We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Panama Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Los Quetzales Lodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Los Quetzales was exactly what I needed: A peaceful place nestled in the gorgeous green highlands of Panama. Both Carlos (the owner) and the lodge are charming and warm, the staff kind and welcoming. I thoroughly enjoyed my hike to the waterfall with Abel - what a wonderful guide with a great personality. At the hotel I stayed in room 6 with a lovely high ceiling and plenty of room. In the evenings, Carlos and other hotel patrons would sit in the large communal area/bar of the lodge, laughing and sharing stories. Wonderful friendships were made with beautiful, like-minded people. This truly is a special place with incredible scenery and delicious food.

Room Tip: Get rooms on 2nd or 3rd floor as there is more light and higher ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Globalgirl6_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 268 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have just got back from this great getaway in Los Quetzales. It was fantastic.

To start this review one thing has to be very clear: Every hotel has problems, the difference between a good and a great hotel is the capability of solving it.

We started our stay at Cabin #4 and we were not informed it was a double floor cabin with 2 separated families (one on each floor); we on the bottom floor suffered on the first night with the noise from “bad kids” on the top floor, next morning talking with the hotel clerk, they immediately moved us to Cabin #5 (great choice). Then, next night the water heater pipe exploded in the middle of the night (2:00am), next morning it was promptly fixed and abundant hot water was back again. Just a reminder for the reviewers, we were in the middle of the jungle hundreds of miles away of “civilization”. The hotel staff was great caring, took care of everything a real professional example for Panama.

The trails were good for the entire family, lots of animals and birds inclusive Quetzales, our guide Abel showed several of them. The hotel restaurant has also very good options at a very fair price.

The hotel is a perfect choice to have a great stay with the family, to do some trails, contact with nature, spend hours in front of the fireplace playing games with the kids, just relax and enjoy.

Great Choice!

Room Tip: Do not choose cabin #4 unless you are traveling with another family. All other cabins are great, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matheus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We made the reservation 3 weeks before the planned date, then they called us back a week before and let us know we had to book for more than one night if we wanted to go.

Wish I had the opportunity to grade this place based on the actual experience - but I wasn't afforded the chance. Just terrible customer service has turned me off from ever wanting to try and go back...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank angew24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We opted to stay in one of their cabins--a short 30 minute walk or tow in a tractor up a muddy hillside. The cabin had no electricity which we knew, but the bedding was mildewed and smelled bad, the bathroom had a water leak, and the food that we ordered for dinner that was supposed to get delivered to our cabin never made it. By then it was dark and no way to walk 30 minutes down to the lodge. Went on a 3 hour bird hike and saw maybe 4 birds.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cptfredandrenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here with our 15-month old baby and it was a charming spot. We wondered off to the highlands of Chiriquí and without any reservations, were able to secure a wooden cabin which offered more than what we needed: kitchenette, fireplace, king size bed, excellent view, huge bathtub and Wifi!! The restaurant area serves magnificent meals and the decorations all around the property are truly appropriate for the nature lovers' peace of mind. This is also the perfect place to stay if you are really into bird watching, especially the Quetzal bird. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A small creek runs near the property so if you want to experience the wonderful sound of fresh water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RD_Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

If you are looking for a 5 star resort full of luxuries, this is not your place. However if you come from any metropolitan area in the USA, it is a good experience to teach your children the simple things of life. For starters there are no TVs in the rooms. I must admit, that I even wanted one. The place is rustic. We were there in low season, so we practically had the place for ourselves. They included a free hike with tour guide in the price. Since we were the only ones I asked if we could start a bit later so that we could sleep a little more. We brought 3 children 8, 6 and 4. We went to a local mini market and bought some marshmallows and skewer sticks to roast them in the fireplace. The fireplace smokes a little bit, but not unbearable. We were not aware that they had a game room and bar on the main building since we saw no movement. Since we were there alone, we drove to the Hotel Bambito for dinner. That had some people but again very few. We had dinner and returned to go to sleep. Breakfast was great in the morning. You are in the countryside so there are lots of flies. The breakfast buffet was very good. After breakfast there was a tractor with a homemade trailer attached to it. This was our vehicle to go to the trails. It was an experience and thrill for us. Prepare to shake rattle and roll! All part of the adventure. As you go up the mountain you get to see houses of the people who harvest the land. This was the first time that my children got to see where the food actually comes from! You need to take the tractor up there, the trail is not suited for a car and even challenging if you have a 4 x 4. As we walk through the trails I came up to a surprise to find these cabins high up there and all alone. Abel was our guide. He was great! This is for the even more adventurous type. We might try those cabins for at least 1 night. The have electricity, hot water and even WiFi. They also say that you can order food from the restaurant and that they will bring it. It is a bit of a distance and over difficult terrain. You can not just go out and then plan on walking to your cabin. It is quite a trek and I would not do it at night. When coming back we requested to stop at Finca Dracula which is around the area. Do this, this way you save yourself from driving up here through the very rough terrain. All in all, it is a great experience to bring your kids for at least 1 day.

Room Tip: If you have older kids try to stay at the cabins up in the mountains, If you have younger kids or a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RBurgos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

A great place to stay in the Highlands of Cerro Punta in Panama. Great Spa, great food, very nice people. The owner goes out of his way to please the guest. Horse rides, Tours to the Cloud forrest, all great.

Room Tip: Ask for the suits
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islanddweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guadalupe
4.4 mi away
Hotel Bambito Resort
Hotel Bambito Resort
#2 of 4 in Volcan
149 reviews
6.9 mi away
Finca Lerida
Finca Lerida
#2 of 12 in Boquete
400 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bambuda Castle
Bambuda Castle
#2 of 52 in Boquete
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Mount Totumas Cloud Forest
4.1 mi away
Casa Grande Bambito Highlands Resort
10.5 mi away
Valle Escondido Resort Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Quetzales Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Quetzales Lodge & Spa

Address: Parque International la Amistad | PO Box 55-0039, Guadalupe, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Guadalupe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Guadalupe
Price Range: $92 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Quetzales Lodge & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Los Quetzales Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Quetzales Hotel Guadalupe
Los Quetzales Lodge And Spa
Los Quetzales Lodge & Spa Panama/Guadalupe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing