We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The ONLY best resturant in Delhi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Gimignano

San Gimignano
Ranked #98 of 12,530 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“The ONLY best resturant in Delhi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have been in Delhi 2 months now and this is the ONLY resturant I would ever go to, it is simply the best:
the food is amazing and so is the serivce, wish I could go every day ........

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kirisydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    46
    15
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
489 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Delicious food, delightful ambience, great service, too expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

It's the best Italian food I've had in India in recent decades (I remember the old Italian restaurant at the Taj Mahal Hotel as being even better). The food was delicious and well-prepared. I had pumpkin tortelloni and a creamy asparagus soup, both of which were excellent. The asparagus soup on the menu is a clear one, but they happily made me a cream version, which was wonderful. The ambience is good, though perhaps it would benefit from having one or two tables less to make it less crowded. I have food allergies, which sometimes makes dining out a bit complicated, but they took care of me without the slightest problem. The prices are way over the top, though.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peregrineri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food, impeccable service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

This restaurant is located inside the Imperial Hotel (Janpath) in Delhi.

We were a family of four who went for lunch and enjoyed it so much that we were back for dinner the same night.

Service is great. And the quality of ingredients they use as well as the way they are cooked (or served raw in salads) makes for a very enjoyable experience.

Some of us in the family are more fond of Italian food than the others - however - we all chose to go back for a second meal.

Definitely our best Italian meal in India.

Since we did not consume any alcohol, this review cannot comment on the price of wine or alcoholic cocktails. All the non-alcoholic items were priced appropriately for this class of restaurant. And we found this a reasonable Italian meal for 4.

The pasta was fresh. The prawns were enormous. The ham and pepperoni was not of Indian origin - quite definitely imported. The lasagna was very well made with good quality beef - again not of Indian origin.

We will definitely be back the next time we are in Delhi.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AJNJ-Roaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice but phenomenally expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Great ambience, decent food albeit not quite Tuscany. Extremely expensive. Wines prohibitive. Service OK could be better

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank padarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

The hotel is one of the older imperial hotels so the set up of the restaurant is very nice. Its a perfect place for a nice romantic evening as they've got a sit out as well. The food is impeccable. Their choices of vegetarian food is very good. The staff is very very helpful and pleasant. Must visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deepa1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Gimignano also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to San Gimignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing