We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Clean & Modern Rooms, Good Value for Money”
Review of Treebo Amber

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Treebo Amber
Ranked #117 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Clean & Modern Rooms, Good Value for Money”
Reviewed December 30, 2010

We found the hotel Amber on Trip Advisor, and took all reviews into careful consideration pre making our reservation. We stayed for three nights, two consecutive nights upon our arrival in Delhi, and one further night upon our return to Delhi post spending a couple of days in Agra.

Given we were only in Delhi for a short period of time, we decided to stay at a boutique hotel as opposed to a large American chain. We knew we would spend our entire time sightseeing hence we did not require a pool, spa, gym etc... We are quite fussy travellers, hence we were looking for in a hotel in Delhi that provided good value for money, safety (two ladies travelling on their own) & good location, cleanliness, restaurant / room service, easy access to the airport and very helpful & friendly staff. The Amber did not disappoint, despite taking a gamble and relying solely upon strangers reviews on trip advisor.

I agree with other (recent) reviewers that rooms are spotless and the beds are incredibly comfortable. We stayed in two different rooms (as we stayed twice), one on the second floor and one on the third floor. We were happy with both rooms.

The choice of food at breakfast is good (depends what you are looking for / expect). The portion size is sufficient for men and women and will suit whether you are eating and then travelling to the airport for home, or heading out for a day of sightseeing. Eat what you want in short. Omlettes are great and very filling - ask for a three egg omlette. We enjoyed breakfast.

We bought bottled water in the hotel (approx 40 rps) as we knew it would be okay. We carried this around with us during the day. We were strongly advised NOT to drink out of (the refillable) glass bottles (plastic okay) and we 100% agree with this.

We had room service on two occasions and the food was fabulous. Tasty, generous portions, fresh and hot. Suited us perfectly. A good variety of different cuisines on offer too.

We didn't take advantage of the roof-top terrace, but we did take a look around. It's a nice open, comfortable, space if you fancy a drink at the end of a long day. We saw a middle age couple chilling with some drinks as we stopped by. This hotel is definitely suited to young, middle-age and travellers with young children. Business travellers too.

We arranged our own taxi when we arrived at the airport to take us to the hotel - very straight forwards - make sure you use the pre-paid taxi desk at the airport. The hotel is approx 45 mins from the airport, really not too far at all. I agree with previous reviewers that it is not that straight forwards to find the hotel, but do not let that put you off staying. We had a map (printed off the internet), and the hotel spoke to our taxi driver to provide directions to get us to the hotel. It really wasn't not a big deal.

Yes, the rickshaws struggled to find the hotel too when we were out and about sightseeing on our own. We used our mobiles and the hotel staff to guide us back safely, we also made sure to negotiate a fixed fare pre getting into any rickshaw. That is a must.

The front desk organised a taxi to the airport upon checkout for the final time. We obviously paid the tourist price but we did not feel ripped off. We tipped the hotel staff accordingly at the end of our stay.

The hotel organised a day of sightseeing when we arrived and also a driver to / from Agra. The hotel manager, Mukesh, was absolutely amazing. He could not do enough for us throughout our stay. He personally organised the car to / from Agra and negotiated an excellent tariff - way below what we would have paid for a private taxi. I'm sure he would be very happy to help other guests. The front desk were helpful, but clearly did not have his contacts - a big plus and something to be mindful of.

The front desk were super, super, super, super helpful (sometimes a little over the top for us). We put this down to 'culture' as opposed to being specific to the Amber, we did find the same 'helpful approach' wherever we travelled in India to be fair.

We would definitely stay again for a couple of days and recommend this hotel to our friends. We would recommend this to couples, friends (ladies travelling together on their own as well too) and families who are in Delhi primarily for sightseeing and business.

We have nothing negative to write about this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KLB_Travel_Buddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    127
    45
    11
    7
See reviews for
75
115
54
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

The Amber is a pleasant, modern, clean, and quiet small hotel in South Delhi, near the Escorts Heart Institute. The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable, there is free wireless internet throughout, and the staff are courteous, though not particularly friendly. The main problem with the Amber is that it is in a very awkward location for the tourist. There is no metro nearby, and it is nigh-on impossible to get a taxi driver to find it (even if you speak Hindi). It's a 30 minute drive to CP, costing about US$5-6. Coming back at night is always an adventure.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We stayed here for two nights enroute to Kathmandu. The room was clean and contemporary in design and furnishing. The staff, though courteous, were not very knowledgeable about places of interest or transportation. The hotel is located in a residential area so finding taxis or rickshaws was always difficult. I suppose its rate makes up for this.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhilaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2010

I have been coming to New Delhi regularly during the last year for business and have stayed at The Amber a number of times. It is a great substitute to the big five star hotels because it provides comparable facilities and services at much cheaper prices. Spanking clean marble bathrooms, rain showers, branded toiletries and flat screen TV's are things you generally only find in five star hotels. Lots of hot water and centralized heating during the winter months makes the stay very comfortable.

Recently they have also added a lovely gym and have made a new restaurant which is bigger. The management is great and I have noticed over the last year that they are constantly working on improving the property. The staff is extremely courteous and will go out of their way to satisfy guests. Although the location is a little out of the way but it works for me as its very quiet in the evenings in this otherwise very noisy city and Im able to get great sleep. All in all great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khurram H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2010

The Amber is a great little hotel. The rooms (and bathrooms) are spotless, the beds are comfy, there's free wifi, and they have BBC world news on the tv. The Indian food I tried was delicious, and you can eat either in the dining area on the ground floor or on the lovely roof-top terrace. The airport pick-up worked very smoothly, and all the staff were helpful and efficient. The location is quite far from the centre, and there's nothing to speak of within walking distance. That said, all my meetings were in south Delhi, so not being near Connaught Place was a distinct advantage in terms of minimizing the time spent in traffic. I think this place offers terrific value for money and I'd certainly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank argon514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2010

Not worth the price they are charging. I agree the room is very modern and bathroom and its accessories are ok but the room is very small and clumsy. Never stay on the 3rd floor since the heater on the terrace when switched ON vibrates the room, those with sensitive ears like me feels irrirated all the time.

The location is difficult to find and no one is aware of this hotel.

The breakfast although free offers only fruit platter and egg omlette, bread. There are no restaurants or eating joints near by so there is no option but to eat there.

There was no jet spray in the WC which indicates this hotel is not meant for most of the Indian, I have also stayed in many 4 and 5 star category hotel and they also have jet sprays.

When I contacted the reception for car for Agra to and fro trip, they first told me they will charge me Rs.7000/- when I bargained they reduced it to Rs.6000 HOWEVER I still did not take their service and hired a private car/taxi from outside with the driver which ONLY costed me Rs.4600/- HENCE DONT hire the car from the hotel, they should remember there business is not earning commission from the car travellers but hotel business.

I would not recommend this place for sure to anyone and look for other alternative or branded group of hotels.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tej1375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2010

I was in New Delhi for a wedding and the groom kindly put me up at The Amber. Nice quiet neighbourhood, friendly staff and spacious, well-appointed rooms. A boutique hotel at its best. Thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast buffet with all the essentials. The only downside was the lack of windows in the room... but it's hardly a deal-breaker.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatguythere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.3 mi away
Basil the Residency
Basil the Residency
#90 of 715 in New Delhi
152 reviews
3.1 mi away
Treebo Royce
Treebo Royce
#210 of 715 in New Delhi
60 reviews
2.1 mi away
Treebo Conclave Riviera
Treebo Conclave Riviera
#205 of 715 in New Delhi
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Treebo Kings Plaza
Treebo Kings Plaza
#399 of 715 in New Delhi
6 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ameya Suites
Ameya Suites
#125 of 715 in New Delhi
19 reviews
14.9 mi away
Treebo Southwest Inn
Treebo Southwest Inn
#94 of 715 in New Delhi
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treebo Amber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treebo Amber

Property: Treebo Amber
Address: 198 Sukhdev Vihar Road, New Delhi 110024, India (Formerly The Amber - New Delhi )
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in New Delhi
#37 Business Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Treebo Amber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treebo Amber in Sukhdev Vihar, New Delhi enjoys a nice position near many corporate offices and local attractions like Lotus Temple (4.7 km) and Humayun's tomb (6.4 km). Shopping hotspots are nearby too, making it a perfect base for all kinds of travellers visiting Delhi. Moolson Coors, Uniclean,Unitech, Hindustan Tin Works Ltd, ANK Global Health, T&K consultancy, Radiant all these companies are within 6 km of the hotel. Tonnes of facilities are available at this Treebo property: Breakfast and Wi-Fi and Parking are complimentary and laundry service is available for a charge. A travel desk, ironing board and event hosting facilities are also available. The restaurant serving delicious food within the premises is a must visit. The hotel also has a cool roof top cafe that is perfect for spending time and unwinding. The hotel authorities can arrange for a spa treatment upon request. All rooms are air-conditioned and central heating is available to comfort guests in chilly winters of Delhi. Other amenities include electric kettle, LCD TV, satellite channels and free toiletries in the bathroom. Located at a distance of 18 km from Indira Gandhi international Airport and 17 km from New Delhi Railway Station. The nearest bus stop is at Vir Hakikat Rai ISBT (6.5 kms) and the metro station at Jasola Apollo Metro Station (3 kms). Popular eateries like Essence, Yum Tree, Al Bake, Chawla's and McDonald's are within 2.3 kms of Treebo Amber. The bustling hub of New Friend's Colony and its market is only 2.3 km. Fortis Escorts Hospital is an easy walk - only 600 meters away and the Indraprastha Apollo just 1.8 kms from here, making it a good option for medical tourists as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Treebo Amber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amber - New Delhi Hotel New Delhi
Amber Hotels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing