in New Delhi
232 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#51 of 716 in New Delhi
1,686 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#82 of 716 in New Delhi
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shelton

Property: Hotel Shelton
Address: 5043, Main Bazaar | Near Six Tooti Chowk, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#30 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shelton 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shelton Well is located at a walking distance from New Delhi Railway Station, 5 Minutes drive from Connaught Place and 10 minutes walking from Ramakrishna Ashram Metro Station. Hotel offers good connectivity from Indira Gandhi International Airport which is at the distance of around 21 km. The hotel is in close proximity to India Gate (5 km), Hajrat Nijamuddin Railway Station (7km), Pragati Maidan (4.5 km) and Akshardham Mandir (6.5 km). Hotel Shelton is an artistically designed hotel that mesmerizes its guests with a range of comforting facilities.Hotel offers In-house restaurant serves a wide array of authentic Indian and global cuisines to pamper the taste-buds. Hotel Shelton Well provides a range of services for the comfortable stay of guests. The hotel pampers its guests with other eminent amenities like high-speed wireless connectivity of internet,Elevator ,24 room service, 24 power backup doctor on call, Laundry & Dry Cleaning Service(Surcharge), local tour and travel desk, Free Dialing telephone and Airport pickup and drop facility (Surcharge). All the rooms offer amenities like private bathrooms with rainfall shower heads and well designed toiletries with regular supply of hot and cold running water. Free Wi-Fi and LCD television are available in the rooms. Additional amenities include Mini Bar (chargeable basis), a safe, working desk, direct dial telephone service and full length mirror.Hair Dryer and Tea Coffee Maker available on Request. The hotel is well-suited to both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelton Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing