We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sloppy Service and Hit or Miss Food!”
Review of Sam's Cafe

Sam's Cafe
Ranked #536 of 12,606 Restaurants in New Delhi
Price range: $4 - $20
Neighborhood: Pahar Ganj
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Pahar Ganj
London
Level Contributor
226 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Sloppy Service and Hit or Miss Food!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We ate here a few times as we had a days stop over in Delhi on our way to Jaisalmer and were staying in the Paharganj area. The service here can be incredibly slow sometimes. You order and wait 15 minutes for drinks while the 4 waiter stand around chatting, but hey, this is not too uncommon a thing in India. The food can be good but they can surprise you with croissant and curried potato which is what we were served as part of a French set brea

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joadify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    47
    36
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place for a simple breakfast”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had breakfast here this morning. The food was reasonably good but nothing special. It took us a while to find as it was not where Lonely Planet said it was. The roof terrace was nice and the service was fairly quick.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awful”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Managed to get it all wrong.

Eggs were cold. Maaza was warm. Toast was bread. Hashbrowns were slop. Couldn't poach an egg as they weren't part of the set breakfast. Over-priced for what it was. The one star is for having a newspaper on the premises.

Awful.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lestergunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesomeness”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have been in Delhi for long and my love for food is known to my peers. i visited Sam's Cafe last week for the first time. though i have been to paharganj many times for the love of art but it was my first visit to Sam's. i went there with my fellow food lover friend as just by passing by and clicking pictures we saw the board at rooftop. it was a great experinec, as there was sun shinning and at the open roof top was a heaven. We ordered the Israeli Schintzel and Tenderlion Steak with Mushrooms. i was baffled the moment i saw the quantity of the food. it was humongous. I was bit disappointed with the fries as they were too oily. The staek was moist but bit chewy ( but the sauce and mushroom just did the wonder). The humus along with the schitznel was awesome and tasted really good with the pita bread and the chicken pieces. The portion was soo large that we packed some of the food. and it was very affordable. I will visit this place regularly now with my friends.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foodie_86_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,582 reviews
1,753 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11,992 helpful votes
“Nice backpacker(ish) cafe in the Paharganj area”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We enjoyed a decent, quick lunch at Sam's Cafe on the main Bazaar street of the in the Paharganj area of New Delhi. The restaurant can be found by looking for the orange sign and is located within the Vivek Hotel. Overall, we found this to be a good backpacker type restaurant in this area of the city.

The downstairs area of the restaurant is quite small, only a few small tables. However, on the 4th floor rooftop there is a large seating area with plenty of tables and seats. There is a wide selection of Indian, Western and other international cuisine choices at Sam's Cafe.

We ordered the Arrabiata Pizza (180 rupee or US$3.28) that wasn't bad at all. Crust was good enough, light tomato sauce and cheese was fine, pizza had some nice green chili bits that made it quite spicy, something those who enjoy hot food will love (rating 3.75 of 5). We would happily order this pzza again.

We also ordered the veggie burger (150 rupee) that was heavily spiced in classic Indian cuisine fashion. This was a nice burger and of generous size. It came with a bit of salad that was ok and french fries, which were soggy but ok (3.25 of 5). For drinks we ordered a sweet lassi that was good (3 of 5) and a masala tea that was a bit watery and not particularly nice (2 of 5).

Overall, we enjoyed our stop at Sam's Cafe and would gladly visit again if we find ourselves in the Paharganj area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Cafe also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Sam's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing