We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A CHARMING HOUSE”
Review of Chhoti Haveli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chhoti Haveli
Ranked #31 of 1,144 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 20, 2008

4 friends were looking for a place in New Delhi with atmosphere wishing to avoid an anonymous hotel. Through tripadvisor we have been very lucky to find this beautiful and peaceful house in the south area of New Delhi.
3 double bedrooms lovely furnished with private bath, very very clean, and immaculate bed sheets. A comfortable living room with sofa, tv, computer and free internet access, various book guides for reference. A spacious and equipped kitchen.
The house is surrounded by a lovely park, with silence and birds. And believe me, it is really important after a day spent around in the incredible noisy city.

The jewel of the place is the inn keeper, Mrs Surinder, who is very gentle, smiling, welcoming, helpful with lots of informations about the city and very generous with the yummy breakfast.

I warmly suggest you to consider this place in Delhi, it is not so far away from the centre, only 35 minutes by taxi o autorickshaw up to Old Delhi but really worth it !
Do stay there and you won't regret it!
Dani (Gae, Licia, Stefano)

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank danielagili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 195 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2008

The three days my wife and I spent at the Chhoti Haveli during August 2008 were delightful and exceeded our expectations. The ambience was very pleasent and we felt very much at home. The facilities were good and the attractive character furniture gives an added lustre. Perhaps the biggest attraction is the genuine warmth of the of the "Inn Keepers", Mr & Mrs Maini. Mrs Surendir Maini is a charming and very hosiptable host whose breakfast delicacies need to be tasted to be believed - she undoubtedly makes some of the best Paratha's in Delhi! We would definitely plan to stay at the Chhoti Haveli when we visit Delhi again and unreservedly recommed it to holiday and business travellers.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank WandererHighworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

It's an excellent place, with a great ambience and a personalised touch. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nshergill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We were the first guests in this tastefully decorated guest house run by Mrs. Surinder Maini, a charming woman, and her husband. There are 3 rooms total, each with private bathroom, hot water and air-conditioning, 2 with balconies. The rooms are small but impeccably decorated with ample storage space in beautiful wooden cabinets. The bathrooms are also beautiful. The common area is comfortable and elegant and includes free internet/computer access, TV, and 3 English newspapers daily and a bookcase including many books on India. Mrs. Maini and her family live in the flat downstairs, so she is available if you need any help, and yet willing to give you your privacy as well. Mr. and Mrs. Maini lived in the United States for 13 years so they understand American sensibilities. Mrs. Maini and her helper Lalit will cook a yummy Indian breakfast or provide toast, fruit, tea, coffee, and bottled water is also included in the price (about $65 for a double). She also allowed us to use the refrigerator and microwave. There are nearby restaurants you can eat in or have food delivered from. This is suburban Delhi, which means a bit more mud and cows in the neighborhood than westerners may be used to, but inside the guest house is far nicer than my LA apartment! This was such a peaceful place to stay, much more so than Central Delhi where our first hotel was. Mrs. Maini is extremely helpful with transportation or travel advice, and she allowed me to keep my extra bags there while I traveled a bit. I highly recommend this lovely guest house.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SleepySLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2008

My husband and I stayed in Chhoti Haveli while attending a wedding in Delhi. The B & B is lovely - nicely furnished with traditional Indian woods and fabrics, including a homage to the jewel inlay in marble from the Taj (see the bathroom pic). It is tucked away in a residential area of South Delhi (Vasant Kunj) and the B & B itself is part of a small apartment complex that faces a park and has a lot of trees, birds and peace and quiet (a hot commodity in Delhi!). The apartment complex has its own gated security to enter the community, which makes it feel very safe. There is a little store across the street where you can get drinks, snacks and other little necessities and if you were so inspired, you could go out and play soccer with the local kids at night when they come home from school! It was nice to stay at a place where you really got a sense of neighborhood life, not just the inside of some chain hotel in a commercial area.

The innkeepers, Mr. and Mrs. Maini, have lived and traveled extensively in the U.S. and Europe so they have done a great job of creating a space that provides travelers with all the things they might need (high speed Internet, air con, a patio to hang out on, info on hiring drivers/tour guides, etc) while also ensuring that the space feels very personal, welcome and "home-like." We had to get up at 6am two days in a row when we were there to go on day trips and Mrs. Maini was up with us both days to make sure we got off with a good breakfast. Other guests told me that she had made them a full hot Indian breakfast one morning (for the super early 6am wake up, you get more of a continental style breakfast of toast/cereal/tea/coffee/fruit, which is all I can imagine anyone wants to eat that early in any case).

The only downside to staying at Chhoti Haveli is that South Delhi is a good 15 minute drive from Old Delhi and most of the main attractions (it is however, extremely convenient for going to the airport). For us this wasn't a problem since at the end of a day out in the city, there is nothing I want more than to escape its craziness and come back to someplace tranquil. Also, my experience was that last time I was in New Delhi I did stay at a more centrally located place and we still took cars everywhere anyway. But this might be an issue for folks who want to be able to step out of their hotel and immediately find themselves in the main tourist areas in central Delhi.

For us, it was perfect and I'm sure I would stay here again if I were back in Delhi. When we were there, it was around $60/night (2,700 rupees), although the price might go up during high season.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DCMenina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ana Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EelcoMariska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Tatvamasi Homestay
#1 of 1,144 in New Delhi
328 reviews
Thikana
#10 of 1,144 in New Delhi
579 reviews
Greater Kailash/Nehru Place
Bed and Chai Guest House
Bed and Chai Guest House
#23 of 1,144 in New Delhi
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colonel's Retreat At The Airport
#22 of 1,144 in New Delhi
199 reviews
Hauz Khas
Haveli Hauz Khas
Haveli Hauz Khas
#6 of 1,144 in New Delhi
224 reviews
Colonel's Retreat
#3 of 1,144 in New Delhi
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chhoti Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chhoti Haveli

Address: 1006 Sector A Pocket A | Vasant Kunj, New Delhi 110002, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Vasant Kunj/Vasant Vihar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 1,144 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range: $54 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of south Delhi, Chhoti Haveli is very close to the Delhi Airport (20 min/ 9 km), Chhatarpur metro station (2.5 km) and Qutub Minar. Located in a gated community, next to a large reserved green forest (Sanjay Van), the property faces a beautiful public park with a walking trail. ​ ​At our second floor apartment we have created the ambience of a Haveli. The property is bright and airy, with an abundance of natural light and ventilation. The b&b is tastefully furnished with period hand crafted furniture from Rajasthan. Hand block printed cotton fabric furnishings in vibrant vegetable dyed colours add to the ethnic decor. ​ Chhoti Haveli promises to give you the comfort of a home and cater to your needs as a traveler. We look forward to hosting you at Chhoti Haveli, a delhi b&b with a difference! ​ Surinder and Pawan Maini, Innkeepers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Chhoti Haveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing