We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Ranked #42 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I came to Delhi still sick, so I had to stay in my hotel most of the five days until my flight back to Europe was scheduled. Every day I blessed my decision to have booked the Godwin Deluxe, because my room was most agreeable. Comfortable bed, a very nice bathroom with rainshower and horizontal jets, all switches with touch technology. The restaurant on the roof had good food, service was impeccable. Buffet breakfast was included and nice choice. The room was very clean, everyday service efficient.
If you need a taxi to the airport, find it for yourself - the hotel charges 700Rp whereas the normal price is 400.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank Gottfried Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GodwinNewDelhi, General Manager at Hotel Godwin Deluxe, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Guest thanks for your comfortable stay with us as regards the car prices we arrange

transfers with Suzuki Desire cars hence the prices are for Superior cars Aircondition.

Thanks

Apar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 975 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2014

Adventuring in India and especially in Paharganj, you might be surprised at the quality of hotel you can find tucked away on busy Arakashan road. Amongst lively sounds and colors of the reconstruction of the hotel across the way, tour drivers and tuk tuks, wild dogs, little school kids bustling to work and street vendors you will find The Hotel Godwin Deluxe. Inside, you find, just like the photos depict. A beautiful, fresh interior with very tasteful and modern style.

For the price you pay, you get very good service. The hotel managers listen carefully to your requests and strive to make them happen. The door staff are always eager to help you obtain your driver or assist you in and our of the hotel. The hotel staff are kind and helpful. They do not always know perfect English but then this is INDIA people, learn a little HINDI :)

The rooms are for the most part clean. There is some wear in some some places. For example, the chairs might use an upholtery cleaning. But the things that mattered such as clean bedding, clean bathroom, clean surfaces were all good. The hotel is a popular one and so there will be some wear and tear. This is normal. But the rooms look like the pictures. You have all the luxury of flat screen t.v. A.C. you can control, touch screen controls for automatic blinds, lights etc. There is a hair dryer and converters for your electronics. There is a small refrigerator stocked with drinks, a coffee/tea maker, snacks and room service. There is hot or cold running water at all times and the shower is just as described.

There is a bank ATM down the street, a pharmacy nearby, plenty of taxis or tuk-tuks. Speaking of transportation, the hotel has a travel desk that can help you with whereever you want to go. They have contract drivers who are reliable and safe. We had one driver meet us at 1:20am from the airport.

Expect to TIP the drivers. 20 to 35%. That's how they make their living. The rate for a car for the whole day is merely $27USD as of March 2014. But you might consider the driver is not getting hourly rates, so if you have him all day, compensate his time a bit.

The hotel can provide tours to Agra, Rajasthan, Dehli sites and pretty much wherever you want to go.

There is a restaurant on the top floor. Due to reconstruction of the hotel across the way, you won't get a great view. However, if you are like me and love everyday life, I found it fun to watch the school kids dodging tuk-tuks and just people watching. The food has vegetarian or non-vegetarian and there are a lot of things you can choose. I liked the vegetarian pizza, Indian curries and breads etc. They do have pancakes. LOL but they are India style pancakes. Still tasty. You can also have snacks like Pringles and chocolates or nuts in your room. Prices are listed. You get your first tea free then after that pay for it.

You can have guests but for safety reasons they are asked to leave at least by 11pm. The hotel is situated extremely close to the Metro, the Railways, the airport, most famous sites, shopping areas, and there are drivers available 24/7.

You do not have a safe in the room but they offer a safe at the front desk.

Another traveler had warned and it is a good tip, whatever you discuss or agree with one staff on one watch, make sure to confirm with the day staff or vice versa. Treat the managers with respect and they will do what they can to help you.

I had a great time while at this hotel. it was safe, comfortable, affordable, the staff very professional, polite and helpful. I was at a busy time- HOLI. And, they were more than patient as I had guests coming and going, held a birthday party, asked help on how to wear a saree, etc.
They accept all major credit cards. They can exchange your money and if not, there is an ATM down the street. If one staff does not understand you, they quickly get someone who does. And, the houseboy who cleaned our room, while not knowing full English, was very quick to figure out what I wanted and would go get it. Make sure to tip him well as he basically will go the extra mile for you and even go so far as leave the hotel to go to the nearest store to help you out.

They have computer use on site but during our stay the hotel's computer was down for repair. For business travelers, this might be an inconvenience but it is also a temporary one. I'm quite sure the hotel will have their computer up and running by the time you might visit.

So, feedback on how to improve? As time permits, try getting a foam upholstery cleaner and check the room chairs for any stains. It should be a quick fix and will help the overall look of cleanliness in the room. Check walls also for any spills. Other than that, the rooms are clean, cool, and though I was in a front room (by request) I had NO problem with noise. The curtains drown out the noise.

You will get more than what you paid for and I'd say this is a great bargain in a busy bustling location. It's safe enough to walk around but like most Metro city streets, be logical. Don't wonder around at night and have an escort in the day so you don't get lost.

Happy travels!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1005. There is an elevator to the top floor but you have to walk one flight up to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GodwinNewDelhi, General Manager at Hotel Godwin Deluxe, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Guest thanks for your Honest Review about your stay and about the Hotel the Review shall

be shared with all Team Godwin Members.


Thanks

Apar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Thanks to the Godwin Deluxe, we all had a great time and although the front rooms are noisy and most of our party (8) had them, we all survived and enjoyed our time at Godwin.

The rooms are pretty basic but clean and I thought the beds were very comfortable and the pillows great.

Towels could have been a little less worn but I have had worse.

The breakfasts were delicious, set up on the roof top with not much of a view but fresh air nonetheless! You can chose either 'side' one for smoking or enclosed for non smoking (often handy on those chilly mornings or nights).

Great selection of food choices, juices, fresh fruit and yoghurt, toast, indian selection, eggs any style, tea and coffee, all pretty good.

And we ate up there for evening meals (ok and a few drinks too) and each meal was delicious, in particular the Chicken Tandoor, loved it!

We would definitely recommend this place to anyone staying in the area, good location, lots of shops to pick up last minute items and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear, front ones are very noisy from the traffic below
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GodwinNewDelhi, General Manager at Hotel Godwin Deluxe, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Guest thanks for the time to write the Review of your stay with us we shall share this with

all Team Members.

Thanks

Apar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Godwin Deluxe is a good hotel handy to central Delhi ,meals excellent open 24/7 breakfast all you need just remember you are in Delhi ,staff very obliging used taxi from Hotel to Airport early morning a bit more expensive but still cheap by the prices you would pay in your home Country peace of mind to be able to get in the cab at the door ,real good stay at this Hotel street appeal ok but as I said you are in Delhi .just book it .

Room Tip: Street noise but take ear plugs on your holiday , but when you see people sleeping on the streets it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merx_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GodwinNewDelhi, General Manager at Hotel Godwin Deluxe, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear Guest thanks for your stay with us the encourageing words with your Review it shall be shared with all team Members.

Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

hotel was nice but very expensive and more over the staff was not good ,with the same price one can have so many better choice and locations in Delhi so i will not recommend especially family and high official

Room Tip: staff was not good very expensive hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GodwinNewDelhi, General Manager at Hotel Godwin Deluxe, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear guest thanks for staying at Godwin Deluxe we value your out of the context Review thanks

for the time for writing.

Thanks


Team Godwin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

From the moment we are greeted at the airport, the Godwin Deluxe experience begins….
This hotel is absolutely fantastic & like another reviewer stated, they deserve more STARS. The service is perfect, the rooms are perfect and the experience of having food at it's terrace was great. All the staff seems determined to make you feel special.
Thanks to the staff and the Hotel Management for such a wonderful-wonderful experience.
I would again like to say that it's a Value for Money and the Best Hospitality I ever had.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidInDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GodwinNewDelhi, General Manager at Hotel Godwin Deluxe, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear Guest Thanks For your comfortable Stay you Review shall be shared with all Team Members.

Thanks

Apar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Hotel is nice and rooms are clean. however room (or at least my room) did not have proper window (feels little cramped that way).
Overall I would recommend this hotel those who are on a busy schedule and wish to just stay in for a night or two not more.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Rohan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GodwinNewDelhi, General Manager at Hotel Godwin Deluxe, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Guest a change of Room is a option that is avaliable to any of our inhouse staying guests

if you had requested as such it was allways welcome to you.

Thanks

Team Godwin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#46 of 779 in New Delhi
1,250 reviews
Wood Castle
#35 of 779 in New Delhi
1,154 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#58 of 779 in New Delhi
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel City Star
#28 of 779 in New Delhi
1,421 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#56 of 779 in New Delhi
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Godwin Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Godwin Deluxe

Address: 8502 / 41, Ara Kashan Road, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: $32 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Godwin Deluxe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally air-conditioned hotel that provides round the clock service to its guests. The hotel provides complimentary arrival transfer from the airport to hotel on conditional terms. All the rooms have climate control panel in the room. 24 hr hot & cold running water is available in the bathroom. Every bathroom has a luxury shower. Complimentary buffet b/fast is served with every room. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city, within walking distance to the main train station, business centers and historical sites too like The Red Fort, Raj Ghat, India Gate and President's House. The hotel provides free left luggage service to all its guests. The roof top restaurant serves multi-cuisine menu 24 hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Godwin Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing