We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't stay here.”
Review of Hotel The Raj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel The Raj
Ranked #265 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Dirtiest hotel I stayed in during my very long visit to India (and its not like it was the cheapest either). The staff is very rude and almost made us miss our flight; we arranged for a taxi with another person (not with the hotel- as they asked for way too much) the day before we needed it. When our taxi arrived, 3 hours before our flight, the hotel staff yelled at the taxi driver to leave because we needed to take a taxi through the hotel and pay what they charged. This was said in Hindi, so I am guessing they thought we couldn't understand, but despite my appearance, I understand. Unfortunately, that driver listened and drove off. We tried to find another taxi but could not because the staff would tell the drivers not to take us. We were forced to take the hotel's suggested taxi and overpay but about 3x.

On a positive note- it is close to the train stations. But so are many other hotels. So check those out instead.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika2422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 331 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

Good sized room with a hot shower and friendly service makes this place a great stay. Food in restaurant was also very good with high quality Indian and Chinese food on offer. The hotel has good wi-fi etc.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonSouth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I came 2 know about this hotel through makemytrip.com..... I had read a lot of reviews of dis hotel on tripadvisor n dey were too gud dats y i decided to stay here... I was so happy wid their rooms n food as well..... But in the end, they ruined it all.. We were to catch a train 7.40 in the morning n had 30 mins. left.. As we had some luggage wid us, we requested the guy at reception to arrange the taxi to drop us at new delhi railway station which is only 800 meters from the hotel (not even a kilometer). I was shocked when he charged us Rs. 300 for such a short distance.For everyone's information, the taxi fare to railway station from dis place in the daytime is 37rs. Only... Even in the night it is only 46 rs... I was having a so good impression of dem until the check-out but they just ruined it in the very end.. Totally unprofessional attitude!!!!! Hotel was gud but wat dey did in the end had forced me to decide not to stay again in dis hotel...

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank crazyguy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
3  Thank SETHURAMAN V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hotel Raj..one of thousand such hotels in Paharganj. Very economical - 1.1K per night. I booked through makemytrip since the check-in and check-out timings of this hotel were best suitable to me. They have a 9 AM check-in & Noon checkout following day. My flight was landing at Delhi at 7:30 AM and my other hotel had a check-in time of noon on next day so this hotel suited best..thanks to them for that. Check-in process was good..they are strict on ID Proofs..its a good thing for family travelers. Rooms are good, not very big but decent for a Delhi hotel as you will practically only will be sleeping in the hotel....Delhi has many things to keep you occupied for a week in my view so dont waste spending too much time in hotel. Bathroom has a hot water all the time. The LCD TV has all Indian channels those are worth watching and a nice restaurant (Food is not great but in Delhi you must appreciate any meal that doesn't give you a Delhi Belly) in the hotel premises itself so its a great thing for families. For this budget this hotel gives you more than what you pay for. And being so close to New Delhi Railway Station, this is just the price you want to pay if you have a early morning train next day. Dont expect any view and yes road noise will be there in your room but it will be there in all hotels in Paharganj..blame the delhi'ates for the ample use of horn. All in all..great for the price and completely safe.

Room Tip: No view in any of the rooms..select any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siddhesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The place is good and value for money. Located very near to railway station (paharganj) side.
Rooms are neet and clean with basic amenties only.
Breakfast is complimentary for which they send to there other hotel nearby (hardly 50 mtrs)
Food is good but has longer wait time
Provides sightseeing services and reasonable rates

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rajsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank tzufitn
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Heritage Home
Hotel Heritage Home
#325 of 715 in New Delhi
95 reviews
Hotel Chand Palace
#178 of 715 in New Delhi
121 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#24 of 715 in New Delhi
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
FabHotel Mohan International Paharganj
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
#70 of 715 in New Delhi
95 reviews
Pahar Ganj
The White Klove
The White Klove
#153 of 715 in New Delhi
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Raj

Address: 8495 Arakashan Road, New Delhi 110055, India (Formerly FabHotel Raj Paharganj)
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: $20 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Raj 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the busy area of Paharganj, Hotel Raj is only 500 mtrs from new Delhi Railway Station. The hotel is near to Gaffar Market, Janpath Market and Palika Bazaar. Nearby attractions include Jantar Mantar, Connaught Place, Gurudwara Bangla Sahib , Jama Masjid and all Tourist Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel The Raj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing