We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good B&B in suburban Delhi”
Review of The Estate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Estate
Ranked #24 of 1,082 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milan
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good B&B in suburban Delhi”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at this guest house at the beginning and and of our trip to India. The guest house is inside a very quiet gated community, but it's quite far out from the town centre, although not from the airport. So it's handy if you have a flight to take, while you need to take a taxi (or the metro) to visit the town proper. On this subject the owners of the guest house have negotiated very good rates with a local taxi firm, easy to book and saving the usual haggling.

We were treated very well by owners and staff alike. We were even invited to a family Christmas party! Rooms were very spacious and clean. Only problem we experienced was that the rooms were pretty cold when we arrived as is was winter and we were the only guests. But after putting the heating on and getting extra blankets things improved.
We also tried the vegetarian dinner that was very tasty.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    28
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
45
56
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Estate was mediocre.

On the surface, the place looks nice. Overall though, the staff seemed uninterested and didn’t seem to listen to us. They didn’t seem to be expecting us on our arrival and our driver seemed to need to do some talking to explain. Thankfully we had the voucher to prove payment. No one introduced themselves, nor gave us any kind of orientation to the facilities or services. That said, one gentlemen did walk us to the Metro stop showing us a shortcut. I am grateful for his helpfulness. The mosquitoes in our room were very bad. I think I killed no less than 20 while there. They seemed to get in the room even with the doors and windows shut! You could see where other previous guests had been smashing mosquitoes on the wall prior to our arrival. I had hardly seen a mosquito in all of northern India until that point. The food for dinner was very expensive by Indian standards and not remarkable. Breakfast was marginal at best. Upon departure and checkout, I asked for the tip box. The older gentlemen (a manager?) said the tip box was with the owner. Where the owner was I don’t know? Never saw him/her. I left a tip with this gentlemen to be split among the staff. I wonder if the he really did so.

Overall, this was the worst place that we stayed during our 16 nights in India.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savuti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theestatebnb, Owner at The Estate, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

At the very outset we truly regret any inconvenience you faced while staying with us. It is indeed unfortunate that you did not enjoy your experience at The Estate. Please accept our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations.

I would like to clarify the following:

Most of our staff has been with us for many years and is usually extremely friendly and hospitable. We regret that you felt that they did not accord you an appropriate welcome.

All guests who come through travel agents submit vouchers at check in. Your booking was confirmed and in all likelihood your driver and our staff were exchanging routine pleasantries and check-in information in Hindi.

Delhi does have mosquitoes in warm weather and monsoons.The government regularly sends their fog machines to get rid of them from outside areas and in addition we have our own personal machine for the same purpose that we use daily during that period. We also routinely spray the iteriors with anti-mosquito spray. Our rooms are equipped with electronic repellents and all doors and windows have wire mesh to prevent pests from entering, however, if some guests do keep the mesh windows of their room open, it is possible that some mosquitoes may enter. Had you brought your discomfort to our attention, we would have sprayed your room with anti-mosquito spray immediately to take care of the problem.

The cost of living in Delhi is much higher than smaller towns and most other cities of India. Our meals (on request) are homestyle, plentiful and freshly cooked at a very basic charge for the convenience of guests who wish to dine in-house.

The elderly gentleman you mention indeed manages the property and has been with The Estate from day one and is practically a member of the family. Please be assured the tip you left would have been fairly distributed amongst the staff in the absence of the tip box which is cleared once a month.

We do hope you will give us another opportunity to host you and take back a far more positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed here on our arrival in New Delhi and could not fault anything about the guest house or its staff. You are asked whether you would prefer meat or vegetarian, we had both on different evenings and I can honestly say we thoroughly enjoyed the several vegetarian dishes we had. There is a mosquito plug-in but if you notice that you have a few mozzies flying round, just ask and someone will be happy to spray round the skirting boards of the room for you - job done efficiently and to our satisfaction.
We were allowed to leave our cases at the guest house until we came back following a one night stop-over in Amritsar which was a great help so we did not have to tote 2 heavy suitcases around.
We were supposed to be picked up by TransIndus our travel company at 6.15 a.m. for our trip to the railway station and when they had not arrived by 6.30 a.m. the night porter noticed that we were still waiting and arranged for the Manager Mr. Singh to telephone on several occasions to see why they hadnt turned up.
Dont use TRANSINDUS they are very unreliable, turning up at 7 a.m. for our train which was supposed to leave at 7.20 a.m. - a journey that was supposed to take 40 minutes. They did this journey in 30 minutes and I have never been so scared in all my life. This is the third time we have visited India so are used to the mad driving of India but we have never experienced such a terrifying, hair-raising journey in all our lives. I sat in the back of the car in the braced position while the drived bounced over speed bumps, drove through numerous red lights and narrowly missed an old lady when he sped round a corner. We arrived at the station 10 minutes too late but luckily the train was just leaving the platform and the driver urged us to run alongside and jump on the train. My husband and I are 72 and 70 respectively and its amazing we did not suffer some fatal injury during either the car journey or the run to the train.
Any way back to The Estate Guest House. If you use this guest house, you will not be at all disappointed and we would not hesitate in returning.

Room Tip: We had the ground floor room next to the reception. The only problem was the bathroom backed onto a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derrick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a great time staying in this hotel. This was the first hotel we stayed in in India and we were pleasantly surprised. Great value fir money.

The room was lovely and the service excellent. Location was great and we had a good time exploring the local market. The evening meal was very enjoyable and plentiful.

Would be very happy to book this place again

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chriswhiteside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My friends and I stayed at this wonderful B & B for just one night - the night before the dawn flight back home - and immediately wished that we spent at least two or more nights there instead.

The rooms were very well decorated and planned with power points aplenty. The bathroom was small but both so well equipped and planned that it could be called spacious. The staff were pleasantly accommodating and even woke up very early to prepare us breakfast.

It may have been the shortest stay of our two week trip in India but it was among the nicest places that we stayed at. And the others included some palace hotels!

Estate B & B, keep up the wonderful work. If only more B & B's were run like your's....

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank routetrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed at The Estate for 4 nights in Sept 2012 and overall this was a very pleasurable experience. After hectic days sigthseeing in and around Delhi the Estate was a very peaceful place to return 'home' to in the evening. The evening meal and breakfasts were plentiful and tasty with good variety (especially at breakfast). The room was spotless, bed very comfortable and with reliable airconditioning we had restful sleep, and also a nice hot shower. Staff were always very helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed at The Estate for 2 nights.

The location for us wasn't bad. It's only a 5 minute walk from the house (through some back streets) to the Sultanpur Metro station and from there you can go anywhere in Delhi! We found the metro extremely useful and easy to use but if you're not big on public transport I wouldn't recommend this hotel as it's very out the way and you'll end up spending a lot of money on getting taxied around.

The room itself was very presentable - lovely and quiet with a view of the garden. The whole house seemed very clean, there was just one issue I had with the cleanliness and that was the pillows. When opening the cupboard to get a few more I noticed that they all had large brown stains on them, covering both the pillow and the case.

Breakfast and dinner were both nice but having all three staff stand and watch you eat was not so nice..

Room Tip: If you're going out in the evening through the back door, make sure you tell one of the staff wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Greedy-Whiskers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Chhoti Haveli
#32 of 1,082 in New Delhi
186 reviews
Tree Of Life
#5 of 1,082 in New Delhi
422 reviews
Colonel's Retreat
#2 of 1,082 in New Delhi
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hauz Khas
Haveli Hauz Khas
Haveli Hauz Khas
#7 of 1,082 in New Delhi
197 reviews
Saket Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 1,082 in New Delhi
375 reviews
Lutyens Bungalow
#16 of 1,082 in New Delhi
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Estate

Property: The Estate
Address: 29 Sultanpur Estate Mandi Road | Mandi Jaunapur Road, Mehrauli, New Delhi 110030, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,082 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Estate 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Estate is a charming bed and breakfast located in the green and exclusive Sultanpur Estate in Mehrauli. A registered Gold Category accommodation, it is ideally located in a twenty-five minutes driving radius from the Airport, Gurgaon, Vasant Vihar and Saket. The guesthouse is located in the annex of the main house - welcoming yet private. There are 6 rooms (including one family suite) and they all have individual charm, whether lawn facing or with private balconies, all have attached bathrooms and are well appointed with modern amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Estate Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing