We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise”
Review of Hotel Shelton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Shelton
Ranked #78 of 728 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed December 16, 2013

It is not so easy to find a reasonably-priced, reasonable quality hotel in Paharganj. I'm not saying it's impossible, but the area is diluted with plenty of dubious places. Along the main bazaar I spotted an attractive foyer but half-expected it to be like a Venus Fly-Trap; a tempting facade leading to a less attractive interior. I proved wrong - the bedroom was pleasant, with a king-sized bed covered with a warm, good quality, spotlessly white, quilt. The decor was discretely attractive and only the bathroom was a bit pokey. Abhishek on reception was smart, efficient, pleasant and friendly, as was Vippin, the general assistant. For my Rs.1000, I remain convinced it was a good bargain.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRBandipur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for your valuable feedback, I am glad to know that you had pleasant stay with us, It is good to note that you had the value of your money at Hotel Shelton. Thanks for appreciating our Front Office Staff (Esp. Mr. Abhishek) who goes out of way to help the guests.

We value your patronage and are looking forward for your memorable stay with us.

Best regards,
Vijay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 511 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

The hotel is in the middle of the main bazar ihn Paraganj, so it it pretty loud and chaotic, even in the night. Problem was, that the window we had was to the street and it was not possible to close it completly.
But the hotel is clean, the staff is very nice and helpful, they also offer an airport service to pick you up. (in my case they sent the driver one day later, but apologized several times and felt bad about this mistake).

Also they have a nice rooftop-restaurant were you get good food and have a great look over the main bazar.

So all in all a good stay if you are wiling to pay a little bit more than in the many guesthoses around.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfram_Ingelbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for your valuable feedback, I am glad to know that you had a pleasant stay and i have made a serious note of the problems you faced with the airport transfer,Once again i owe my tender apologies for that. Thanks for appreciating our clean rooms and helpful staff.

We value your patronage and are looking forward for your next stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I was in Delhi three years ago, in anoop hotel in Paharganj, not a good place, so this time I was looking for a better one after landing in Delhi. Hotel Shelton is a good starting point for the first days in India, I had a decent single room with personal bathroom, hot water and toilet paper. It was clean, big and the bed was comfortable.
The service is good, people are friendly and always try to help. Wifi was working really well (that's a good plus in India), and the restaurant was good and cheap, with abundant veg and non veg dishes.
The position of my room was in front of the main road, so quite noisy, I would suggest to ask for a room in a different position, because early in the morning tuc tucs and motorcycles start to be annoying.
I had a night train to catch and they kindly let me leave my luggage at hotel and staying at the restaurant for the whole day.
Price is a little high, but i booked via booking.com, so if you contact them directly probably you will get a cheaper price.
The position of the hotel is near to the main train station, so it's a good place for resting after the flight and from where to catch a train for better indian places than delhi, that in my opinion is quite dangerous and after the few turistic places to visit, not worthy to stay.
In the end I was pretty satisfied with Hotel Shelton, I will probably come back there before my flight back to Italy.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mari0ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for your valuable feedback, I am glad to know that you had pleasant stay with us. Thanks for appreciating our centralized location, Clean rooms and helpful staff. I have made a note of noise issue. In some of the rooms there is an issue of noise problem and we are working on it and very soon we will over come this with efficient insulation.

We value your patronage and are looking forward for your next stay with us.

Best regards,
Vijay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

When we arrive in Shelton very early in the morning, we are greeted with a racognizing "Hello, Welcome back!" by the receptionist Abicheck. It may be some weeks since last time or one or two years! Immediately this friendly man and the rest of the staff give a very friendly atmosphere.

During my stays in Delhi and Pahar Ganj this hotel has been the place I come back to, since 2006

I have seen it beeing restored into a much more proper and nice standard. The rooms are clean and with HOT water if they tell there´s hot water.It has been better and better but only a little more expensive.

At the end its´s avery nice feeling to be greeted as a guest/ friend, With all respect and humor.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Try to get a room with window view over the lively PAHAR GANJ life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elsa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for your valuable feedback, I am glad to know that you had a pleasant stay and it was an privilege to meet you in person. Hotel Shelton had improved a lot and we are still working to make it best budget hotel of Main Bazar. It is good to know that you enjoyed our centralized location and views from the rooms.


We value your patronage and are looking forward for your next stay with us.

Best regards,
Vijay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

i stayed 5 days at the hotel Shelton Hotel in Nov, 2013. The staffs are very friendly, especially Mr.Dev who is very helpful and kind staff here. A clean and safe place to stay in New Delhi. Perfect location and very close to Metro.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Guests

Thanks for your valuable feedback, I m glad to know that you had pleasant stay with us and you enjoyed our centralized locality. Mr. Dev is our General Manager, who is actively participating in guest assistance.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here 7 years ago, well before the rooms had been refurbished and modernised. But to this day we still talk about the most delicious Malai Kofta that we've ever had, so much so we nearly missed our plane to have another serve of it! The roof top restaurant is an absolute gem.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AllyHoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for your valuable feedback, I am glad to know that you enjoyed our restaurant food. Our restaurant Kitchen Cafe s recommended by lonely planet and provide fresh and delicious food at affordable price.

We value your patronage and are looking forward for your next stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I actually came to Hotel Shelton after their Sister hotel Cottage Ganga Inn didn't honour my booking.

However from there it was all uphill as Hotel Shelton was a great place to stay.

Recently refurbished and modernised, rooms were clean, staff were helpful and can assist in travel arrangements.

Walking distance to Delhi train station so perfect if you just want to stay a few days. And close to RK Ashram metro stop too so easy to roam the city.

Ravi

JetPrivilege membership: 139548592

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ravs000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for your valuable feedback, I am extremely grateful to know that you had pleasant stay with us and you found our services at par with your expectations. We thank you for sharing your experience with other fellow travelers.

We value your patronage and are looking forward for your next stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 728 in New Delhi
1,736 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
#73 of 728 in New Delhi
101 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel All Iz Well
Hotel All Iz Well
#99 of 728 in New Delhi
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Cabana
#104 of 728 in New Delhi
279 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#94 of 728 in New Delhi
332 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Arjun
Hotel Arjun
#126 of 728 in New Delhi
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shelton

Address: 5043, Main Bazaar | Near Six Tooti Chowk, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#48 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $29 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shelton 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shelton Well is located at a walking distance from New Delhi Railway Station, 5 Minutes drive from Connaught Place and 10 minutes walking from Ramakrishna Ashram Metro Station. Hotel offers good connectivity from Indira Gandhi International Airport which is at the distance of around 21 km. The hotel is in close proximity to India Gate (5 km), Hajrat Nijamuddin Railway Station (7km), Pragati Maidan (4.5 km) and Akshardham Mandir (6.5 km). Hotel Shelton is an artistically designed hotel that mesmerizes its guests with a range of comforting facilities.Hotel offers In-house restaurant serves a wide array of authentic Indian and global cuisines to pamper the taste-buds. Hotel Shelton Well provides a range of services for the comfortable stay of guests. The hotel pampers its guests with other eminent amenities like high-speed wireless connectivity of internet,Elevator ,24 room service, 24 power backup doctor on call, Laundry & Dry Cleaning Service(Surcharge), local tour and travel desk, Free Dialing telephone and Airport pickup and drop facility (Surcharge). All the rooms offer amenities like private bathrooms with rainfall shower heads and well designed toiletries with regular supply of hot and cold running water. Free Wi-Fi and LCD television are available in the rooms. Additional amenities include Mini Bar (chargeable basis), a safe, working desk, direct dial telephone service and full length mirror.Hair Dryer and Tea Coffee Maker available on Request. The hotel is well-suited to both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelton Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing