We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives up to the hype”
Review of Thikana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thikana
Ranked #6 of 1,082 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lives up to the hype”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I came to Delhi for a week with my father and sister and we were looking for accommodations that would offer something a little more personal and artful than what you find by just booking a room at a hotel. Thikana delivered an experience that was totally fulfilling. Everything from the carefully curated rooms with comfortable beds and cozy showers to the very elegantly decorated interiors (thanks to the proprietor/curator Sheetal) to the warm staff and the delicious, swiss baked breads at breakfast, all of the effort and pride that goes into running Thikana feels designed to make your experience as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

My father, sister and I still remark to each other how much we feel honored to know the owners, Atul and Sheetal. They treat you like royalty, or rather, family. The New York times recommended Thikana, which is how I found them, and they're right. Thikana is incredible.
And it's completely affordable too?! Book them.

-Andrew

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dallascody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    67
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
86
207
91
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I must admit that I was a little disappointed in this B & B after all of the wonderful reviews on Tripadvisor. I think that my expectations were a little high & I had previously stayed at Saubhag at the beginning of our India triip.
Thikana is much bigger than your normal B & B & is more like a private hotel - and there in lies the difference.
The rooms were nice & clean & functional. Breakfast was fine but to me Thikkana lacked a personal warmth that I have found in other B & Bs. I really think that it has more of a hotel feel because of its size & number of staff. The staff were efficient but not overly friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrJAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Beautiful place. Gives you a peaceful stay in Delhi. Good rooms, lovely roof top, very good breakfast and good location near Hauz Khas village. Next time I'll be in Delhi, I will definitely stay in Thikana again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannapauliina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Amazing quality-price! So friendly people :) I love the fresh pomegranate & fruits for breakfast. Lovely roof top terasse to listen to some music and have a drink. They have amazing connections for massage, reiki & yoga!!! Great pressure in the shower and very good looking and fresh bathrooms. Delicious selection of order-ins. Free wifi. Free access to Internet via the B&B's computer. I am going again in a few weeks and so are 3 other people that we recommended this to.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christoff3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have been to Delhi 4 times over the past 1.5 years on business and would never consider staying anywhere else. Thikhana has the ability to continuously deliver a high level of service and has never disappointed. Aside from the basics - spacious, well-appointed rooms, modern bathrooms (with plenty of hot water as others have pointed out), friendly staff, fantastic bread selection at breakfast, etc. – it is the owners that make the difference, making you feel at home while away from home, introducing you to Indian culture whether it's recommending a place to eat or opening their home to guests on one of the many Indian holidays. Cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charmioc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We have stayed in Delhi several times over the past four years but this was the first time we chose a homestay option. We were most impressed with Thikana, staying on three separate occasions during our recent Indian vacation.
The location is convenient and quiet, being in a very secure, gated residential area. It can be a bit hard to find, our drivers had some trouble and normally had to ask directions. If you arrive late at night be aware that the gate may be locked and you have to come by another route.
All the staff were friendly and very helpful. The communal areas were well set up and provided an opportunity to meet other guests.
Free wifi was a HUGE bonus.
The entire place has lovely decor and numerous lounge options including a rooftop terrace. Room facilities are excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank opgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Best place I've stayed in my 2 week tour of India. Stayed at 3 different B&Bs in different cities, and I couldn't wait to get back to Thikana.
Pros: CONSTANT HOT WATER! Great service. Clean living. Friendly atmosphere. Amazing comfort.
Cons: none.

Owners are amazingly nice, and very helpful in every way. They always ask about your day, and what you have planned, and also help suggest things that you should try. We did everything they suggested, and has made our stay and experience in India so much better. Don't bother going somewhere else! This place has it all. Also, book early, because they sell out! Don't miss out!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinkPanda1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
2.2 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 717 in New Delhi
2,797 reviews
3.8 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 717 in New Delhi
2,739 reviews
4.3 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 717 in New Delhi
2,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#34 of 717 in New Delhi
2,016 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 717 in New Delhi
2,909 reviews
1.4 mi away
Colonel's Retreat
Colonel's Retreat
#3 of 1,082 in New Delhi
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thikana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thikana

Property: Thikana
Address: A-7, Gulmohar Park | khel Gaon Marg, New Delhi 110049, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 1,082 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your home while visiting New Delhi. Welcome to Thikana, where your adventure in India begins in the warmth of our family accommodation. Thikana, which in Hindi means the place to which you belong, is your destination for comfort and simple luxuries in the heart of the city.We are looking forward to hosting our guests and providing them with inputs about the latest happenings and activities in New Delhi during their stay at our Boutique B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Thikana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thikana Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing