We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern hotel, the perfect stay if in Delhi for just a few days.”
Review of Hotel Shelton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Shelton
Ranked #81 of 717 Hotels in New Delhi
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A modern hotel, the perfect stay if in Delhi for just a few days.”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I actually came to Hotel Shelton after their Sister hotel Cottage Ganga Inn didn't honour my booking.

However from there it was all uphill as Hotel Shelton was a great place to stay.

Recently refurbished and modernised, rooms were clean, staff were helpful and can assist in travel arrangements.

Walking distance to Delhi train station so perfect if you just want to stay a few days. And close to RK Ashram metro stop too so easy to roam the city.

Ravi

JetPrivilege membership: 139548592

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ravs000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for your valuable feedback, I am extremely grateful to know that you had pleasant stay with us and you found our services at par with your expectations. We thank you for sharing your experience with other fellow travelers.

We value your patronage and are looking forward for your next stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    151
    57
    29
    21
See reviews for
75
111
85
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Budget hotel, clean rooms, toilets and friendly staff.
Overall 9/10.
Located close to Delhi Railway Station and RK Ashram Marg Metro station.
Walk able distance to the Metro is a plus.
Rooftop restaurant is awesome, serving fresh food although spicey.
But western cuisines also served at best prices.

Room Tip: Take a room with a view of the Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for your valuable feedback, I am overwhelmed to read your comments, We as a team are delighted to know that you had pleasant stay with us. At hotel Shelton We utmost concern is guest satisfaction and we are glad to know that you are one of our esteemed satisfactory guests.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back at Hotel Shelton

Thanking you
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

A very friendly place. Clean and hygienic. Spacious rooms. Very friendly and curteous staff. Difficult to find sucha hotel in Paharganj. Very well planned and maintained. A relaxing and quite rooftop restaurant. And on top of everything...... very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GauravBahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guests

Thanks for your valuable feedback, I m glad to know that you had pleasant stay with us.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We highly recommend this place for your stay in Delhi. It's located in the Paharganj area of the city which is a great place for budget travellers. Even though it's right on Main Bazaar, it's still a safe haven from the hustle and bustle. The room cost is extremely reasonable. I fell ill on the first day we arrived and had to see a doctor which the hotel sorted out for me. We ended up having to stay in Delhi for 9 days in total to get over being sick and we were so happy we were staying here. It had everything we wanted - food delivered to our room, TV with hundreds of channels, comfortable bed and hot water at any time. The staff were really good to us too, with a special mention to the young guy that works on the 3rd floor - thank you for everything.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Basia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for your feedback, I am glad to know that you had pleasant stay with us. It is pleasure to know that our amenities and services were up to your expectations. At Hotel Shelton we believe in Atithi Devo Bhawa (Which means Guest is God). Our entire team is thankful for your kind words.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Arrived at Delhi railway station at 11pm with a booking.com reservation for Hotel Arjun (50mtrs from Hotel Shelton, same owner/management). They told me in Hotel Arjun that as I did not confirm my arrival they had given my room to someone else. In exchange, the manager provided me one room in Hotel Shelton for the same price.

Standard room, looks pretty good but dirty (floor, sheets, bathroom).
Hot shower, fan & TV : OK
Incredibly noisy: many rooms look directly onto the street & have poor noise insulation.
Around the hotel: dark and dirty street. Quite hard to find the exact address.

Good point: the staff. Very kind & helpul. We were very well received even at that late hour.

Room Tip: Do not take room that looks onto the street !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Nrycz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for writing review on TripAdvisor, I am very glad to know that you enjoyed our centralized location and found our staff helpful, We have renovated our Hotel and there are still some things which needed to be improved in standard rooms. I am taking strong note of your feedback and will make sure that we work to rectify these loopholes as soon as possible. We give utmost importance to cleanliness in Hotel Shelton and we make sure that every guest have a wonderful time with us.

We value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back home soon.

Best regards,
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perisher Valley, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2013

WE stayed here because I liked the look of the rooftop restaurant. And it was a nice restaurant too. Lovely food. And very helpful staff. Rooms are OK ( make sure you request one with a window) and showers were hot. The location is really good - not far from New Delhi Railway Station and the Metro is just around the corner. Lots of shopping right outside too! We arrived very late at night and the hotel organised a shuttle from the airport for us. They happily stored some luggage for us too, while we went off travelling for a couple of weeks. The travel desk is also reliable and helpful and organised site seeing for us. If I'm ever back in Delhi I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jindysharnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for your valuable feedback, I am glad to know that you had pleasant stay with Hotel Shelton, and you found yourself at the middle of everything. We highly thankyou for appreciating our Rooftop restaurant and Travel Services.

We highly value your patronage and we are looking forward for your next stay with us.

Thanking you
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Booked 4 nights via Agoda for Diwali celebrations however could not access the hotel at all due to security barriers erected in Pahar Ganj. Telephoned hotel and a staff member acknowledged the barriers, apologised and reassured me a full refund would follow. Having returned from India to find no refund I enquired through Agoda and to the hotel directly via email. The hotel did not reply at all and Agoda says Mr Vijay claims there were no such barriers and I never contacted the hotel. The hotel continues to refuse to refund me even partially despite never having provided a service. I would recommend a different hotel - Pahar Ganj is full of great places and you don't need a dishonest and greedy hotelier when travelling.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelshelton, Owner at Hotel Shelton, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thanks for choosing Hotel Shelton for your stay in New Delhi but it is unfortunate that you didnt got the chance to stay at our Hotel. As told to you by earlier by email that you didnt speak with any one of our hotel staff on the phone. You took the prepaid taxi driver from the airport who for what ever reasons took you to the Fake tourist agency, who dialed the number of their friend not hotel sheltons number and you speak with their friend (who is the part of the scam) and he told you that the road is blocked and we will give you the refund that is a complete lie. Our hotel is located in Main bazar (the heart of Delhi) there is nothing like a road block. You have been cheated the tourist agency who send you to the other hotel so that they can make a big commission this is the most common tourist scam in Delhi. If you read tripadvisor travel forum you will see thousands of complains like that but you have to understand that you didnt spoke with us.


You have made reservation with agoda and Agoda.com doesnt given any hotelier the contact details of the guests, We send emails to each and every customer of our hotel and make them aware about this prepaid airport taxi driver scam.

I request every reader to be careful with airport taxi driver scam in New Delhi and through Tripadvisor i want to personally aware tourists about this scam.

WARNING: some taxi drivers are paid commission to take guests to the wrong hotel. To make sure you reach the hotel without hassles. We request you to call us on our hotline number 0091-9999331194 do NOT let the taxi driver dial this number; they will make excuses in the middle of the way that they don’t know the way or the road is closed so will suggest you fake tourist information agencies Where they call their friends who will tell you that the hotel is closed for whatever reason. if at all you are caught in this situation. Tell them you have the car registration number and you are going to call police. Delhi police 24 hours hotline number is 100.

We would love you to stay with us again.

Thanking you
Vijay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel All Iz Well
Hotel All Iz Well
#94 of 717 in New Delhi
229 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#50 of 717 in New Delhi
1,696 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Aman Continental
Hotel Aman Continental
#101 of 717 in New Delhi
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#54 of 717 in New Delhi
1,070 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Check In Room Main Bazar
Check In Room Main Bazar
#66 of 717 in New Delhi
111 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Arjun
Hotel Arjun
#117 of 717 in New Delhi
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shelton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shelton

Property: Hotel Shelton
Address: 5043, Main Bazaar | Near Six Tooti Chowk, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#44 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shelton 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shelton Well is located at a walking distance from New Delhi Railway Station, 5 Minutes drive from Connaught Place and 10 minutes walking from Ramakrishna Ashram Metro Station. Hotel offers good connectivity from Indira Gandhi International Airport which is at the distance of around 21 km. The hotel is in close proximity to India Gate (5 km), Hajrat Nijamuddin Railway Station (7km), Pragati Maidan (4.5 km) and Akshardham Mandir (6.5 km). Hotel Shelton is an artistically designed hotel that mesmerizes its guests with a range of comforting facilities.Hotel offers In-house restaurant serves a wide array of authentic Indian and global cuisines to pamper the taste-buds. Hotel Shelton Well provides a range of services for the comfortable stay of guests. The hotel pampers its guests with other eminent amenities like high-speed wireless connectivity of internet,Elevator ,24 room service, 24 power backup doctor on call, Laundry & Dry Cleaning Service(Surcharge), local tour and travel desk, Free Dialing telephone and Airport pickup and drop facility (Surcharge). All the rooms offer amenities like private bathrooms with rainfall shower heads and well designed toiletries with regular supply of hot and cold running water. Free Wi-Fi and LCD television are available in the rooms. Additional amenities include Mini Bar (chargeable basis), a safe, working desk, direct dial telephone service and full length mirror.Hair Dryer and Tea Coffee Maker available on Request. The hotel is well-suited to both business and leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Shelton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelton Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing