We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Experience ...... :(”
Review of Rajdhani Thali

Rajdhani Thali
Ranked #77 of 12,659 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Rajdhani, The Vegetarian Thali Restaurant which is the flagship brand of Mirah Hospitality has spread its aroma in this industry over the past few decades. Known as a "thali place" with 72 different rotating menus with 22,464 delicacies from Gujarat and Rajasthan. Rajdhani offers even to the most regular customers out of 9 million delighted guests the aroma of novelty.
Delhi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Average Experience ...... :(”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Location is good because its in CP -now its not in front of PVR as per given address -as it is on the outer circle of CP, just before the turn into Janpath. Parking should not an issue. But, with the current digging around that area leaves one with dust in the mouth!
Terrible experience with long waiting outside the restrarant.
Ambiance of this location is not stellar, and the seating on the 1st floor is better than the ground floor.
Food - we went there on last sunday and experiance a very lazy services . There is a standard thali ( fixed menu ) system, They serves start with, dhokla and another fried pakoda type item. Then comes the dal batti and the rest of the food entrees. This is followed by breads such as Tawa roti, puri, butter water, mango sweet dish and then rice or khitchdi.
For some reason it did not taste that we were having authentic Rajasthani and Gujrati food..and compare this to other such restaurants in CP offering thali's - this was mediocre. But, it is a good experience for someone who has not been to such a restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abhay2809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khandani_Rajdhani, Representative at Rajdhani Thali, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Corporate Office of Rajdhani Thali Restaurants.

We seriously appreciate your patience in sharing your experience at Rajdhani Thali Restaurant and bringing the details to our notice.

We at Rajdhani Thali Restaurants are constantly seeking to work towards enhancing guest experiences and every feedback is important for us.

Menu prepared at Rajdhani Thali Restaurant is rotational and subject to last minute change to suite the operational requirement thereby ensuring standards of Authentic Cuisine are met.

Food Quality & Service have been the Key areas of your feedback and it holds immense importance for us as it is one of the integral areas of what we promise to deliver.

We would like to investigate and get a thorough Quality Check on Food and training conducted with regards to service done on behalf of the corporate office.


We shall take this matter seriously to ensure you and every guest has an excellent time on their visits at our Rajdhani Thali Restaurants and shall not leave any stone unturned to regain your faith and confidence in us.

Warm Regards,
Team Rajdhani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    145
    56
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Review for the Scindia House Location - Average”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I have written elaborate descriptions for previous restaurants - but this one will be short an concise.
Location is very good - as it is on the outer circle of CP, just before the turn into Janpath. Parking should not an issue. But, with the current digging around that area leaves one with dust in the mouth!
Once inside - you are greeted with a Chandan tilak and then proceed to your table.
Ambiance of this location is not stellar, and the seating on the 1st floor is better than the ground floor.
Food - since we went on a weekend, that too after 3pm, thus the option was only for a Maharaja Thali. The serves start with, dhokla and another fried pakoda type item. Then comes the dal batti and the rest of the food entrees. This is followed by breads such as Tawa roti, puri, bajra roti, and puran poli and then rice or khitchdi.
For some reason it did not taste that we were having authentic Rajasthani fare....and compare this to other such restaurants in CP offering thali's - this was mediocre. But, it is a good experience for someone who has not been to such a restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellerPetals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khandani_Rajdhani, Representative at Rajdhani Thali, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Corporate Office of Rajdhani Thali Restaurants.

We seriously appreciate your patience in sharing your experience at Rajdhani Thali Restaurant and bringing the details to our notice.

We at Rajdhani Thali Restaurants are constantly seeking to work towards enhancing guest experiences and every feedback is important for us.

Menu prepared at Rajdhani Thali Restaurant is rotational and subject to last minute change to suite the operational requirement thereby ensuring standards of Authentic Cuisine are met.

Food Quality & Service have been the Key areas of your feedback and it holds immense importance for us as it is one of the integral areas of what we promise to deliver.

We would like to investigate and get a thorough Quality Check on Food and training conducted with regards to service done on behalf of the corporate office.


We shall take this matter seriously to ensure you and every guest has an excellent time on their visits at our Rajdhani Thali Restaurants and shall not leave any stone unturned to regain your faith and confidence in us.

Warm Regards,
Team Rajdhani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic thali at a very fair price”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A quite simple place a connaught place, where we got the best thali we have ever had in India. The service is simple and the quest manily locals but the food is really tasty and the price is a very good deal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank piggybag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khandani_Rajdhani, Representative at Rajdhani Thali, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Head Office of Rajdhani!!

Thanks for the kind words. We look forward to serve you again in near future and would like to ensure you that you would have such wonderful time at all your visits at Rajdhani present across India.

Warm Regards,
Rajdhani Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This resturant provides an expcetionally delightful rajasthani & gujarati cusine. Very authentic & food is also very delicious

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deepanshuarora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khandani_Rajdhani, Representative at Rajdhani Thali, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Head Office of Rajdhani!!

Thanks for the kind words. We look forward to serve you again in near future and would like to ensure you that you would have such wonderful time at all your visits at Rajdhani present across India.

Warm Regards,
Rajdhani Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great indian thali experience”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

No menu, veg thali of 9 different dishes pls condiments and 3 sorts indian breads plus papadum, served without fuss, Rs 310 + tax per person and as much as you want. Popular with locals and highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julianludowici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khandani_Rajdhani, Representative at Rajdhani Thali, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Head Office of Rajdhani!!

Thanks for the kind words. We look forward to serve you again in near future and would like to ensure you that you would have such wonderful time at all your visits at Rajdhani present across India.

Warm Regards,
Rajdhani Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rajdhani Thali also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Rajdhani Thali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing