We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Indian like no other”
Review of Saravana Bhavan

Saravana Bhavan
Ranked #21 of 12,605 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Delhi
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“South Indian like no other”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was my first visit there and at first I was very put off by the crowd because this place is always crowded but the food just puts you in the right mood.

Whatever you order on the menu if simply 'perfect'. We were about 8 of us and hence I got an opportunity to sample a lot of their menu and I can guarantee that their stuff is terrific. I am most definitely going back again!
Guess they can't do anything about it but just wish that the waiters were no so much in a rush. If you are looking to go to a place where you can 'comfortably' have south india food then you better avoid this place

Helpful?
Thank ceipl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,724 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,215
    1,184
    244
    54
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mild Stroke.”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Saravana Bhavan, Connaught Place, New Delhi, I have been to multiple times. Decent South Indian Thali or other stuff as you may prefer. Mild, not harsh on your tongue, flavour, hygenic, nice ambience and competitively priced. The best part is apart from serving food, they have showcased several mouth-watering south-indian delicacies. So if you are in mood to try South-indian food, Saravana Bhawan has earned its reputation.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vin21NewDelhi_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
179 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“amaging taste for south indian food”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

If you like south indian delicacy then this is a right place for you. As I like south indian food very much whenever I am in delhi I always plan to go to this restaurant. I have tried this restaurant in Delhi, chennai railway station.both are very good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VIRU2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent South Indian Food”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Amazing South Indian Food... Especially there Mysore Masala Dosa..its too yum..

Only drawback, there is a long waiting for a table..one could die of hunger pangs standing outside the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esha1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best South Indian food in Delhi”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

If you want to have authentic south Indian food - Sarvana Bhawan Janpath @ CP is probably the best place in Delhi. Go a little late in the evening (after 8PM) and you are sure to find a 15-20 minute waiting. But they have great turnaround time. You would be amazed at the speed of service. I have been to this restaurant multiple times, and within 40-45 minutes we have ordered, eaten and are out as well. The idli's are super soft and melt in your mouth. All dosa's are great.

Only thing i find odd is - If you order for juice and tell them not to put ice - they charge you extra.

But overall, this is a must visit in Delhi. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ssuri81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saravana Bhavan also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Saravana Bhavan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing