We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Ranked #72 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
new york
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fine hotel for the money”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I stayed here for several nights, on a ground floor room. As such, there was no view from the room (although, it must be said, the views from anywhere in the area are not much to write home about - this is Pahar Ganj after all). The room (including bed and sheets) was spotlessly clean, not too noisy at all (impressive, given the neighborhood) and hot water was indeed available at all time.

Staff friendliness does leave a lot to be desired. Wi-fi is not really available in the room (like everywhere else in India, I'm told) and reception is otherwise very poor. For those who need internet access, that is a major issue. Cumbersome password protection doesn't help things.

The main attraction of the place is the rooftop restaurant - very good food, very friendly staff. I found myself returning there again and again. Since this restaurant is available only to hotel guests, I guess you have to stay at the hotel to experience it.

Note that there's another (affiliated) Godwin hotel across the street from this one, so don't confuse their respective reviews.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewYorker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    237
    93
    34
    19
See reviews for
106
243
103
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Москва, Россия
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

First impression then i came was nice: rooms are great set out, nice furniture, clean.
But then it started to come and come tons of cockroaches, they were everythere, even near the pillow in the bed, everywhere in bathroom. I needed to go airport 3 am, so i didnt sleep all night, i had panic.
Then i went downstairs to leave to airport and told all that situation to the manager at front desk - he just ignored me!!! Ignored! And smiled to my face! I asked him if he has ANY comments to the situation, the answer was : "sorry madam, i don't know what to answer".
No comments.
Double think if you want to stay here, because cockroaches are serving infections.

Room Tip: i stayed in room facing to the street - on 4th floor, it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Oxana_Ivanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peteraymond, General Manager at Hotel Godwin Deluxe, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We (The entire Hotel team & The management) is extremely sorry for the cockroaches issue experienced by your and mentioned in your review. The issue mentioned in your review is nothing less than a nightmare for us because not even in our weirdest dreams can we think of such an unbelievable review. We are not at all trying to say that the review posted is incorrect. It is just that it has come to us as a big big surprise because we have not come across such type of a complaint in the past. Please be least assured that we shall address to your complaint on immediate basis and eradicate the cause from the root forever. Kindly accept our sincere apologies and be kind to give us one more chance to be at your service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We are stay in this hotel for 3nights and that's our best days in India because of the staff of this hotel. room are good with
Comfortable bed for a very good sleep bathroom with jet shower.
Now the best part of hotel is restaurant we found a good friend Vipin and his team there. He (Vipin) doing shift rotate as par our stay every morning he welcoming us and tell us about buffet,yoga classes and
Dinner theme.
I hope will be back and stay in this same hotel

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigita-48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. The rooms are very good, especially by Indian stadards. The shower in particular (with 5 heads) was great, and the bed very comfortable.

However, throughout our stay we felt the customer service (or lack of) of the staff really let this hotel down. We had many issues (especially with one particular male receptionsist who works days throughout out stay), but here are a few of the main ones which stood out:

Even though we'd booked through booking.com in advance, the reception staff insisted that we paid upfront. I informed them that I'd rather pay upon check out, but this wasn't good enough apparently.

We had some laundry done by the hotel. However, whoever does this had WRITTEN our room number on in BLUE INK on every item, including a very nice pale blue shirt which was completely ruined with a four digit number written on the bottom of it! Not only that, but the ink had run all over the back of the shirt. When we complained, there was no apology from the incompetent male receptionist we spoke to. When we refused to pay for the laundry he said he would take 50% (amounting to 75 rupees!) off the laundry charge. We refused to pay any of the laundry charge which was nothing in comparison with the value of the shirt!

When I requested to settle our bill the night before checking out (we were leaving at 5.30am), the same incompetent male receptionist refused and insisted I paid in the morning because someone else would be on shift. When I asked why I couldn't pay then he came up with no reason at all. I conculded that he was simply too lazy to deal with it and would leave it up to some other member of staff to deal with on the early shift.

One afternoon we were having a drink in the restaurant with some friends who were also staying in the hotel. When we requested the bill the asked for it to be split between the two rooms. However, the waiter didn't remember or understand this point, so when we came back with one bill to sign we asked him to change it. At this request he very loudly sighed, huffed, and turned around in a particularly agitated manner.

So in summary I would say this is a hotel in good condition, but the manager should really spend some time and effort training his staff in good, basic customer service and this is seriously letting this hotel down.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertievonSorrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peteraymond, General Manager at Hotel Godwin Deluxe, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

The management of the Hotel sincerely apologizes for all the inconveniences faced by you.
Relating to your bad experience with the staff at the front office and the laundry issue, we can only say that these matters could have been brought into the senior manager’s knowledge during your stay so that the necessary measures and some sort of compensation could have been sorted out for you.
The reason for not settling the bill night before leaving is because we have 24 hrs reception to execute late night check ins and early morning check outs. And that at times guests avail the in-room services after settling their bills and then claim to have paid for everything at the time of check-out without realizing that they had consumed some chargeable items from the mini bar and snacks basket after settling their bill once.
Once again we submit our apologies for the hostile nature shown by the steward and assure you and the members of this forum that necessary initiative will be taken and specialized training sessions will be conducted to ensure that the staff is more hospitable in future and that such type of inconveniences are not caused to the guests.

Regards
Raymond Peter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the way out of India only because the City Star Hotel was already booked. On first impression the hotel seems nice and relatively upscale. We were picked up at the train station and check-in was efficient. That is pretty much where the positive aspects ended.
Here is a breakdown of the pros and cons:

Pros:
• Room was quiet (had a side room)– considering noise level out on the street.
• Bed was comfortable and pillows were soft, not the usual ‘Indian brick’ style pillow.
• Restaurant staff was very friendly and attentive.
• Great shower with liquid soap dispenser (nice touch).

Cons:
• Room was dirty – seemed like it was cleaned with a dirty mop and water, floor felt grimy.
• Bathroom was mouldy and smelled off.
• Bedding was stained – not clean?
• Majority of front desk staff weren't friendly, bordered on rude.
• Asked about a cab to a market (not too far away) was quoted a ridiculous price.
• Shuttle to the airport (heading out of the country) not included.
• Wifi signal was very weak, useless in the room and barely functioning in the lobby.

I cannot recommend this hotel based on the attitude of some of the front desk staff alone, not very welcoming. I think this hotel is resting on its laurels due to high recommendations on Trip Advisor. Not the best hotel experience in India by far.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sznn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peteraymond, General Manager at Hotel Godwin Deluxe, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Though the review posted is not positive, The management of the hotel still wish to thank you for bringng the negative points into our knowledge through this review. Mentioning the stay period and the room number helps us is detecting the cause and treating the problem accordingly. However, necessary staff training work-shops have already been started with a hope that the points mentioned in your review will never arise again. We also would like to request you to be our guest again and experience the difference.
About the price quoted for a cab seemed to be ridiculous to you ,but, it is a minimum price that is charged for a minimum distance to a reasonable distance travel.
As for inclusion of airport drop off in the room price, it is not feasible for the management because the room prices are already very competitive and there are already some complimentary services included in the room price.
The issue of wi-fi bad connectivity in the room and in the lobby was till now not at all brought into our knowledge. We request the guests to bring the issues into our knowledge while their stay so that immediate action can be taken to resolve the issues and give a comfortable stay to every guest,

Regards
Raymond Peter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
218 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel could be really good if your booking was guaranteed. The location is excellent. It is close to the New Delhi railway station, the airport Metro train & a couple of blocks walk to the main bazaar. We arrived at the Hotel Grand Godwin which is their sister hotel next door with a group booking. The organiser had visited the Hotel Grand Godwin twice previously to arrange the accommodation. But the Hotel did not have all the rooms booked & some of us were sent over to the Hotel Godwin Deluxe which meant the group stayed over the 2 hotels. We were initially put in the room behind reception for 8 nights & after complaining bitterly waited until 7pm to get a room on the 4th floor. Things improved once we saw the room...it was a good size & has been completely renovated. So much so that there are blue lights from touch buttons & electric blinds & curtains. One wonders what will happen when the electrics break down. The room is below the kitchen on the rooftop floor so can be noisy from 6am & late into the night. The overall service from reception was terrible & unfortunately we had to continually deal with them as we had to get our room key recoded & get a new code for the unreliable internet each day. The restaurant/balcony area on the top floor & the service, food & drinks was fantastic. A very pleasant way to spend the evening up there. If only this filtered through to reception. For convenience we wanted to stay 2 extra nights & tried to book but they told us to come back on the day we needed...which comes back to bookings, the start of all their problems. We did not stay the 2 extra nights. Even as we were checking out we overheard a new arrival say “but I booked the room months ago” & their reply was they did not have one.....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CricketGirlDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peteraymond, General Manager at Hotel Godwin Deluxe, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank for your posted review. We would like to clarify here that despite of our regular requests to the organizer to visit the property to check the arranged accommodations no had come over even once. It was well in advance made clear to the organizer about the accommodation possibilities to which he had agreed. The rooms were pre-arranged with the consent of the organizer. However we are sorry for the initial inconvenience caused to you. About mentioning that at your check out time you overheard a new arrival say “but I booked the room months ago” and our reply was we did not have one. This is just one side of the matter the other side of the matter was that they had not paid for a guaranteed reservation. It is a request not to mention which not completely clear or un-justified.
We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused and shall be working upon to ensure a better experience and a no-problem stay in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Airport pick up was well organized, the staff were very accomodating and helpful throughout my stay most especially Amar Vaidhya. He is always ready and available to assist guest, he made my stay in New Dehli very interesting and easy. He is a value addition to your organization.
I also want to appreciate Mrs. DISHA who is very pleasant and has very good customer service qualities. She is one of the reasons your hotel will have many guests and will always willing to come back.
I want to Himanshu also for his excellent customer service.
The free wifi was added value to the hotel. The shower is equally good couple with the nice breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Semiloge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#55 of 716 in New Delhi
1,065 reviews
Hotel Ajanta
#59 of 716 in New Delhi
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel City Star
#22 of 716 in New Delhi
1,286 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#50 of 716 in New Delhi
1,688 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Shelton
Hotel Shelton
#93 of 716 in New Delhi
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Godwin Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Godwin Deluxe

Property: Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Address: 8502 / 41, Ara Kashan Road, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Godwin Deluxe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally air-conditioned hotel that provides round the clock service to its guests. The hotel provides complimentary arrival transfer from the airport to hotel on conditional terms. All the rooms have climate control panel in the room. 24 hr hot & cold running water is available in the bathroom. Every bathroom has a luxury shower. Complimentary buffet b/fast is served with every room. The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city, within walking distance to the main train station, business centers and historical sites too like The Red Fort, Raj Ghat, India Gate and President's House. The hotel provides free left luggage service to all its guests. The roof top restaurant serves multi-cuisine menu 24 hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Godwin Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing