We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort in the middle of Delhi!”
Review of Hotel The Raj

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel The Raj
Ranked #317 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comfort in the middle of Delhi!”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

I stayed at Hotel Raj for one night as a single female backpacker. The hotel is well situated, a little bit of Arakashan road, so with a little more peace and quiet than others nearby. The staff are uber-friendly, especially Rafiq Khan who provided help whenever I required. Although the hotel is still under construction, my room was clean and comfortable. A/C, internet and hot water working. Hotel Raj is well situated for the popular tourist area Paharganj, and metro is about 10 minute walk away for easy access to the rest of the city. Overall, a great value stay for Delhi!

Room Tip: My room faced onto the street, which was a little noisy until around 11pm at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank saturneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    109
    57
    31
    32
See reviews for
43
78
57
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

Very comfortable hotel with all the facilities that one needs.Location is quite convenient to reach from the new delhi railway station. Commuting from the hotel to any place in delhi is also not a problem.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shaileshupadhyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelrajDelhi_India, Manager at Hotel The Raj, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Dear Mr. Upadhyay,
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Raj and giving us a chance to serve you.
Thank you very much for your review in Tripadvisor.
Hoping to see you again.
Thanks with warm regards,

Amit Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

first thing: the staff is absolutely nice, Sunil does his best for you. Room is very clean, bed confortable, the street is quiet and near a bigger one with food and everything you need.
This place is safe and confortale, people are very nice.
Enjoy the Raj Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank swann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelrajDelhi_India, Manager at Hotel The Raj, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Raj and giving us a chance to serve you.
Thank you very much for your review in tripadvisor.
This encourage us to make your stay memorable.
Hoping to see you again.
Thanks with warm regards,

Amit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I'd recommend this hotel to everyone, clean and beautifully designed but what we liked most about it was the friendly and warm atmosphere, you really get the feeling that you're staying at a friend's place instead of a hotel. The staff are super friendly and provide all kinds of support you need when in a city you don't know.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank winiandrami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelrajDelhi_India, Manager at Hotel The Raj, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Raj and giving us a chance to serve you.
Thank you very much for your Rating of our hotel on Tripadvisor.
Your comments are very precious to those guest who is looking for nice place to stay in New Delhi.
Hoping to see you again,
Thanks again with best regards,

Amit Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Its Centrally located and easy to reach all over Delh. At Held Desk contact Mr.Rafiq Khan, who is very genuine and very helpful for all our Tour, Travel and Trourism related queries. Hotel rooms are excellent, staff very generous,polite and helpful at any given point of time. Loved to come back.

Room Tip: All rooms at The Raj Hotel, Arakshan Road, Pahar Jung, New Delhi are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank honeybug_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelrajDelhi_India, Manager at Hotel The Raj, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Raj and giving us a chance to serve you.
Thank you, Thank you very much for your review in Tripadvisor.
This is a great help to the tourist who is looking for a nice hotel in New Delhi.
Thanks with warm regards from Hotel Raj Team,

Amit Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Raj hotel is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. I checked in on 23rd night. They first allotted me room no.305, but when we settled we came to know that flush was not working. So we asked to change the room . Room no.306 was allotted . This room was shabby ...very dirty . In the night at 11.30 we asked them to clean the room . We waited outside with my little kid . Then Internet wifi was not working which is there usp in their website.
In the morning there was no hot water in the room. When I asked them they casually said boiler isn't working as if it is everyday ritual. Then they sent hot water in can which was full of dirty sand. I advice everybody never to stay here. And their website is misguiding. Spoke to two guests in the hotel ..they had similar problem. I wonder how expedia.com being such a popular website recommend this hotel. And yes even the sheets were very dirty . Had to use our sheets .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vikash J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for about 4 days on a recent trip through Delhi. An easy ten minute walk from the new Delhi train station, this hotel is in the middle of ram nagar along with lots of delux hotels. We also looked at more budget options in paraganj but found this to be a huge step up in quality for the money, actually less than $5/night more than the shabby paraganj rooms we looked at. Room and linens were very clean. AC and flat screen TV were nice touches. The lobby has better than average wifi. This hotel is brand new, with restaurant, in room wifi, and other improvements on the way (so we were told). Only complaint was that the hot water was out when we stayed here, so if that's a deal breaker make sure you ask about it first. Staff was friendly too. Overall we considered this a great mini-upgrade into the deluxe range on our otherwise budget trip.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WK3K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelrajDelhi_India, Manager at Hotel The Raj, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thanks for choosing Hotel Raj and giving us a chance to serve you.
Thank you , Thank you very much for your review in tripadvisor.
This is a great help to the tourists who is looking for a nice hotel in this area.
Hoping to see you again.
Thanks with warm regards from Hotel Raj Team,

Amit Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Heritage Home
Hotel Heritage Home
#325 of 715 in New Delhi
94 reviews
Pahar Ganj
The White Klove
The White Klove
#145 of 715 in New Delhi
395 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Sita International
Hotel Sita International
#332 of 715 in New Delhi
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Arjun
Hotel Arjun
#119 of 715 in New Delhi
234 reviews
Pahar Ganj
FabHotel Mohan International Paharganj
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
#71 of 715 in New Delhi
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Raj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Raj

Property: Hotel The Raj
Address: 8495 Arakashan Road, New Delhi 110055, India (Formerly FabHotel Raj Paharganj)
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Raj 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the busy area of Paharganj, Hotel Raj is only 500 mtrs from new Delhi Railway Station. The hotel is near to Gaffar Market, Janpath Market and Palika Bazaar. Nearby attractions include Jantar Mantar, Connaught Place, Gurudwara Bangla Sahib , Jama Masjid and all Tourist Attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel The Raj reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing