We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont go in there”
Review of The Host

The Host
Ranked #496 of 12,634 Restaurants in New Delhi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Dont go in there”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The place stinks, horrible, yuck. A big noooooo. I had hear about a place a lot so I decided to take a business colleague there for lunch meeting and the place was stinking of god knows what. Horrible I felt like puking. I could only see middle aged men sitting and drinking and smoking in there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rohan2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    37
    22
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“No Ice”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The restauant is on two floors and we sat upstairs as we were with the tourists the locals seem to sit downstairs, I don't know if it is a pricing policy but...One of our party had delivered a very raw chicken birianiy so make sure it's all cooked before you eat. We were lucky we spotted it before it was eaten.Also the waiters still come out with drinks with Ice in them even if you say you don't want it!!!! Watch your tum

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 83peterc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Expensive and very average service”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We were attracted by the magnificent doorman but once inside this restaurant is a disappointment. For a start there is a television at one end making the place seem more like a cheap cafe, and the ambiance is uninviting. The food was ok but the waiter brought more than we ordered, told us we wouldn't be charged for the extra, and then charged us anyway even though we had told him to take it away. And the service was poor - older waiters behaving like they have a chip on their shoulders.
Take your business elsewhere and get a cheaper meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolineSMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GOOD FOR INDIAN BUT PATHETIC CHINESE”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Too good Indian cuisine but Chinese food is pathetic.Had a very bad experience with chicken sweet corn soup and drums of heaven. BOTH WERE HORRIBLE. The waiter attending us was also very rude and was trying to rush the orders. In fact he had to be warned once for this.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PRITPAL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant Food, a must visit in Delhi”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

So good we went back two nights in a row!

We visited on business and took 16-17 staff members with us, the food was prompt, fresh, piping hot and just stunning. The Dahl is great, The Butter Chicken is to die for and the Mint Parantha was mouth wateringly good!

Great value for money as well!

Returned on the second night and opted for the Chinese food, although good, it was not as good as we had elsewhere and the mixed sizzler was not to our taste.

However this is still a must go place, even just to see the amazing entrance - it's like Aladdin's cave.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MatBowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Host also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to The Host? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing